We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beans Boat Trips

Beans Boat Trips
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A family run business for over 50 years, taking boat trips to see the seals and birds in their natural environment on and around Blakeney Point nature reserve!See the seals or your money back!!
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Really enjoyed it. Nice comfortable trip, witty and interesting commentary, and great to see the seals and birds.
Good value for £10

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jdk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    61
    10
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
295 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Seal of Approval”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Have been a couple of times to see the Seals with Beans at Morston Quay ( which is around a 5-10 minute drive from Blakeney if staying there). Admin wise you need to walk from the car park to the creek as they won't come and find you, although you'll see various punters gravitating that way and therefore in the right direction from the others offering the "seal" experience. We've been more than happy with Beans, hence our return visit. We were on the smaller boat and that's quite intimate, two crew and limited but sufficient information ( grey and common seals etc) and they will tell you anything else you ask them. On this occasion,unlike our first, there weren't loads of seals, possibly around 15. Still that's likely more than enough! A good tip would be to take an extra layer if prone to the cold as gets a bit chillier on the Point and be warned that if at the front of the boat you might get a little wet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice enough but spoilt by fag butt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second seal trip with Beans, our first about a year before. I booked about a week in advance. Booking was easy enough though he kept getting his dates mixed up. We called and paid at the cottage in the village again as requested though this was a waste of time as most people were paying at the van on the quay side. We were blessed with excellent weather for February as forecast a couple of days ahead. The larger boat, which we'd been on before, was full (couple in front of us were last to get on it) so we were sent to a smaller boat. This was OK but rather cramped and very low in the water which meant getting badly splashed (not good for cameras etc.). No real commentary on this boat, unlike the larger one which has a PA system. Crew were OK but not as good as they guy on the other boat who gave an interesting talk on the way there and back, and pointed out things about the seals themselves. We'd heard it before so not an issue, but others would have missed out. Enjoyable trip overall, and the seals were great, doing their bit basking in the winter sun, but it was spoilt by the 'captain' (John Bean?) smoking and chucking his cigarette butts into the water. Hot ash just missed my wife's face and some went on her coat. We need to protect our oceans and not pollute them, even with fag ends. A guy who makes his living from the sea should know better. They missed out on a tip in the crew bucket due to this!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank g0akc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really nice trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Obvoulsy there is a risk involved regarding the weather but the guys and the trip are brilliant. You get up close to the (pretty lazy) seals and a pleasant commentry throughout. Almost as lovely as seeing the seals is seeing the landscape and birdlife. A trip for everybody from nature lovers and photographers to families and couples. Just check the weather forecast.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank robertBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Really good trip loved seeing the seals and the journey is very easy to make only negative is the expensive parking but thats down to the National Trust.Not cheap but very enjoyable

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beans Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Beans Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing