We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Child friendly ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ickworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ickworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Child friendly ”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay and excellent food. Staff are curious and polite, a special mention must go to Amy, Isabel and Drew!

Points to note is that you should order food and drinks well before you become hungry or thirsty, anticipate a wait!! Also note there is no bar which adds to the waiting time. This is a very minor point, overall experience was great, thanks to all!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lordnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Lordnorfolk, Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry that there was a delay in obtaining drinks in the drawing room, we do ensure that there is someone there at all times, however this does not always occur and for this my apologies. We look forward to your return soon.
yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    173
    83
    41
    35
See reviews for
307
189
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were not disappointed by our second stay at this wonderful family friendly hotel.

It suits our needs perfectly - it's relaxed, understated and friendly yet still feels luxurious and special.

Our toddler loves it and was very sad to leave. The pool, the cycles, the grounds, the food, the crèche and most importantly the little extras from the staff (on this visit I must mention Ines who went out of her way to be great!) make it an ideal place to take a break with young children - but still feel like it is a break!

I had a good spa treatment, the food is consistently good and the hotel is generally well maintained. There is an element of shabby chic / quirkiness but I don't believe this hotel professes to be an uber fancy, formal, 5 star establishment and this is reflected in the excellent value it offers.

We can't wait to visit again and hope to do so in summer when we can further enjoy the wonderful grounds (although the daffodils right now are gorgeous!)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear travellerfromLondon, thank you for your response and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We've just returned from a long weekend at the Ickworth Hotel and I can't rate it highly enough.

Everything has been provided to make the stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. There are strategically placed chests of book and toys dotted about for everyone to dip into, you can borrow bikes as and when you wish, with helmets supplied for little ones, and we couldn't get my daughter out of the pool. All this with absolutely stunning grounds, beautiful rooms and great food.

My favourite thing however is perhaps the insight into parents psyche that has the children's menu at high tea printed on one side with food choices for the kids and on the other - the wine and beer list for Mum and Dad. Fabulous!

I'd recommend it to anyone with young children, in fact we loved it so much we've booked to go back in three weeks time!

Room Tip: We booked into the two bedroom apartment in the Lodge - great to have some space after the kids have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Belle M , Thank you for your very kind comments of your stay . I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the High Tea additions with your children, we know how a glass of wine at the end of the day can be very helpful. We look forward to seeing you again
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Here for a family weekend away and sat in the breathtaking Drawing Room writing this review.

Overall I would say it is just an amazing place and the facilities are outstanding. The service is at times excellent and at other times a bit too laid back. But it wouldn't stop me coming back.

Overall a great place to waste some time in beautiful surroundings. Our room was great too. We had De Walden and had a family of four in there. Plenty of room.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teakayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Teakayke, Thank you for your comments, I am very sorry that the service was at time inconsistent, however I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will return. The service element is a constant that we work on and I have noted these comments.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have just spent a three night break here and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Our two year old was not on top form (throwing tantrums all over the place) but the staff were absolutely amazing and couldn't do enough to help. We had a brilliant time and are looking to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 502jb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay and that your two year old seemed to enjoy it too. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is fantastic for families. It's set in the stunning grounds of Ickworth House with its woodland trails and adventure playground. The swimming pool at the hotel is great for kids and there's a tennis court and lots of other activities for them to do. The eating arrangements are very flexible and we ate with the kids both evenings in the Conservatory. Very good quality food in a nice restaurant but in a relaxed family environment, so you're not worried about the children being too loud! I would certainly recommend this hotel and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurleyBantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay, please come back soon we would love to see you again
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Ickworth Hotel and Lodge ensured my daughter's 21st birthday celebration was a memory making occasion. All hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and especially those working in the conservatory restaurant on the 2 nights we ate there. The menu provided an excellent mix of quality food to cater for my 3 year old to well...the adults in the party.
However it was the rooms that provided that extra special sense of occasion and notably Ludwig in the Lodge which ensured a luxurious start to being 21 and much appreciated by my daughter.
The pool was a great hit with all the family as were the free bikes to explore the Ickworth estate. Some me time at the Spa booked in advance added to the making 2 nights away seem like much more.
Finally the setting provided an added sense of occasion and we are now trying to find our excuse to come back!

Room Tip: For a family break the Lodge although a short walk away from the main hotel is ideal as children hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Tank you for your kind comments , I am delighted that you enjoyed the Lodge and achieved the restful experience that we try to reach in this building. With the brighter weather the Lodge is really a special place, we look forward to your return.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horringer
9.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,129 reviews
17.7 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
184 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
851 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Property: The Ickworth Hotel
Address: Horringer, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Suffolk/Horringer, Bury St Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing