We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice stay”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Such a nice stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our 2nd visit to Seaham Hall and although it has changed hands since our first stay it is still a lovely place to be and this visit at the beginning of June was probably better. The hotel has a slightly more relaxed atmosphere now and staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and plentiful and you are not rushed through the menu.
We had a lovely garden room again. This is so nice to have your own space to relax in and to open the French doors when you first wake up in the morning to let the sunshine in is a treat.
The room was large and spacious, and the bathroom was fantastic.
The beach is 5 minutes walk away through the grounds of the hotel so a daily walk along the front is nice to do.
We will come back again I'm sure.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieG02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    154
    38
    23
    5
See reviews for
172
838
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

4th visit to this hotel and pleased to get a Garden Room again. The staff are very friendly. The hotel was spotless. It's the little touches such as chocolates for my birthday, that makes it special.
Food was delicious in both Byrons and the Ozone

Room Tip: Garden room excellent, very large room with excellent bath/shower, can sit outside on sunny day, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I took my friend for a Birthday Treat and the service we received was exemplary. Katherine and Matthew couldn't do enough for us and the spa, room and dinner were exquisite. I would definitely recommend it and already have to friends and family. Also an added bonus I came away with a pink duck!!!! Thanks Seaham Hall you are a 'piece of heaven' tucked away.

Linda-Jaine Clair

Room Tip: Due to the clientele at Seaham Hall i would imagine that all rooms are quiet, comfortable and luxuri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda-Jaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing experience from the minute we pulled up in the car! The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was gorgeous and we had a Rose petal heart on the bed, fresh flowers and hand made chocolates. We were given an iPod doc to play some music.
Serenity spa was just pure luxury. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the evening meal. My vegetables arrived after my main and the waiter asked how I wanted my pork cooked?? Then it came cremated!!
My husbands monkfish scampi was lovely and the service was attentive. Breakfast was lovely.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to book here as a very last minute relaxation break and we are so glad we did. The place is divine. On arrival the check in was fast and the staff lovely. We were shown to our room, a junior suite, and it was terrific. We had room 11 and the bathroom was out if this world with a huge bath, rain shower and his and her basins. The elimis toiletries were a lovely. We spent the afternoon in the spa which again was perfect. There is a vast array of baths and saunas and the treatments were lovely. I had a gel manicure and my hubby had a body massage. It was lovely to relax in the zen lounge prior and after our treatments. We ate in the ozone restaurant which was a relaxed and informal affair. The food was very good and nicely presented. We enjoyed a drink in the sports lounge which is very opulent and the mojito was beautiful. The bed was out of this world and my own niggle was the air con was pretty ineffective. Breakfast was another pleasure and service was excellent. We can't wait to return. Thank you

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrsannajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here for a relaxing hen-do daytime spa experience. £125 for the whole day with a 2 course lunch and 2 treatments, massage and facial.

Very pleasant environment and helpful staff. Beautiful (and warm) pool, two hot tubs (outside) and a few sauna/steam rooms to enjoy.

However we were slightly disappointed in the rough towelling robes, which if you didn't dry off with a towel became heavy and soggy for the rest of the day; foot spa area was basically a couple of sinks; no aromatherapy in the steam rooms; no drinks allowed in the spa area; no warm/quiet chill out room (there was one to sit in before a treatment but women nattered on so it wasn't peaceful).

Treatments and food we're lovely and made up for the above but I have had better massages elsewhere. Would I revisit? Yeah probably.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank keelybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife booked a full spa 'serenity' day for my birthday last week, and I have to say it was one of the most relaxing days we have had in some time - exactly what we paid for.

We were greeted at spa reception and offered a drink and completed details about ourselves. The reception had an immediate feeling of relaxation, unlike some other spa's we have visited. There were several other people checking in for treatments and some regular gym goers, all of which were dealt with pretty quickly. If I'm being a little picky (not a snob at all) but the cream seats in reception look like they need to be replaced as looking a little worn for a 5 star spa. First impression and all.....

The reception staff were excellent and showed us around in detail, ensuring we knew where everything was - great service.

The changing rooms were excellent, modern with plenty of robes, towels and on our visit were very quiet.

Key for us was the spa was not too busy and it wasn't. Facilities were excellent, a mix of water and sauna's to use, with a great out door hot tub which was in the sun when we visited. The set up is one of the best spa's we have used for sure.

A nice touch of bringing some small snacks around to guests was appreciated. Magazines on offer were new and welcomed.

We had lunch included in the Thai restaurant which was amazing. We would visit this place for the food alone. Wine was good, a little expensive but what you would expect for a 5 star venue.

Treatment - we had a couples treatment included for 50 mins and it was again one of the best treatments we have both had, very professional and good quality. We both felt extremely relaxed and plan to return.

We would highly recommend this place for a relaxing couples day out or special occasion. We will return for sure if more offers are in place like we had.

Book and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,045 reviews
15.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
24.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
7.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Property: Seaham Hall
Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing