We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing and refreshing stay”
Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A relaxing and refreshing stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had a very relaxing mid week stay. A+ plus room excellent, although the beds are soft. Bedboards are available for guests who prefer a firmer base. Bed linen of very good quality with plenty of pillows. Warm even temperatures throughout the hotel, including the impressive swimming pool suite. Small well-equipped gym and first class steam room and sauna. Lounges comfortable and with log fires very welcoming Many guests opt for the Look Out on the first floor with its views over the marshes. Some hold their tea parties in this attractive room, others chat or read.

We found the menus offered good seasonal choices and our meals were properly cooked to order. Presentation -on hot dishes- was kept simple, but to our eyes, attractive. The staff from reception to waiting, portering, and cleaning were very professional. In summary: The Blakeney remains a professionally run 4* hotel to which many guests return over the years.Owners, managers and staff are to be congratulated.

Room Tip: Room 4 gave us twin beds and a wonderful view over the marshes from its three windows, although ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    197
    71
    46
    31
See reviews for
215
388
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Have visited The Blakeney Hotel many times for the day and overnight, and this is one of the best hotels along the coast. The interior, staff, service and rooms are exceptional. The veranda room that overlooks the marshes is utterly stunning and is so homely and relaxing. The service is always good and it's really rare to find such a traditional hotel with so much luxury. Will be coming back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Fabulous. Traditional hotel that demonstrates perfection in terms of accommodation (book an a+ room), food, service & location. We keep coming back & were a little surprised at just how many others were here in mid-week late January!

Room Tip: Book a refurbished A+ room - others can be a little tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Parky8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We did not stay at this hotel, but did go in for morning coffee and hot chocolate on a Sunday
The Hotels own web sight describes itself as Luxurious and it certainly gives an air of quality and style. The gentleman at the reception desk, must have been the Manager or someone senior, but was incredible polite, helpful and was as welcoming to the three of us as I am sure he is to someone visiting for a week.
The Hotel facilities seemed high end hotel, certainly the lounge areas looked amazing, deep sofas, large fire place, plenty of nautical pictures and boats throughout.
The drinks we ordered were very good value at £2.40 for a Cafetiere of coffee for one, served with the style you would expect for the quality of the hotel, not the price paid!
Whilst I was ordering our drinks a guest was checking out and made an unsolicited comment that the food was excellent, so that was a good sign. The quality of the hotel and friendliness of the staff, certainly has me looking to see if we can get a room for a value price, but would understand if not, as it appeared quite busy even in January.
Highly recommended stop for drinks, with an upstairs lounge which overlooks the harbour

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
461 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were a party of four for Sunday lunch, we were welcomed with a friendly smile from the polite staff, the restaurant it's self is nice with lovely décor, we had a table by the window over looking the harbour.
The three course Sunday lunch at £21, the starters and desert were lovely, but felt the main was a let down, the meat was very good, but the vegetables were the let down a small terrine for each person with lots of parsnips two very large carrots, and just a few strands of cabbage.
I certainly don't like my carrots to be served at the size they were, and not a lover of parsnips.
You can have your coffee served at your table, or sit in the large room upstairs where you can relax, over looking the harbour and the estuary, the coffee is self service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Arrived for 4 night stay early October 2013
As soon as you walk into the hotel you know you are in for a treat.
Food for breakfast and dinner was excellent.
Staff friendly.
Rooms could not be faulted; clean, spacious and well furnished.
Not a hotel for young children.My opinion.
Most guests are regular and come back year after year. We are certainly coming back early 2014.
J.A.Dargan. - Hertfordshire

Room Tip: Just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We took advantage of a January deal offered by the Blakeney Hotel - unlike last year, it wasn't directly advertised online but a quick call confirmed the offer and our booking. The refurbishment of the hotel is nearly complete - it appears that just the restaurant and a few rooms/corridors remain.

We were pleased to find that the hotel had weathered the storms and flooding well, and the food and service remained excellent. One thing to bear in mind if you're not a regular visitor to north Norfolk is that a lot of local attractions are closed in the winter months, so an off-peak trip is best for quiet, lazy breaks consisting of long lunches, the odd swim and a good book, or walking and bird watching, though access to the point was restricted during our stay for well-publicised reasons.

Our room was large and comfortable - the large bathtub and drop showerhead with a wraparound curtain was the most notable feature.

Our most recent experience reinforced my previous reviews - would highly commend and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiritofthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Property: The Blakeney Hotel
Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing