We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner was a real occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dinner was a real occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a review of the restaurant, not the accommodation. It was our Silver Wedding anniversary, and we wanted to dress up and eat somewhere classy, We were not disappointed. The dining room overlooks the creek and marshes leading to Blakeney Point. It is pleasantly opulent and very comfortable. The staff wore smart clothes and bow ties - all adding to the sense of occasion. My Gravadlax starter was wonderful - far tastier than the smoked salmon in supermarkets. My wife's Chicken Caesar salad was also considered superb - served with a deep fried egg! My main was guinea fowl breast in a gorgeous rich sauce, served with very tasty potato gratin, lovely roasted root veg, and what I think was effectively bread sauce. My wife's duck breast and trimmings were also very enjoyable. Puddings were very pleasant (Banoffee (cold) for me, an excellent raspberry syllabub for the wife). The £29 per head package also included coffee and truffles in the lounge. The service was superb - the staff doing everything they could to give us a great evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    194
    69
    46
    31
See reviews for
213
377
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have never stayed here but pop in for a quick lunch after a good walk along the coastal path. The bar is often busy but the staff are helpful and polite. The food service is quick - we have only ever had sandwiches / chips with a pot of tea and it is always of a good standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Blakeney Hotel and felt so relaxed at the end of our stay. The food was delicious - there was a lovely choice for breakfast and the anticipation of the evening meal was undoubtedly the highlight, flavours melded together for a delicious meal every evening, and there was a great choice.
We used the swimming pool every day at 7.30am, and were impressed with the degree of cleaning which happened each morning.
Our room was very comfortable, with a four-poster bed and very tasteful furnishings.
We found that service was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. There was very much a can do mentality, which is so refreshing in this day and age.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from another totally relaxing break at this wonderful hotel, this place has become a firm favourite to recharge our batteries. Reading some of the comments on here about unhelpful staff really puzzles me as during our 4 stays we have always been made to feel that nothing is too much trouble, service is unobtrusive & of the highest quality.
Great restaurant to relax in at the end of a long day walking or bird watching on the marshes, followed by coffee by the roaring fire in the lounge - bliss!
We thoroughly recommend the Granary rooms if you don't mind a short walk across the car park to the restaurant in the main hotel, rooms here are quiet, with views of the estuary, ours also had a small patio, great spot for an afternoon cuppa!
Already planning when we can next escape!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops stortford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel has the worse staff I have ever met.
The exception are the porter staff who are very friendly.
The deputy manager is extremely rude and when paying £250 per night, this is more than unexpected. We left when our queries were so badly handled and found service ten times better at half the price!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Lyndsey123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

With our two children, 15 and 13, we had a lovely two days in the Blakeney Hotel in February. The refurbished rooms in the Granary were elegant, warm and our beds so comfortable you did not want to leave them. The hotel has a number of lounges from which you can see the tide come in. It has a great pool, sauna and steam room – ideal for entertaining the kids. The food was fantastic and it is a long time since I have seen such a large choice for breakfast. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in rather old fashioned rooms at the back of the hotel, but hard to fault otherwise for pleasant service, good food, smart pool and wonderful location on the quay. Very good breakfast. Rooms are quiet. Viewing lounge with telescope to look out over the marshes. Dogs not allowed in public areas.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowloris1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Property: The Blakeney Hotel
Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing