We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for anybody with or without kids”
Review of The Ickworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ickworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I loved the little touches in our room, rubber ducks in the bath, mini robe doe our 3 year old story books and the great in room child listening system. The house is lovely, furniture is an eclectic mix of eras, but works well. Yes, the place creaks, yes the doors squeak, but who cares. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with our daughter, the free bike use, and lovely play areas inside and out made it more relaxing than usual. We stayed in the mussenden room, lovely room, but does need voile or blinds on the front window, as we were over reception, and our daughter liked to open the curtains, meaning that we had to hide if we weren't dressed lol

Room Tip: Mussenden is a very large room and fitted a z bed in easily. The bathroom is lovely and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank caincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello Caincat - thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us.

I see that you have embraced the charm of the Ickworth with all it quirkiness. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the surroundings and facilities to the full.

I've spoken with the housekeeper about your point regard the voile and they are being measured up as I type!

Hope to see you again soon.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in the Lodge for my husband's 40th birthday and had the most fantastic time.We had booked exclusive use of the lodge for 3 nights and every need was catered for all weekend thanks to Daniella and her team. The apartments are beautifully and tastefully furnished with luxurious bathrooms and Daniella even organised for one of the apartments to be used as a lounge when some guests had to unfortunately cancel at short notice.
Daniella arranged for outside caterers to provide a sumptuous 5 course meal for the Saturday night and Riccardo and his team ensured that this was a special night with delicious cuisine.
This place is simply wonderful and to have the luxury of fine dining with the kids asleep under the same roof meant that the birthday celebration could be enjoyed with peace of mind.
We also had access to the hotel facilities which meant again that every wish was met!
Our only gripe was very minor in that the hotel staff were not always very efficient so this may be something the hotel needs to address.
Apart from that, we loved every minute as did our extended family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Bifty - we are so very pleased that you had a truly amazing stay with us for the birthday celebration at the Lodge. It is a perfect place to celebrate with friends and family. And as you state you do get the best of both worlds of having the independence of the Lodge but still have the full use of the hotel facilities.
Riccardo is no longer with us but Daniela has read this review and so very pleased she helped with your celebration become a great success.
See you again for another big celebration!

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a family we love the luxury family hotel in Ickworth, the hotel is stunning, the staff are fantastic with children and the overall vibe is so relaxing for family’s with little ones. We stayed during a family birthday weekend, staying in the main house its self. We have stayed in the Dower House before, which is also lovely, but we preferred staying in the main house this time. Our room was large and very very comfortable, with lovely modern contemporary furnishing. The room was spacious and perfect for a family of four, and safe with little ones too.

The food at the is lovely, but if you can, you MUST stay for the Sunday roast... I could have eaten all the beef they were carving at our table. The children’s dinner in the downstairs room works great, the kids can make as much mess as they like without feeling bad.

The grounds here are stunning and always seem to amaze me when we go for walks... We can’t wait for another stay here, and we must try the other Luxury Family hotels dotted around the country too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackster1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Jackstar - seems like you had the best of both worlds having stayed in both the Lodge and the main house and we are so very pleased that you have enjoyed both.

We love it that families come to celebrate special occasions with us and for some of our guests it has become the norm when it's a big family celebration to come along as there is something for everyone.

Let us know when you are coming back again!

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The Ickworth estate is vast, the feeling you get as you drive through the gatehouse, past the wild meadows and free range sheep, as the house is revealed, it is like being on a film set. The architecture is awesome and mind blowing, it's history rich and momentous and sadly scandalous in recent years. It's true that when you have a toddler, you take the show on the road on holiday, same stuff, somewhere else! At Ickworth I could completely relax, knowing there's heaps to keep little one entertained, loads of floor space to shuffle around on, toys to find, smiley helpful staff to smile at, extensive children's menu (although loads of salt on chips- argh) The pool is stunning and was empty at 9am on a bank hol Sat morning. The grounds are huge and the house (free entry) really well run by National Trust.
We stayed in The Lodge, in a 2 bed apartment called Hornbeam. Very well furnished, very handy microwave and all essentials for baby ready for us in room. Extensive delicious buffet breakfast. Brilliant complimentary crèche which baby girl enjoyed with her daddy this time but would definitely utilise more if she was older. Free bike hire too. We have had so much fun and can't wait to come back!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Phunkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Phunkstar - it sounds like you and your family had a truly memorable time with us.

We know its a very special place and once visited, you become hooked with the building and it's surroundings. I think those of us that work here sometimes take it for granted so it certainly brings it home how luck we are to be here.

Thank you for taking the time out and hope to see you and the family very soon.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had the best full body massage at Ickworth hotel today. A lovely masseur called Vilma! Iv had a lot of massages in my time but Vilma's techniques and her knowledge was like a sixth sence! She was varied and technical with her methods and I was so suprised by her expertise! She even shocked me when she made her hands 'vibrate' as if to create a mechanical hand! I was so blown away with her....I would highly recommend that Ickworth and residents give this super member of staff all the credit she deserves.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestmidlandsKayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Kayla - thank you for your comments regarding your recent spa experience here at the Ickworth.

Yes, Vilma is a fantastic therapist who really knows how to make her clients feel they are getting what they expect.

Hope that you can treat yourself to another treatment soon.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Michael and his team did everything they could to make us feel relaxed. Four Bears Den and the swimming pool were highlights for the kids, spa treatment and wandering around the lovely grounds and national trust house next door while the kids were in Four Bears Den for the adults. Looking forward to going back and seeing the renovations at Butlers Quarters later this year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JezElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your comments we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back and to the updated Butlers Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

visited after a recommendation. Beautiful drive up to hotel, stunning gardens. Plenty space and facilities for the children to play and run about. The staff were helpful and guided us to the conservatory restaurant, we had lovely views of the garden.  The afternoon tea was delicious with a good choice of sandwiches, cakes etc. We will definitely be having a return visit. The restaurant manager Paulo and his staff were very efficient  and the service was first class. Thank you and you staff for the delightful experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Adrianandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Operations Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Adrian and Jo

Thank-you for your comments following Afternoon Tea with us.
I'm glad that your expectations were met and everything was 1st Class during your visit.
We have passed on your feedback to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Amanda-Jane
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horringer
3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,247 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
646 reviews
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
519 reviews
9.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Address: Horringer, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Price Range: £98 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Suffolk/Horringer, Bury St Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing