We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gildhall

Quintessentially English Country Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quintessentially English Country Cottage
Cosy siting room with wood burning stove Mature gardens for you to enjoy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Quintessentially English Country Cottage
Cosy siting room with wood burning stove
Mature gardens for you to enjoy
Bedrooms with charm
Large dining room
plenty of room to get together
we are dog friendly
15 acres of private parkland for you to enjoy
side view of The Gildhall
Log Burning stove in the dining room
Spacious bedroom with super comfy bed!
main bedroom with access to the Family Bathroom
Single bedroom with plenty of storage
single bedroom
A real sun trap and private too!
Well equipped kitchen with an Aga
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Nayland, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Escape769...
1 review
“Fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a lovely few days. Enjoyed the treats left in the fridge. Bed very comfy. Great local walks with the dogs. Thank you we will be back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sd87uk
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Gildhall is a cosy but spacious cottage with beautiful gardens.
The cottage is well equipped.
It is within easy reach of a few great pubs and restaurants

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyann2...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Cottage”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Gildhall Cottage in Higham. It was so beautiful and all our needs were completely catered for. The house was clean and the "goodies" welcome pack was very much appreciated. We would not hesitate to return. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukeyafc9
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a place! Everything you could want! Can’t wait to go back! Even though I almost knocked myself out on the low doorways! Oops!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan24
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is huge with lovely wood beams and comfy furnishings. Stairs may be a little tricky for some as they are quite steep and a little winding. We didn't use the wood burner but the central heating was very efficient and the Aga made the kitchen very cosy. Lovely grounds for walking and exploring, although garden not secure enough for my little Chihuahua. Great welcome pack although tea and coffee had not been replenished. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean and comfortable but passing traffic can be heard from the road outside. A 15min drive to Dedham for a walk to Flatford Mill or cross the road from the grounds and walk down to the church and river. Overall a lovely property to stay in for a relaxing weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic thatched cottage, with a wonderful garden.”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Very welcoming and flexible, facilitating an early arrival so we could change before a party. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms beautifully prepared, and the welcome package is lovely.

Only quibble- the AGA is very cosy, but meant that we were very warm!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linbra
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Homely cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed for two nights in this wonderful home from home. Greeted by a lovely warm cottage with some delicious provisions and special touch of a birthday cake couldn't of been nicer. The cottage is very comfortable with everything you need to make for a very relaxed stay. Bedding smelt wonderfully clean and bathrooms were spotless. We enjoyed a lovely walk from the cottage and visited Dedham which is a beautiful village. The Swan in Stratford St Mary is also well worth visiting and is very near by. All in all a fabulous weekend and we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt so relaxed and at home. The open fires. The lovely warm kitchen due to the aga. Being with my lovely friends in it!!
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave on Sunday!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing