We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and stylish hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A comfortable and stylish hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

A most enjoyable long weekend here. The rooms are what one would expect in a hotel of this quality, and the facilities equally so. The grounds and views to the sea are very pleasant. Breakfasts are superb, and the staff very attentive and friendly.

To give a fair review, I must say there is one area that does not meet the standard one would expect from a hotel at this price point and that is the main restaurant. We ate here on just one night. The service is great and the decor, although not to my taste, is what some may consider stylish. The issue is with the food itself. The pricing and the menu offered reflect an ambition which is really not reflected in the quality of what appears on the plate. A big rethink in this area is needed if the restaurant is to match the satisfaction we felt with the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    149
    38
    23
    5
See reviews for
160
791
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Seaham is a beautiful hotel. Friendly staff and a breathtaking spa. The treatment I had was a deep tissue massage and Natalie the therapist was an expert in her field! Would definitely recommend both! The atmosphere is calm and serene and relaxing and the pool and all the other areas to use are great. The only downside was the food....overpriced afternoon tea, not an exciting dinner but breakfast was excellent....all in all will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Jinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed one night at Seaham Hall in the executive suit and the room was outstanding. Very comfortable huge bed and great selection in the mini bar at an excellent price. We enjoyed sandwiches and a glass of wine on the terrace and we were waited on hand and foot by excellent professional staff. We had a trip to the spa in the afternoon and had a pre booked well being massage. I was in heaven in there and received the best massage I have ever had by a lovely young lady named softie. We had a meal in the ozone restaurant and it was lovely and reasonably prices for good quality food staff again were great in there. The reception staff were most helpful as well as the gentlemen that showed us to our room. Over all 10 out of 10 and would go back with out a doubt just have to sweet talk my husband ;) thanx for a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Return visit to Seaham Hall this time for two nights to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived the staff across all areas made our stay fabulous, some lovely gestures by the hotel to mark our celebration, excellent food in both Byron's bar and grill, and in Ozone, comfortable peaceful lounges to relax in overlooking immaculate gardens, the bedrooms are spacious, well-equipped, beautifully decorated and with huge comfy beds! We thoroughly enjoyed treatments and a chill out in the spa. The attention to detail and management of this hotel is exceptional ensuring every aspect of our stay was perfect. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fibi1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Seaham Hall for one night to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. A wonderful hotel in a lovely peaceful setting and the customer service was amazing.
On arrival we were informed that we had received an upgrade to the Penthouse suite- wow, what a room! The spa was excellent , with a large pool and outdoor hot tubs. The treatments we had booked, a well being massage and a foot ritual, were both excellent .
We ate in Byron's grill - a lovely room with a very relaxed atmosphere. The food was wonderful , especially the steak which was cooked exactly to our requirements.
The staff at the hotel, all of them from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, warrant a special mention for their amazing customer service. They were all very welcoming and friendly and at the same time, very professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. The special touches in our room because of our anniversary were very much appreciated- it is the little touches that make a big difference and at Seaham Hall they seem to have it just right.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Seaham Hall and had an amazing time - rooms were spacious and modern with a luxurious king size bed, food was outstanding and the staff were friendly and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed the spa and felt pampered and well looked after throughout. Will definitely be back for our 21st next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceywilson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebrough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Bit late in writing review but deserves a mention. My Husband and I booked for Easter weekend treat. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. I'm sure our room was upgraded but no one mentioned this to us. But looking at pictures on website we definately got better room than expected. Very nice thank you. The room was huge, on corner of building so lots of windows with great views. The walkway from room to spa was so relaxing,lovely and interesting things along the way to admire,perfect atmosphere to arrive at spa. The spa was good but we felt bit disorientated at first. We arrived in our robes and slippers from our room and didn't realise we could get fresh ones from the spa also. The lady who was attending was very nice and quickly brought fresh robes,slippers and towels when she realised ours were wet. There was only water on offer as refreshment which I thought could have been better (maybe juice or even fruit pieces). The hot tub outside was nice and relaxing. Back to room and readly for evening meal. We had pre dinner drink at bar first then we were called through to restaurant. The meal was lovely and staff very attentitive. Beds were very comfortable. Next morning we had very nice breakfast then had a walk around the grounds before home time. I would say was very enjoyable stay. As a 5* hotel I would say not on par with Rockcliffe Hall but the staff were all lovely and hotel and grounds very nice also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
15.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
10.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Property: Seaham Hall
Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing