We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jekyll and Hyde” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Jekyll and Hyde”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I am a part time resident of Blakeney. Have eaten here for many years. So what has gone wrong this year. Sunday lunch carrots so big, why can,t they slice them. Last time, broccoli had yellow tips which to me means past sell by date. At home you would throw them away. Cabbage obviously seen better days. Where were the rolls! gave us a slice of bread whats that all about. The creme anglais oh dear me, was just hot water with flavoring. It is quite clear no one is monitoring the food coming out of the kitchen ( known as the pass). If so they could not care less what they are sending out. Yet just had lunch in the bar midweek smashing fish and chips. What I have seen so far this year the food is average, so does it deserve 3 stars NO. What I find frustrating is that no one from the hotel, if they read Tripadvisor, they are not responding to complaints which they can do so. Does that mean they don,t care what people say. Huge stain on the carpet in the bar paper towels in the toilets I have been to better 2 stars than this. Unable to talk about rooms as not stayed there. So come on management get stuck in and sort things out. Other people I know have complained to the restaurant staff and to the reception we are all of the same impression the hotel just does not care. That,s the impression they give. Will we go back, of course we will. Not the restaurant yet. In the bar Yes. So come on Blakeney Hotel give us feed back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DukeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    187
    68
    42
    31
See reviews for
207
365
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
819 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were staying in Blakeney House and decided to eat at the Blakeney Hotel as my sister in law and her husband had stayed there recently and enjoyed it.
The view from the dining room over the marshes is wonderful we were greeted in a very friendly way. Staff went out of their way to help. They had been worked off their feet over the bank holiday and were happy there were only 60 covers the night we visited rather than the 130 of the evening before. Everyone was smartly dressed.
The hotel felt a little old fashioned but the food was pretty good. We had fresh asparagus with a good sauce and excellent fish soup as starters; roast pork and haddock as the main; and Swiss apple tart and excellent chocolate Marquise for dessert with coffee and truffles in the lounge. We were recommended a New Zealand Viognier which was reasonably priced and not bad at all.
We enjoyed visiting the Blakeney Hotel and would go back if we ever spend several days in the area. The whole meal cost us around £90

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Staying in the village for a casual short break and went into the Blakeney for dinner after a recommendation. After being ignored by several staff and brusquely told to wait a minute by the receptionist, my friend went to ask the restaurant manager for a table. He looked her up and down with a marked look of distaste and said unless we were resident they were full. There were many tables empty. Clearly our money was not good enough for them, (that was how he made us feel), so we got in our E class and V70 and spent our £350 elsewhere. Arrogant and pompous. Had been thinking of booking a long family holiday there before this. Won't be doing that now.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
16 Thank 5NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Having been to the blakeney hotel a number of times for lunch. Found the food to be very average, the vegetables were cooked but the broccoli was out of date and yellow.
The creme anglais was the closes think to yellow water I have ever seen. When I offered to show the chef how to cook creme anglais I was not taken up on the offer.
I think you need to get a new chef or someone to check the food before it enters the restaurant. The service was very good and the restaurant was nicely laid out. This was a very disappointed visit. Plus the restaurant wasn't that busy.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights. We found it hard to fault. Location is excellent and the hotel is clean an well appointed. We had a "category A" room which was large and comfortable ( though I've never grasped the appeal or need for a four poster bed). The hotel restaurant was good. Food was delicious and nicely presented. A mistake was made with my order for main course the first evening but rectified rapidly and graciously without quibble. The staff were polite friendly and smart. We would visit this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Called for a coffee on Easter Sunday, but was very disappointed with the service, we waited over 30 min for 3 latte, 2 cakes and a bottle of water. The waiter was very slow and the latte was ok not served on a saucer not even a biscuit, not what I expected form the class of this hotel.
The couple on the next table were served before us and we were there first.

Was not very happy with the overall experience of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeathDeborah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed three days here in April 2014, very enjoyable and relaxing. We had two rooms, one in the older part of the hotel, recently refurbished and very comfortable. The other room was at the back of the hotel and on the ground floor with easy access direct outside which was ideal for my friend with mobility challenges. The food was excellent at breakfast and dinner. A very good wine list. A friendly bar for a gin and tonic before dinner. Two well furnished lounges to sit in and have coffee. We also enjoyed the swimming pool and found this hotel to be well located for coastal walking. All the staff members were very helpfull and we plan on making a return visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Macleod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Property: The Blakeney Hotel
Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing