We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Appalling Service and 'Grim' White Room Restaurant”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Appalling Service and 'Grim' White Room Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

A former favourite of ours, we thought we'd give it another try after switching to the Rockliffe Hall near Darlington for our occasional weekend breaks. I deeply regretted paying a large chunk of cash for a very mixed experience.

As always, the rooms were comfortable, clean, tidy and nicely styled. The recent makeovers worked well.

The spa has thankfully been looked after a lot better than on a previous occasion, everything seemed to work this time and the place seemed tidier than a few years ago.
The drinks waiters seemed reluctant to venture out to the outdoor hot tub to take orders, a shame as the feature is quite a nice signature for the spa.

The White Room was (being kind here!) thoroughly disappointing. An inexperienced waiter didn't fill us with confidence, and we were right to be concerned. With the appetiser aside, the food was no better than pub food. A steak was left untouched. I could not cut the steak easily with the equipment supplied. Admittedly, they apologised, and deducted it from the bill, claiming that they would 'have a word' with their supplier, but, what decent chef would turn out food like that from a once 'michelin star' restaurant?

Breakfast at Seaham Hall was always a great spectacle. The in room trays were a fantastic way to start the day. Generally speaking, the breakfast was ok, but, spoiled by a horrendously 'over vinegary' poached egg. If vinegar is used for poaching, it should not be at the sort of levels that make you cringe!

Would we go back? No, definitely not, unless there's a huge change in ownership or management.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KevoMOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    155
    39
    24
    5
See reviews for
178
864
18
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

My stepdaughter took me for a surprise treat here. On arrival it is a lovely lit path to meet the giant elephant statue and then up to the reception area. Our information was taken and a soft drink and fruit offered and then we were taken through and shown where everything was and given dressing gowns and towels. we had a lovely swim and steam first, then for our massages. Finally after getting changed we had a tasty meal...although the medium green Thai chicken had a real kick, all was freshly prepared. A lovely treat and I would return again :)

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tigernymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Took my mother in law for her birthday 3rd December 2012 this was my first visit and I must say i was not really impressed with the hall itself, the reception area is pretty ordinary, i imagined it to be a bit more grand!! however we were greeted with a nice friendly smile and as my mother in law is 84 she commented on how far she had to walk from the car park in the cold, and the staff immediately suggested they would bring our car around to the front door when we departed which they did. the waiter who brought our tea was really attentative, everything was very nice although nothing out of the ordinary for the cost, we couldn`t eat it all and were offered to have it wrapped to take home but declined, overall my mother in law really appreciated the outing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moira053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I had a lovely relaxing spa day here followed by a champagne afternoon tea with friends. The staff were very professional, from taking our booking to explaining what our treatments were and what our spa day entailed. The hotel is in a lovely location and was easy to find. When we arrived we were greeted and given lovely soft robes and slippers to wear. The changing area was very clean, with large mirrors and hair dryers. The pool was large and it was easy to find a quite spot to relax. We enjoyed the outdoor jaccuzzi and it's warm temperature, because even though it was a sunny day it was still rather cold ! We enjoyed trying out the different steam rooms, plunge pool etc and then we relaxed in a lovely area before we had our treatments. We had a lovely relaxing time in the spa and then we went for our champagne afternoon tea. We had a wide selection of cakes which were all delicious. The room where we enjoyed our afternoon tea in the main house was lovely, high ceilings, a lovely fireplace and comfy sofas. We really enjoyed the day and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrS_MrsAD_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We took advantage of a deal the hotel had on for bed and breakfast, we also booked in a treatment (massage ) in spa.
The hotel is a fantastic location, we were able to use the spa from 12pm on check in to 5 pm on check out ...fantastic.
The staff every single one were lovely I cannot fault them.
We enjoyed a meal in the Asian restaurant, we had a coupon which enabled us to have a main course and bottle of wine, we indulged in a starter and dessert, overall the dishes were lovely but expensive for what we got. We could not complain though as we only paid for part of the meal.
The rooms are all suites and fantastic very well done.
Spa fantastic and the staff there clearly well trained and absolute stars.
Breakfast cooked to order beautiful selection, I felt a bit sad for the staff who were extremely busy as everyone had gone to breakfast at the same time which delayed it ( took an hour to get food) this did not bother us as it made a change not to rush, however check out time was 10am so luckily we had asked to extend it to 11.
If you are after a night to relax and treat yourself here is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

my wife and i visited seaham hall [for the 1st time] whitch was recomended by the couple we were with. we were very impressed and would love to go back maybe for our wedding anniversary and spoil ourselves with a spa treatment. The meal we had was very nice and we would reccomend it to any one, nice atmosphere and friendly staff. charlie inparticular made us feel very welcome while having coffee and late night drinks. a nice change from having to travel to newcastle or durham for great food and great surroundings and only 5 mins from sunderland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Just wanted to say that we had a great time at seaham hall last night. Had dinner in the white room restaurant - they have a new chef and I must say it was a fabulous experience. The food was nothing short of divine, the service was phenomenal, and one of our fellow diners was none other than THE Lionel Ritchie. There was no fuss, just the same exceptional service offered to everyone.
Seaham hall is definitely back up to its former 5 star glory, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
728 reviews
24.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
7.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Property: Seaham Hall
Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing