We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for three nights whilst visiting family and couldn't fault the whole experience. The service was great from first to last, whether at front desk, in the spa or bar/restaurants. We ate at both Byron's and The Ozone restaurants and both were top draw. The spa facilities are also fantastic - we spent more time in the pool than in the bedroom. Well nearly. And the North East weather was relatively kind to us so we could sit outside our room - we had a garden room/suite - with a glass of fizz taking in the sun. Highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which has a huge bathroom!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Seaham Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Well, we thought that this spa hotel was mind blowing. We made a reservation on the internet from a personal recommendation from a colleague. The hotel team immediately contacted me to discuss our reservation and to offer helpful advice on restaurant bookings, spa treatments etc. Upon arrival, we were shown to our room which was spectacular with a massive king size double bed (you could get lost in it) and very impressive ensuite bathroom. There are two restaurants: Byrons in the main hotel and Ozone in the adjacent Spa facility. We tried both restaurants with Byrons providing excellent more formal higher end dining with a good wine list. However, Ozone was absolutely delightful, offering a light Thai style menu beautifully prepared within the dining area fresh from your order.

The spa area is accessed from the hotel using a private corridor. The spa is spotlessly clean throughout and is run by a team of trained staff ensuring that your visit is as relaxing as possible. Hotel guests have free access to the pool area, gymnasium and associated sauna, hot tub and steam room facilities. These are maintained to a very high standard and are a pleasure to use. For those guests wanting a spa treatment, there are several available from massages to facials. These are available for a charge. However having tried a selection of treatments during our stay, we can highly recommend them. The treatment rooms are separate from the main pool area offering a discrete, private relaxation experience. The treatment staff are highly trained and we found the treatments to be excellent.

Overall, we felt that this spa hotel was a revelation. This is a serious high end relaxation venue offering it's guests the highest levels of accommodation, dining experience, spa treatment and customer service. The staff are attentive and make sure that your stay is as relaxing as possible. We can't wait to return for another short break. Book with confidence. This is a delightful way to spend a short break. It was so good that we did not even leave the premises during our stay. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms are to high standard.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RJH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and wife stayed at Seaham Hall for our first anniversary and it was just as good as the first time.

We had a garden suite booked but on arrival we had been upgraded to an executive suite at no cost. The room (21) was great. Huge bed, great views and a tv in the huge bathroom.

The staff were all second to none and could not do enough for you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wglen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just returned from Seaham Hall after booking quite late in the week for a trip to the twilight spa (6pm till 10pm) on a Sunday evening with 3 others. At first when we rang we were told that there was no availability but within the hour received another call to say there had been a cancellation. Great service! When we arrived we were given drinks and shown around the spa, given robes, towels and slippers and shown to the changing rooms. I can not fault the excellent service and all around quality of the spa facilities. The meal was lovely, served piping hot to our table and we ate it still in our gowns!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank PPLE593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This experience was worth every penny. I have never had such a relaxing break.
The spar has to be the best ever. It had everything you could imagine, hot tubs, Hydro pool, Sauna, steam rooms, Gym, just too many to mention. The treatment rooms covered everything.
The restaurants and food were 1st class as were the staff. All staff were polite friendly and professional, it would be mean to single out one person as the entire team were fab.
We had a trip down to the marina before leaving which was delightful. It was only a 10 min drive from Dalton Park retail centre for shoppers who like a bargain
Our thanks to every one at Seaham Hall we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The garden suite comes with it's own lawn garden and patio furniture, and massive Queen size bed...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our First visit to Seaham Hall, a group of four ladies, from the moment we arrived the staff across all areas made our stay fabulous, excellent food in Byron's bar and grill, and the green Thai curry in Ozone was fabulous, comfortable peaceful lounges to relax in overlooking immaculate gardens, the bedrooms are spacious, well-equipped, beautifully decorated and with huge comfy beds! We thoroughly enjoyed treatments (although I would recommend you book before you go to avoid disappointment) and a chill out in the spa and outside hot tubs. The attention to detail and management of this hotel is exceptional ensuring every aspect of our stay was perfect. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SharonBrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from a fabulous lunch party, it was all arranged on line due to the family member living abroad. Every detail was perfect and the food was sumptuous. A glorious sunny day showed off the newly refurbished hotel to its absolute best. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
15.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
6.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
742 reviews
10.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range: £175 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing