We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've had two visits in recent weeks. Brilliant, welcoming staff; spacious rooms; world class spa facilities; and a lovely seafood restaurant really made our stays. Under new management, this hotel gets better and better. Just off the A19, this is a great place to stopover, or stay for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Seaham Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Visited for Afternoon tea in January. Had booked for 2pm, but arrived slightly early at 1:40pm, and we were sat quickly. Unfortunately arriving a bit early did not have a knock on effect for our afternoon tea arriving a bit earlier, having gone through 3 pots of tea and only getting our lunch at 2:45pm. The food was lovely, but we had plenty of time to build up an appetite to eat the lot! One of the more expensive afternoon teas in the region, but the setting and hotel make up for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR88-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a very low key wedding and stayed here as a 'getaway' after the ceremony. I booked an advance purchase dinner, bed and breakfast deal with use of spa included. The whole day/evening was perfect. The hotel is beautiful and spa was so relaxing. Staff went out of their way to make us feel special. We arrived to a beautiful suite with bath at the foot of the bed and a congratulations card, champagne and chocolates in our room which was so thoughtful. Dinner in the sea grill restaurant was amazing- portions were small but very tasty. Restaurant staff also fussed over us bringing complimentary champagne and tailor-made cocktails. Whilst we were eating they'd gone into our room to sprinkle petals on the bed! Breakfast was brought up to our room in the morning and it was lovely. We did however think that the ten pound extra to have it brought up was steep but we did enjoy it. Bed was comfy but I thought the room was a bit too hot even with air con. Every member of staff we passed spoke to either say hello or congratulate us... the fabulous service really made it for us. All in all, I thought our visit was worth every penny- I'll forever have amazing memories of my wedding evening thanks to the amazing staff at seaham hall.

Room Tip: The junior suite may be the most 'basic' room but we were not disappointed. Room 15 has the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonbon733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A long weekend here in January 2014 and we were very lucky to get a free upgrade, to the penthouse suite. My favourable review is NOT just because of that, but it was a lovely surprise.

To be brief, the team here are very switched on and go the extra mile wherever it is possible. The youngsters running the bar are especially friendly and well informed. Eating was a pleasure, on every occasion, simple but brilliant. And the spa is outstanding.

Highly, highly recommended.

Cosmopolitans in the bar were the best we've had too :-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BusterSunray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent a lovely weekend at this hotel and spar in a junior suite. Met from cab by staff which was a nice surprise !!!

50 inch flat screen tv was amazing. Had a meal in the sea grill, i recommend the fillet steak !! The spa facilities and staff were great and very attentive,treated like royalty. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrism m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went for a spa day with my friend, on arrival met by such friendly welcoming staff, given a glass of Apple juice while we completed our health questionnaire.
We were shown around the spa and given our timetable for our beauty treatments and lunch.
A big thankyou to our beauty therapists Corina , Rachel and Nicola who were polite professional and extremely good at their jobs! They made feel so relaxed, just what we needed.
Our lunch was lovely plenty of choice well presented and delicious.

We are looking forward to our next visit ......... Can't wait . Well done to all staff keep up the good work .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzy045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband treated me to a night at Seaham Hall for Valentines.

We had a really lovely time.

We had a lovely room with a huge, very comfortable bed and a seperate sitting room. The bathroom was fab too with a roll top bath and a seperate shower.

We each had a massage at the spa and thoroughly enjoyed it. The spa facilities are amazing. Everything you need and more and no kids running around!

The staff are all very friendly and attentive, but not in your face, which we like.

The food was great too. A lovely dinner menu, not too many choices which I prefer as you know then, everything is really fresh and it was.

Will definately be back as we felt it was really good value.

Room Tip: We had room 14. It was SO quiet. You wouldn't know you were in a hotel!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,121 reviews
15.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
6.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
742 reviews
10.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range: £175 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing