We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff couldnt do enough for us”
Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

...including fashioning a dog lead when we lost ours. We had a super newly refurbished room overlooking the garden. Very well appointed - including a hairdryer that could be plugged in near a mirror - you wouldnt believe how many hotels don't. Super towels and towels for use by the pool. Good steam room and sauna too. A slow draining basin was fixed within hours. Lovely Boat room lounge and Look out lounge and bar too. Guinea fowl a treat, haddock and sea bass main courses a delight, excellent savory tart as a starter. Interesting cheeses. Good wine - Chilean and French - so good we had both wines on 2 nights. Carmenere grape a particular favourite with this group. Dessert wine by the glass much appreciated - as was the Manhattan cocktail. Wonderful kippers at breakfast - not coloured and lightly smoked - delicious. Excellent bircher muesli too. Gluten free toast at breakfast much appreciated. As was the additional butter !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We recently returned to theBlakeney Hotel for the first time for 2 years.Nothing has changed! The location is absolutely terrific, and the quality of service was exceptional. The rooms are well furnished and the staff attentive and helpful. Advice given to us on taking the park and ride into Norwich was tremendous - first time I had been on a double decker bus in years!
The restaurant is magic. Imaginative food, served without pretension and an extensive, but well priced wine list. And breakfast...........out of this world.
Not the cheapest hotel in Norfolk, but great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Was a bit surprised that we didn't have to book. But there was plenty of room in the Look Out when we arrived. We ordered afternoon tea, which was fabulous when it arrived. Sandwich fillings with standard fillings, but fresh and tasty, amazing scones and wonderful cakes. We couldn't decide who would have which, so we cut them all into portions so we could try everyone. Was a lovely afternoon and would recommend to anyone who fancy's a treat. We even stayed for a Cocktail in the bar afterwards (also fabulous).

Room Tip: Ask to sit in the Look Out, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigger73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel enjoys a first rate position on the south side of the marshes and it is well worth paying the extra cost for a room at the front, The food is good and the staff look after you well. Car parking can be a bit of a problem in the busy times as the spaces are limited.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are the best and floor 2 has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 435brian_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The most beautiful setting right on the estuary, full of character and charm with wonderful views of the tide coming and going, the boats and the sun rise and sunsets. The hotel is as special as it's surroundings with a clean warm pool. spa, steam room and sauna as well as a gym and pretty garden. The food, service, lounges and attention to detail are excellent and the rooms equally charming. We used to go elsewhere for our special occasions but this is our hotel of choice for the last couple of years and for the future. I can recommend the afternoon tea too. Excellent.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. The estuary views are worth the extra if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MimW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had stayed at the Blakeney Hotel before with my family but this was my first visit with just my husband and our first visit for many years.
What can I say about the location? It is just fantastic! Blakeney is probably my favourite spot in the UK and the hotel sits right on the quay side, Perfect!
Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and helpful, it is like arriving in a large family home. The lounges are relaxing and comfortable places to relax and while away the time.
The pool is a decent size and there is a lane roped off for doing lengths. However, we did experience some minor irritation from some badly behaved children who kept swimming underneath us and were trying to destroy the rope divider. There is a steam room and a sauna, which my husband enjoyed, and a whirlpool which could have been a little warmer.
Our room was very pleasant and well equipped. It had two comfy chairs (most hotels only seem to have one), which was lovely. The bathroom was bright, spacious and well equipped. And, joy of joys, the towels were big enough to go round me!!! The only problem with the room was the bed which was very soft. This was solved by the provision of bed boards which made all the difference.
The rate we were on included breakfast and evening meals. The breakfast was delicious. There was plenty of choice of continental items to choose from buffet style, plus there was a good choice of cooked items as well. I had a full English (which included my favourite fried bread instead of the usual hash browns) on both of our two days, whilst my husband had a full English one day and kedgeree for the second day. He was stuffed full after the kedgeree and said it was very good. Our evening meals were also delicious. There was a good amount of choice for all three courses and the food was well presented and appetising. The service was good and unobtrusive.
The hotel is quite expensive but is well worth the money for a special trip. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Returned again for Dinner on a Sunday evening in this lovely dining room. Menu of three courses for £ 29.00 was excellent value along with a reasonably priced wine list. The dining room is large and tables are well spaced about allowing privacy for ones party. Very friendly local serving staff were very efficient adding to the enjoyment of the evening. A mixture of cliental from families with children to older retired people made for a good ambience. We were told they did 102 covers that evening which only confirms it's a must to try on the Norfolk Coast.
.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 205peterp205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
429 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
962 reviews
17.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
940 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range: £144 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing