We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 20 August 2005

The Blakeney Hotel illustrates much that is very misleading with the hotel rating system. We have stayed in many 4 and even 5 star hotels worldwide that are not as good as this 3 star hotel across the whole spectrum of service, facilities, comfort, food and ambience. A really well run hotel in a unique position overlooking the multitude of activities occuring on or around Blakeney Quay - simple uncomplicated fun such as boating (very safe for young children and can be hired) crabbing, watching the many water fowl and other birds on the nearby conservation water park, crab sandwiches from a quayside caravan and much more including buying tickets for one of the several boat trips to see very close up the many seals on Blakeney Point.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KerryBethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    202
    75
    46
    32
See reviews for
221
407
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2005

We stayed at the Blakeney Hotel in the Grannery Annex which has recently been renovated. I'm loathe to let you in on this secret as everyone will want a room there. The room itself was spacious and decorated in cream and beige, and we had a door leading out to the garden which was lovely and a view over the harbour. The bathroom was very nice even though it lacked space to put my bits and pieces.
Dinner and breakfast was nice, service good but we didn't use the pool as we didn't have enough time.
I recommed going out to see the seals, this was an unexpected, wonderful experience enjoyable for children and adults.
Burnham Overy Staithe, Burnham Thorpe and Holkham all worth a visit.
I would love to go again for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JulieDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2005

Typical old fashioned English hotel. Lovely setting, badly run and very expensive. Paid over £200 for corner suite that was OK with excellent views but the balcony was little more than a flat roof with cheap dirty plastic chairs. Diner was offered till 9pm but at 8.30pm they had stopped serving! The swimming pool was out of order. Could be lovely if it was run properly with proper attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fragrantfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2004

We have stayed at this hotel twice, once during "9/11" and then again last Christmas. Both times we have been made to feel very welcome, in extremely comfortable conditions. Christmas was a real delight, with everything organised just like an old fashioned Yuletide in a country house... carols around the piano ... fancy dress...trips to the panto... gala evening ...sumptious food and plenty of it! We've already booked for next year!

Helpful?
13 Thank war-baby1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 February 2004

We spent a lovely week here last summer (2003). Our room was excellent, spacious and very clean. The staff managed to make us feel special without breathing down our necks, whether it was at reception or in the dining room. My husband often feels uncomfortable when we have the dog in tow but she wasn't a problem for the Blakeney and staff always had a ready smile for her. The leisure facilities are good for those drearier days, our daughter (8) thoroughly enjoyed herself in the pool. The view over the salt marshes at dinner is superb and adds to the enjoyment of the the meal. We would certainly return.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
590 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
874 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Property: The Blakeney Hotel
Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing