We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner. At Seaham Hall”
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #13 of 69 Restaurants in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$252
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Dining Room. Our focus is to celebrate British ingredients and its producers who dive, harvest, hunt, nurture and gather them. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons in Britain and the dishes emphasise the quality of what our Island can offer and that they can stand proudly next to the rest of the world. Offering a relaxed and friendly environment celebrating regional and tasty food!
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Great food, attentive service, fantastic homemade bread. Great setting. Would highly recommend. Im a vegetarian and they adapted a dish for me.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AAnderson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your experience in The Dining Room and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2018

The layout of the dining room has changed since we last came - the bar has gone to make space for more tables and the table layout has changed around a little bit. The food was excellent and service also very good as always. We enjoyed the food very much - although now, you do pay for everything! Sides and bread are not included. This kind of pops the price up a bit. However, we love it there and it's a treat, so what the heck!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to read that you enjoy the changes we have made to The Dining Room. I have shared your feedback regarding the menu pricing to the relevant members of the management team for review. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We had dinner in this restaurant on two occasions, outstanding both times.
Our dining experience was excellent, the staff are professional and friendly offering great service with a marvellous choice of food and drink.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank chriscook10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed The Dining Room, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We booked a night away and afternoon tea as part of an 80th birthday year celebration. The afternoon tea was rather disappointing - no choice of teas, no hot water to top up the tea, bland food. Nothing special. The breakfast the following morning was equally uninspiring. Offered some orange juice but no top up, the tea was, once again, tasteless and the 'pancakes' were most unsatisfactory: 2 rubbery drop scones would not have been what we would have expected at this award-winning hotel. Generally, the stay was ok but not up to our expectations and experiences of other hotels with excellent reputations.

    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review. I am disappointed to read that aspects of your stay did not live up to expectations on this occasion, even further so as I was not afforded the opportunity to discuss these with you during your stay or on check out. Please accept my sincere apologies that you didn't enjoy afternoon tea or breakfast and I would like to invite that if you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on chara.forrest@seaham-hall.com. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Great new menus with locally sourced food and prepared to a very high standard - great balance of quality and quantity with first class service.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ABCDMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review of The Dining Room, I'm glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing