We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely venue. Poor heating”
Review of The Ickworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ickworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely venue. Poor heating”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

The house and grounds are lovely. Our room was very nice and clean. The only negative was that they seem to poor plumbing. The heating was virtually off meaning the room was chilly in the evening. The shower as well went from scalding to freezing and then back to scalding. A decent shower makes or breaks a hotel in my view.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodlikesbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your time in feedback on your stay with us in December.

I am sorry that your stay was marred by issues with the plumbing. As you can appreciate with a building such as this, it does have it's challenges with both plumbing and heating. We are continually strive to ensure that issues that you have raised are kept to an absolute minimum.

I am very pleased that you had a pleasant stay.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    177
    83
    41
    35
See reviews for
311
194
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel forms the east wing of ickworth house estate which is approaches up a sprawling drive.Views spectacular.Bedroom overlooked the well maintained gardens,Room was a signature on floor 2.Extremely comfortable and quiet,The rooms are named after family members of the hervey family ours was kitty.The bathroom was divine and to a high spec,Lovely soft towels.We ate in Fredrichs food was good .plenty of choice.Wine & all drinks were what you expect to pay at a hotel of this caliber.Staff were extremely friendly & helpful .Lovely walks around estate.Bikes for hire,Didn't have time for the spa.Visited the house part of the national trust. Well worth the visit.Location excellent omly 10 mins from bury st edmunds

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzy_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Cazzy

Thank you for your very kind review of The Ickworth.

I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable visit with us, it always nice to get great comments and the staff do enjoy reading them.

Thank you again and see you again.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our first visit to the Ickworth and on the whole, we had a great time.

- The grounds were a real treat and having the bikes to use made them all the more accessible. The games room also proved a great hit and the swimming pool was always warm and there were plenty of floats/woggles so that our non-swimmer felt confident.

- The room we had in the Lodge was a great size with plenty of space although 1 bathroom between 6 of us meant queues in the morning, not a major problem though. The bed however was awful – my husband slept in one of the children’s beds as, even with a small child sharing with me, it felt like I was sleeping on a trampoline. The sofa & chair whilst fitting with the character of the room were not very comfortable to sit on for any length of time. The low ceiling height also meant the shower was of little use to adults, but I appreciate you can’t change the character of the building!

- For me, buffet breakfasts do not work – I like my food hot and having to use cold plates meant that it was lukewarm by the time I sat down. That said, the quality of the produce was excellent.

- My main gripe was in relation to dining. On our first day there we attempted to get a table in the Conservatory at just after 5.00pm but couldn’t – it was fully booked. There was no effort made to suggest an alternative – we could have a table much later (7.30 or 8pm) which was of no use with small children to feed. It was very much a case of, ‘the hotel is fully booked, the restaurant is fully booked, nothing we can do’. Eventually we were offered the library – perfect, no problem, but why wasn’t this offered immediately? We didn’t really care where we ate, just as long as we could feed the children! I appreciate that the hotel advises advance booking but I think on a first visit most people prefer to book when they get there and see what the alternatives are; I would also suggest that perhaps on check-in that new guests are advised that it really is essential that they book a table early. With this in mind, we then booked for Thursday and Friday. We went to Reception and I booked a table for Thursday for 3 children in the Conservatory and then a later booking for Fredericks for my husband, son and myself (pointing out my son as I booked it). Next night, the 3 of us went to the Drawing Room and had a drink – we were given 2 menus and then the waitress asked if our son was also dining, when we said he was, he was also given a menu. Half an hour later I think it was the dining manager who asked if we were ok, I replied, ‘yes, can we please order’; he replied ‘order?’; ‘yes’, I said, ‘food?’. ‘To eat where?’ he asked. ‘In the restaurant?’ ‘How old is your son?’ he asked. ‘14’. ‘I’m sorry, but it’s adults only’. At this point my husband made his displeasure known. Why was the booking taken, why was my son given a menu? Then we were told that it was ok, he could eat in the restaurant. By this time however the atmosphere had been spoiled especially as the chap then crashed and banged around us and was clearly not happy. It was all unnecessary. I appreciate people enjoy getting away from children – I do too! But, in the literature sent to us it refers to ‘adult only’ dining but does not mention that it applies to Fredericks. My son has impeccable table manners and thoroughly enjoyed his venison but the initial greeting marred the evening for him also.

As I said at the beginning, overall we enjoyed our visit but a more ‘can do’ approach by some of the staff would have made a huge difference.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 01mog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We hired the whole Dower House for my 40th birthday (25 adults and 28 kids). We had exclusive use of the House, where your breakfast is served to you and the kids can run amok. And we also had a catered private dinner there on the Saturday night while the kids all slept upstairs - so no babysitting issues to deal with. It was totally brilliant - the kids spent all weekend swimming, using the playgrounds, riding bikes, having their own party organised by the crech staff, and having high tea in the hotel; meaning they were all in bed early in the Dower House so we could get on with dinner downstairs. All organised by their events staff and surprisiingly inexpensive once we'd asked our friends to make some contribution and brought our own booze. A really special occasion. Thoroughly recomended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Rosemary

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us in November.

You have highlighted what The Ickworth and more especially what the Lodge at Ickworth is all about. The Lodge is perfect for those very large family gathering and if exclusively let, you don't have to worry too much about disturbing the other guests too!

Thank you again, perhaps you'll be back for the next big special occasion.

Kind regards


Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on a mid week deal which included some meals.
The hotel is gorgeous and the room was very large, it came complete with change mat, steriliser, bottle warmer and travel cot. All of which were handy.
The hotel is geared towards families and even has an onsite crèche.
We used the swimming pool during our visit which was lovely and clean which excellent changing facilities.
Both nights we ate in the conservatory with our 7 month old. The food is very good and the menu selection was wide.
At breakfast we also used some the baby feeding equipment provided. All very useful.

A few points which I feel could improve the hotel would be a way of serving child's meals before the adults meals, a few families seem to struggle at meal times getting everyone fed!
Also the rooms could included wipes/cotton wool which would be one less thing to pack.
Finally a mini tour/intro upon checking in would be useful, we were given a info pack but with a baby, a visual tour would have been useful.

A great stay though, we will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucyann37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hello Lucyann

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Ickworth.

We feel we are unique in how we cater for families and like to be able to provide as much as we can so everyone can have a good time.

With regards to your point about dining times, we strongly recommend on our pre-stay emails that all meals are pre-booked to avoid disappoint on arrival should desired times not be available. The majority of our guests do this and are able to enjoy.
We have put some items in our room which you have suggested so thank you this. The tour may be somewhat difficult to accommodate however, as we simply would have enough members of staff to be able to do this (as much as we would like.) We can have quite a number of families checking in at the same time and logistically this just wouldn't be possible. We do include for all guests both in the main hotel and The Lodge with a detailed map of the house and grounds so they can easily find places.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I didn't know this prided itself on being a family friendly hotel so felt as though I had walked into a creche. If you are allergic to children this is not for you. However the children are offered many attractions and are not allowed into the main restaurant in the evening so it actually worked out very well. The rooms are lovely - very big and ours contained if not the largest bed I have ever slept in, then undoubtedly the highest.Strangely the TV was situated at right angles to the bed which made watching awkward. The bathroom was a good size - but I have to say I never completely worked out the plumbing. Getting a hot shower was always pot luck - but the hot water was in there somewhere if you were persistent. The spa provided a perfectly adequate massage but is small and, unusually, nowhere near the pool. Due to poor weather, and it's distance from the house I did not sample the pool so don't know how good it is. The breakfast choice was a little limited compared to some hotels, but the food quality was good. The evening restaurant was very good - excellent beef dish one night and nice bream the next. The wine list was adequate. My only gripe is that I never signed after meals so it was sometimes difficult to reconcile the final bill. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly and the porter on arrival was a delight. The hotel provides free access for the national trust property attached - well worth a visit - particularly if you favour Downton/ Upstairs Downstairs sort of TV. The grounds are huge and magnificent. So my early misgivings disappeared across the two days and by the end I was sorry to be leaving. Given a repeat of the deal I was on I would very willingly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in one wing of the National Trust property at Ickworth so is a lovely old building with masses of parkland attached. The hotel aims to be family friendly and certainly seemed to be catering for the children when we visited. The Spa centre is small, but perfectly functional in the basement. There's only massage and beauty treatments available - no sauna or steam rooms.
The lunch in the Conservatory restaurant was very nice, though rather slow to turn up. The staff were very pleasant and friendly though with a large child's menu

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our spa and lunch at The Ickworth.

Unfortunately, when the hotel was been designed, there wasn't the opportunity to accommodate sauna and steam room but so our guests didn't totally miss out the spa treatment rooms where situated on the lower ground floor.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your day with us and thank you for your feedback.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horringer
9.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
17.7 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Property: The Ickworth Hotel
Address: Horringer, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Suffolk/Horringer, Bury St Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing