We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"So pleased we found it"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lookout

The Lookout
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"So pleased we found it"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

So pleased we found this cafe while we were out walking because there was no hint there was one there. Outside eating area with gorgeous view. You could either sit in the covered in area or outside of it. There was also a dog water bowl provided.
We ate inside and it was lovely and warm. We had scones cakes coffee and tea and all were homemade and lovely. Service was good.
We will be back very soon

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DurhamCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    69
    24
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A cafe with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The lookout is ideally located right by the sea near the dock area and has adequate parking too.
The beverages and snacks have always been nice and served by friendly staff and of course there is a wonderful view out to sea if you care venture out onto the outside tables

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yassoutoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, fab location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Visited on a cold November Saturday with my daughter, the cafe was busy at 1pm and we got the last table inside. Plenty of staff so we got served quickly, bit of a wait for chips and a jacket potato but shows they are prepared to order rather than sitting ready to be reheated. Tasty food attractively served, the selection of cakes is impressive and our ginger cake and Victoria sponge went down well. It's a nice cafe in a great location for sea views, it's on the first floor with a lift so access won't be a problem, seating indoors and outdoors on a balcony. Caters for walkers with dogs as there are water bowls outside which were regularly topped up. We'll be back again and again.

Helpful?
1 Thank anne51265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been here a few times now and we love it. The staff are very friendly and the service is very good. At our most recent visit, we both had a pork & stuffing sandwich which was delicious but a little pricey for a sandwich. It's beautiful to sit and look onto the sea view.

Helpful?
Thank cleggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A little gem on the North East Coast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A hidden gem down by the marina at Seaham. If you don't know it's there ... you won't find it !!
Very clean, very friendly, a great variety of hot and cold snacks, at very reasonable prices.
Early bird offers make it even more affordable, and don't forget the loyalty card ... buy 4 drinks .. get the 5th free.
Lovely outdoor seating area, but this is Co Durham .. so if you're from further south than Darlington ..wear a very thick coat !!
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lookout also viewed

 

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing