We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Well worth an overnight stay!”
Review of Seaham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seaham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked a " lazy Sunday " overnight stay at the hotel and from checking in to checking out we had a fantastic experience. Very high standards in all areas but delivered in a warm and welcoming atmosphere, the extra personal touches made our anniversary even more special, :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was my first stay at Seaham Hall and overall was very impressed. The staff are attentive and friendly and the Hotel gives out a very welcoming feeling. Our suite (Room 2) was very well appointed and comfortable but as usual the lighting controls defeated me. The bathroom was large with a huge bath and spacious shower; outside was a terrace with a small private garden area.

We lunched in the Ozone restaurant which serves very nice Asian food accompanied by very good waiter service. In the evening we dined in Byrons Bar & Grill, the other restaurant at Seaham Hall where again the food and service was very good.

If there was one criticism it was the absence of a concierge service which given that Seaham Hall is a 5 star hotel I would have expected. The concierge is the guest's first personal contact with the Hotel when they drive up to the front entrance and thus is an important position within a 5 star hotel.

Concierge service notwithstanding this is a very pleasant 5 star hotel and having stayed in another 5 star hotel within the area the service and food was far superior.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schrodinger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at Seaham for two nights recently. Fantastic position, sea views, wonderful Spa, great food, bedrooms amazing and massage was excellent. I just felt that the majority of local staff did not relate to or buy into five spa etiquette. Chambermaid felt it too over whelming that everything had too be perfect (conversation with her), breakfast waiting staff shouted to each other whether "she wanted toast", main receptionist was very unhelpful and seemed out of her depth and the Spa reception was very ill informed about the treatments and robot like. I couldn't expect anymore of the hotel perhaps a bit more investment in staff training.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RickersNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A perfect stay started with a room upgrade to a Garden Suite, a card and cakes to wish us a happy 30th wedding anniversary. Only 20 rooms and high end customer service make Seaham special. Attentive and stylish with a human touch every member of staff we encountered had genuine smiles, were relaxed and happy to help. All rooms are large and each one different with huge comfortable beds. The Ozone & Byron's offer really good food with each having their own unique atmosphere. Highly recommend Seaham & look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and no two are the same. Garden Rooms have private lawn and patio area with table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sailorthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Attended an evening at the spa which included a 2 course meal at the Thai restaurant.

The spa was very clean, with plenty of loungers and had a main pool, 2 plunge pools, a hydro pool, a sauna, steam room, 2 outdoor hot tubs and a hamman Turkish room. The staff were all lovely and couldn't do enough for you.

The meals were large and very tasty, I'd definitely eat at this restaurant even if I wasn't attending the spa. I had the duck and pancakes to start and the pork loin for main, my partner had the spring rolls to start and the beef green curry for the main, it was all great! Neither of us had treatments this time but I definitely would in the future.

This place lives up to its 5 star name - I will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dentals13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and could not recommend it highly enough. Very comfortable room and staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent base for touring - they even supplied us with free bikes so we went to Seaham - a nice little town that appears to be improving its facilities (well worth visit to harbour area). Durham just 15 mins away. Additionally the spa facilities were also excellent and added to the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Fantastic relaxing night away! Lovely grounds, enjoyed the games room and meal in the main restaurant Byron's.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Junior suite was amazing - huge bed and bath were fab! Can't wait to go back again....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,194 reviews
24.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
477 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaham Hall

Address: Seaham Hall Lord Byron's Walk, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seaham
Price Range: £175 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaham Hall is a beautiful and exclusive luxury 5 Star boutique hotel with fascinating history, located on a cliff top on the wild and romantic Heritage Coast. Seaham Hall is celebrating the success of their £2m investment after winning the prestigious 'Small Hotel of the Year' award at the 2013 North East Tourism Awards, with the judges recognising the first class facilities and upgrading which has taken place under the hotel's new ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaham Hall Hotel And Serenity Seaham
Serenity Spa Seaham
Hall Hotel Seaham
Seaham Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing