We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but not 5*”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice but not 5*”
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Great location and on the whole very friendly staff but I wouldn't rate as a 5* experience.

1. Ridiculous reservation process. Booked on line and entered all card details to be then contacted by a blocked number to ask for my payment details again. Apparently payments cannot be taken on line.
2. The online system I used to book, I chose to have the wine package, Leanne on the reservations line laughed when I told her this as she had never heard of it. I found this extremely rude
3. On checking in at the spa we filled out questionnaires which were never read. Had the staff read my medical history I assure you they would have wanted to talk to me. I'm afraid this to me begs the question of liability had anything gone wrong
4. The wine package I ordered did turn up to our room eventually but was not waiting on arrival as promised.
5. We ordered breakfast in bed for the following morning by hanging the breakfast order on our door handle at 9.30pm. Breakfast was ordered for 7.45am, my husband checked and the order had never been taken from the door handle. Ruining our breakfast in bed. Once we visited reception they apologised profusely and breakfast was eventually delivered to our room. Not quite the same experience
6. The breakfast order was also wrong when it arrived

The White Room & The Bar
1. The friendliness of the staff was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the following comments are not aimed at them directly, the bar tender/manager was totally unaware of what the establishment had to fully offer. We ordered a bottle of port which was cold and we needed to ask for it to be decanted
2. When we were showed to our table the waitress left us sat for 10-15 minutes without bread, bringing our wine and the water we ordered for the table arrived 15 minutes after the wine
3. When the wine arrived the waiter tried his best but spilled it on the table
4. The food was of a very good standard generally. However, my venison was undercooked. My husbands main course arrived without the sauce for the steak and the chips were cold. The couple on the next table had ordered exactly the same courses as us and had exactly the same issues. They complained to the staff the same evening. We didn't complain at the time as to us the very apparent issue was that there was no restaurant manager over seeing the general running of the evening
5. On checking out we had a long wait as our bill wasn't prepared or 'slipped under the bedroom door' as the reception staff assured us was common place
6. The bottle of vintage port we bought the previous night but only had 2 glasses from could not be imediately located and we had to wait 15 minutes for it to be found.

The hotel & spa are very clean. The hotel staff are friendly, you cant help but warm to them and they really aim to please. However, Seaham Hall you need to train your staff correctly as there is only so far smiles and friendly faces can go to mask a catalogue of errors that should not be expected at a supposedly 5* establishment

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Digital Marketing at Seaham Hall, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and bringing to our attention the various issues you experienced whilst visiting us recently, I would like to extend to you the opportunity to speak with a Member of our team who can establish where any possible improvements can be made.
We request that you contact our Customer Service Team on web@seaham-hall.co.uk who will be able to respond accordingly addressing the points you have raised.

Once again thank you for spending the time to review Seaham Hall and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    152
    38
    23
    5
See reviews for
168
827
17
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crook
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a relatives wedding for the weekend. The hall is stunning. We did not use the spa facilities but the overall atmosphere was peaceful and welcoming. We had 2 rooms over the weekend both of which were beautiful and large apartment like rooms. Very clean and the staff were helpful. We ordered room service and ha breakfast brought to order to our room and served to us by a very nice waiter! Nothing is too much trouble. Although we didnt use them we had a walk around the spa and pool both of which were stunning and peaceful. The gardens and scenery were perfect for the wedding photos. Worth the expense!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teeside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Me and the wife went here for an overnight stay and I must say it was beautiful.we were given a junior suite which was massive and perfect .The spa is out of this world you can tell this is a five star resort.The Thai food in the ozone lounge is out of this world defiantly returning for a repeat visit

Room Tip: We got a offer through Facebook keep your eyes open there is some amazing deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just had a weekend at Seaham Hall. The Spa was fab and the hotel was clean and warm. I noticed that the new owners are going to be doing a complete re fit, and the pictures they have of the new design looked WOW. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My god-daughter and I spent Friday afternoon enjoying the Spa treatments, had an excellent dinner in the Ozone restaurant and the night in a Courtyard Junior Suite - the room was very comfortable and had a lovely spacious bathroom - the only downsides were - that we lacked a hospitality tray, the heater seemed to be stuck on at a very high temperature and the furnishings need a little updating. The lack of hospitality tray was rectified by coffee and treats the next morning on the terrace- breakfast was lack luster, poached eggs were over cooked and service was pretty slow considering we were the only people in the dining room. Friday night's dinner in Ozone was absolutely delicious - quite expensive, but beautifully prepared and presented, so generally worth it!
In fact despite the fact that the hotel and the spa therapies were fully booked we never encountered another guest outside of the Spa. The facials and massages were very well done, by friendly, beautifully turned out, professional staff. The reception staff in both the hotel and spa both on arrival and as we left were excellent.

Room Tip: If you are using spa facilities a Courtyard room is close to the walkway to the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Booked as a birthday treat, we arrived to find no Internet and the White Room restaurant closed that evening. Cue the Manager, who promptly upgraded us to the Penthouse Suite with complimentary dinner and drinks. Now that's service!
The Ozone restaurant is indifferent. A simple starter(Pâté) was awful. The main(Filet Steak)- fabulous.
I hear the White Room is the one to eat in.
Can we recommend it to others, well it's a spa led hotel, so if you are looking for just a luxury break, we found the hotel over priced based on what's on offer.
But hey, we were well looked after and the upgrade and F&B were a real bonus.
I wouldn't stay here again but I would recommend to others. Nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just been for afternoon tea here and have to say it was truly scrumptious! Was a tad concerned prior to going as had read some negative reports but rang ahead and they put my mind at rest. My sister and I took my Mum and Aunt for a treat and none of us were disappointed.
As much tea/coffee as you want and the sandwiches and cakes were gorgeous! Loads of variety and all really fresh. In fact, we couldn't possibly have eaten it all but staff were more than happy to wrap the remaining cakes up for us to bring home.
The staff were lovey and friendly without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble.
All in all a lovely afternoon and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJayneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
15.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
10.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
7.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Property: Seaham Hall
Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing