We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went to a wedding at Seaham Hall. What a fantastic location. Travelled up the night before the wedding so spent two nights at the hotel. Spent half a day in the spa and by the swimming pool which was very nice. The hotel room and bathroom was very spacious. Breakfast is served in the room at no extra cost and was excellent. It is not a cheap place to stay but is worth the money for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    150
    38
    23
    5
See reviews for
163
806
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We have just came back from an over night stay here and wow !! From the moment we pulled up we knew we had made a perfect choice . This hotel was a little gem and couldn't believe this was 20 mins from home . I have never been to a more stunning hotel with such fantastic helpful staff . We were in room 6 with a sea view to the left and garden view . For being a junior suite it certainly didn't lack luxury with a great size bed which was 3 pillows wide , 2 flat screen tvs, lounge area with a choice of seating and a fabulous bathroom with twin sinks . Spa facilities were second to non too , even the walk towards the spa was tranquil with beautiful lighting and surrounds . We ate in byron bar looking out at the fountain .Meal was delicious although not being a great lover of meat or fish I found the choice a tad bit harder but definitely no faults with quality of food . We paid for our breakfast to be delivered to our room the next morning and bang on time there it was , which was lovely , really set us up for the day ahead . Can't find fault with this beautiful hotel and will be returning in the near future ..... definitely one of my hubbys better choices in life . Thanks again to all the staff at seaham hall for an amazing stay .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gibba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was obvious from the moment we arrived at Seaham Hall we were in for a treat, what a welcome!

My husband and I were shown to our garden suite, (room 3) and to say it was luxurious and spacious would be an understatement, it was perfect, and oh, that bath and quirky shower – it gave me a few problems, but in a fun way! Perfectly situated for the Serenity Spa, just down a few steps and a walk along the most tranquil tunnel complete with a rippling brook; halfway into the tunnel sits Budda and at the end, a life size elephant, hummm still don’t why he’s there, but who cares it’s the best entrance to a spa I have ever made.

Whilst my husband preferred to relax by the pool to read and use the other spa facilities, I opted for sumptuous Darphin treatments. What can I say, it was absolute bliss, thanks to my talented therapists. Looking forward to repeating the experience very soon girls.

We ate at both restaurants and loved the menus; breakfast, dinner and everything in between were exceptional, all served and presented beautifully by a dedicated friendly team, they could not do enough for us, they tended to our every whim. We dined in the Grill restaurant on three consecutive evenings and were not disappointed, fantastic selection of tasty dishes and of course, wonderful wines and also cheeky cocktails, which I enjoyed immensely. One incident involving a loud, ill-mannered guest could have changed everything, but was nipped in the bud, thanks to the sensitive handling of the situation by the experienced staff, and one of the diners, the brave man in the pink jacket!

It would be unfair to single out one member of the team, or one thing that stood out, everyone and everything made it a memorable stay. There is no denying that this is a well-run, elegant hotel and spa set in beautiful grounds. The weather was foul otherwise we would probably have explored the grounds and the area more, it's only a stone’s throw from the sea, but to be honest it was a bonus that it was so horrible outside because we couldn’t think of a better place to be ‘stuck’. All in all, a brilliant experience and would highly recommend it. We’re already planning our next visit.

C&M Chester

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandMChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Why have we not considered this hotel before ? A question I have been asking myself over and over again since arriving home from our short break at the Seaham Hall Hotel .
Answer , I don't know , as what we found , can only be described as a 'little gem ' of a hotel.
Having travelled the world , but over recent years spending quite a bit of time travelling to the N.E. Of England , for one reason or another , all I can say is why haven't we stayed here before . It's good , very good.! It's warm and inviting in a laid back kind of way. It's facilities are perfect , truly perfect. It's location just right. Food 100% . Spa beyond belief ! Rooms refined and elegant ....and ...... I really could go on!
Suffice it to say , the one thought I have in writing this review is that I have now let the secret out , which means its just become harder for me to book a room for our next visit !

Room Tip: Not a chance ... I'm keeping that secret to myself !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for one night mid week. Excellent value. Spa lovely, clean and well staffed. Only negative is some areas a little tired looking but all, apart from some pool jets,in good working order. Missed being able to relax round the pool with a drink, could plastic glasses not be used?
Treatments gorgeous! Therapists excellent and very professional.
Room fantastic! Heavenly bed and bedding and loved all of the special extras that make this a truely indulgent treat! Our highlight was our breakfast! Worth the service charge to have it served in our room. Excellent quality, fresh and tasty!
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caraac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Came to Serenity Spa with 2 friends and had a fabulous day with excellent treatments, facilities and food. We were there the same day as a huge One Direction concert was happening in nearby Sunderland. This turned out to cause a problem when we tried to get a taxi back to the train station. It was after trying about 6 local taxi firms that one of the members of staff, Tracy, stepped in and took us in her own car. Fantastic service. There's not many places would do that for you. Would definately recommend and will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommawinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a special offer break at Seaham Hall comprising 3 nights for the price of 2 including dinner, bed and breakfast and 3 treatements each in Serenity Spa. It was almost a perfect weekend but for a few things: The 'free' bottle of champagne on arrival had to be asked for and it was Prosecco - Trade Description slip up there. The service in the Bryon restaurant was slow and not as perfect as it could have been - overcooked scrambled eggs the first day, hard poached eggs the second day and undercooked chips one evening (not good for AA rosette winners).Having said that the meals were excellent and the presentation was superb. The meal and service in the Ozone restaurant was excellent however. Overall we had a lovely stay and a couple of nice walks into Seaham which is a really pleaseant seaside town.
All the staff in the hotel were really friendly and made you feel very welcome, even the housekeeper who turned down our beds stopped and had a chat.
Seaham Hall is a beautiful hotel and the Serenity Spa is wonderful. If they could just step up the game in Byrons restaurant the stay would have been perfect.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are wonderful, but ask for a sea view for an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
15.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
10.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Property: Seaham Hall
Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing