We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay great place”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We took advantage of a deal the hotel had on for bed and breakfast, we also booked in a treatment (massage ) in spa.
The hotel is a fantastic location, we were able to use the spa from 12pm on check in to 5 pm on check out ...fantastic.
The staff every single one were lovely I cannot fault them.
We enjoyed a meal in the Asian restaurant, we had a coupon which enabled us to have a main course and bottle of wine, we indulged in a starter and dessert, overall the dishes were lovely but expensive for what we got. We could not complain though as we only paid for part of the meal.
The rooms are all suites and fantastic very well done.
Spa fantastic and the staff there clearly well trained and absolute stars.
Breakfast cooked to order beautiful selection, I felt a bit sad for the staff who were extremely busy as everyone had gone to breakfast at the same time which delayed it ( took an hour to get food) this did not bother us as it made a change not to rush, however check out time was 10am so luckily we had asked to extend it to 11.
If you are after a night to relax and treat yourself here is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

my wife and i visited seaham hall [for the 1st time] whitch was recomended by the couple we were with. we were very impressed and would love to go back maybe for our wedding anniversary and spoil ourselves with a spa treatment. The meal we had was very nice and we would reccomend it to any one, nice atmosphere and friendly staff. charlie inparticular made us feel very welcome while having coffee and late night drinks. a nice change from having to travel to newcastle or durham for great food and great surroundings and only 5 mins from sunderland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LGF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Just wanted to say that we had a great time at seaham hall last night. Had dinner in the white room restaurant - they have a new chef and I must say it was a fabulous experience. The food was nothing short of divine, the service was phenomenal, and one of our fellow diners was none other than THE Lionel Ritchie. There was no fuss, just the same exceptional service offered to everyone.
Seaham hall is definitely back up to its former 5 star glory, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

November 13th my daughter & future son in law gave my wife a one night stay at Seaham Hall Hotel & spa for the two of us as a birthday gift.As soon as we entered the reception we where greeted by friendly helpfull staff.this was the same all the time we spent at the hotel and spa.We where informed that the hotel was going through refurbishment.Our room was very nice.we enjoyed all the spa facilities.we also had a massage and facial tratment,the food in the o zone restaraunt was excelent.We will be looking out for special offers for our next visit.

Room Tip: all rooms are excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Great location and on the whole very friendly staff but I wouldn't rate as a 5* experience.

1. Ridiculous reservation process. Booked on line and entered all card details to be then contacted by a blocked number to ask for my payment details again. Apparently payments cannot be taken on line.
2. The online system I used to book, I chose to have the wine package, Leanne on the reservations line laughed when I told her this as she had never heard of it. I found this extremely rude
3. On checking in at the spa we filled out questionnaires which were never read. Had the staff read my medical history I assure you they would have wanted to talk to me. I'm afraid this to me begs the question of liability had anything gone wrong
4. The wine package I ordered did turn up to our room eventually but was not waiting on arrival as promised.
5. We ordered breakfast in bed for the following morning by hanging the breakfast order on our door handle at 9.30pm. Breakfast was ordered for 7.45am, my husband checked and the order had never been taken from the door handle. Ruining our breakfast in bed. Once we visited reception they apologised profusely and breakfast was eventually delivered to our room. Not quite the same experience
6. The breakfast order was also wrong when it arrived

The White Room & The Bar
1. The friendliness of the staff was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the following comments are not aimed at them directly, the bar tender/manager was totally unaware of what the establishment had to fully offer. We ordered a bottle of port which was cold and we needed to ask for it to be decanted
2. When we were showed to our table the waitress left us sat for 10-15 minutes without bread, bringing our wine and the water we ordered for the table arrived 15 minutes after the wine
3. When the wine arrived the waiter tried his best but spilled it on the table
4. The food was of a very good standard generally. However, my venison was undercooked. My husbands main course arrived without the sauce for the steak and the chips were cold. The couple on the next table had ordered exactly the same courses as us and had exactly the same issues. They complained to the staff the same evening. We didn't complain at the time as to us the very apparent issue was that there was no restaurant manager over seeing the general running of the evening
5. On checking out we had a long wait as our bill wasn't prepared or 'slipped under the bedroom door' as the reception staff assured us was common place
6. The bottle of vintage port we bought the previous night but only had 2 glasses from could not be imediately located and we had to wait 15 minutes for it to be found.

The hotel & spa are very clean. The hotel staff are friendly, you cant help but warm to them and they really aim to please. However, Seaham Hall you need to train your staff correctly as there is only so far smiles and friendly faces can go to mask a catalogue of errors that should not be expected at a supposedly 5* establishment

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank shelly1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Digital Marketing at Seaham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and bringing to our attention the various issues you experienced whilst visiting us recently, I would like to extend to you the opportunity to speak with a Member of our team who can establish where any possible improvements can be made.
We request that you contact our Customer Service Team on web@seaham-hall.co.uk who will be able to respond accordingly addressing the points you have raised.

Once again thank you for spending the time to review Seaham Hall and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a relatives wedding for the weekend. The hall is stunning. We did not use the spa facilities but the overall atmosphere was peaceful and welcoming. We had 2 rooms over the weekend both of which were beautiful and large apartment like rooms. Very clean and the staff were helpful. We ordered room service and ha breakfast brought to order to our room and served to us by a very nice waiter! Nothing is too much trouble. Although we didnt use them we had a walk around the spa and pool both of which were stunning and peaceful. The gardens and scenery were perfect for the wedding photos. Worth the expense!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Me and the wife went here for an overnight stay and I must say it was beautiful.we were given a junior suite which was massive and perfect .The spa is out of this world you can tell this is a five star resort.The Thai food in the ozone lounge is out of this world defiantly returning for a repeat visit

Room Tip: We got a offer through Facebook keep your eyes open there is some amazing deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,106 reviews
10.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
14.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range: £210 - £626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing