We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Restaurant Why?”
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #15 of 69 Restaurants in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$257
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Dining Room. Our focus is to celebrate British ingredients and its producers who dive, harvest, hunt, nurture and gather them. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons in Britain and the dishes emphasise the quality of what our Island can offer and that they can stand proudly next to the rest of the world. Offering a relaxed and friendly environment celebrating regional and tasty food!
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

From the moment and my wife and I walked into this restaurant we pointed out that it was cold, we were first Seated by the window which might normally be a Very pleasant seat however since this was a December night it was cold and draughty and not helped by the fact that the door at the entrance of the restaurant is permanently open.

We asked to move seat and did so.

Lovely high ceilings all from the original design of the original house but of course they would Have been heated By a roaring fire, not so in this restaurant.

We asked for the heating to be turned up, we were told that it was going to be turned up and we were offered a blanket yes a blanket. This is a beautiful restaurant not Marble Arch, we were not sleeping rough thankfully but then again people who are sleeping rough probably don’t pay £26 for two margaritas.

When the bill came with the charge of £26 for two margaritas (served by the way in champagne glasses and not on the rocks as we asked) I decided that the manager needed to be called.

That was a waste of time. Apparently the heating had been on ‘all day’ according to him and the temperature Had been taken and it was 23°! We Were asked what would help the matter all that would help the matter would be just to basically turn the heating up prior to the customer walking in the restaurant that’s all we want nobody want to sit in a cold restaurant.

This is not a cheap restaurant food was lovely the Staff At this restaurant try very hard It couldn’t cost more than 5 pound to heat that restaurant properly for the whole night I don’t want to sit in a restaurant with my coat on.

Spoils the whole thing for me

1  Thank Marklorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahamHall1, Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food, service and surroundings of The Dining Room. We try and make the temperature comfortable for all guests who dine with us and did so both for Sunday Lunch and dinner. I'm sorry that you found the room to be cold and draughty on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Having visited the spa a year or two ago, we returned and decided to combine with an overnight stay in this fabulous hotel.

The spa and the massage treatments are great and the restaurant didn’t disappoint. With a very creativity be menu and enough choices, we had a fabulous meal.

Compliments to the Chef and the friendly staff.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Madone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to read that your overnight stay, treatments and meal didn't disappoint. I will certainly pass on your kind feedback to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Great food, attentive service, fantastic homemade bread. Great setting. Would highly recommend. Im a vegetarian and they adapted a dish for me.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AAnderson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your experience in The Dining Room and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

The layout of the dining room has changed since we last came - the bar has gone to make space for more tables and the table layout has changed around a little bit. The food was excellent and service also very good as always. We enjoyed the food very much - although now, you do pay for everything! Sides and bread are not included. This kind of pops the price up a bit. However, we love it there and it's a treat, so what the heck!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank FionaH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to read that you enjoy the changes we have made to The Dining Room. I have shared your feedback regarding the menu pricing to the relevant members of the management team for review. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We had dinner in this restaurant on two occasions, outstanding both times.
Our dining experience was excellent, the staff are professional and friendly offering great service with a marvellous choice of food and drink.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank chriscook10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chara F, Operations Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed The Dining Room, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 
Seaham, Durham
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing