We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a fab time...”
Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had a fab time...”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This is a lovely Hotel, beautiful surroundings and lovely spa area. We have stayed here once before in the Granary, this time in the main hotel. The food is top class, and restuarant staff very helpful and friendly. We were the youngest at the hotel by at least 20 years (we are late 30's) but that did not bother us. My only gripe is that we stayed here for two days after our wedding - we had told the hotel when booking it was our honeymoon, and we did not even get a free glass of wine or a box of chocolates or a bunch of flowers in our room, I was very disappointed that the hotel had ignored the fact it was our HONEYMOON. One word of warning if you park under the trees ask for a car cover the birds make a real mess on your car!!! I would give this hotel 90 out of 100. Our bathroom was a bit tired but rest of room lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    196
    70
    46
    31
See reviews for
215
386
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We are frequent visitors to this lovely hotel and there is something magical about the place that draws us back. Food is ok, beds and rooms are comfortable. Try and get refurbished room. Swimming pool and gym very good along with location. Average age is above sixty and not suitable for children which is a plus point for us. However saying that we are taking our grand children there in september to do some crabbing !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We have stayed at the Blakeney Hotel on four occassions over the last few years; twice with our teenage son and twice on our own. It is in a spectacular location right on the edge of the harbour with easy access to walking routes to Cley and Morston Quay. The service is friendly and efficient and the rooms are comfortable, especialy those most recently remodelled and decorated. Some, on the second floor, have balconies facing the salt marshes. Food is good an the DB&B rate is excellent value. WIne list is good and very reasonable.
We look forward to returning many, many times in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

we arrived late afternoon and had the evening meal with our 3 year old. It was soon apparent that our child was not welcome. no high chair was available. no children's menu. She had to sit on my lap and eat part of my meal. The head waiter made it quite clear that the restaurant was not for children. We left the next morning. Perhaps things have changed now but we will never find out as we shall never return

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peterborough1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We were very suprised that in this day and age somewhere in the uk like this has a sign saying "no children in the bar area" another sign says "order food and drink at the bar" if you have kiddies with you think otherwise about this place. Not sure how long places like this will last at the seaside when children are obviously not welcome . We didn't even stay for a drink !

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We booked the Blakeney Hotel for a few days coastal walking, bird watching and relaxation. The hotel came to our attention via The Times offer and how glad we are that the hotel as part of the offer scheme! Perfectly situated on the Quay, enormous room with the requested sea view, and very efficient and friendly staff. We didn't have to use the car until we had to leave Norfolk, (sadly), as the coastal path is easily accessible from the hotel and of course, a trip to see the seals. The restaurant is a smooth operation and food plentiful. Good wine list too. The facilitaties, (pool, spa, sauna) are clean, fresh towels and toiletries in the changing rooms were also appreciated. Worth trying The Moorings restaurant as well on the high street. Blakeney is a charming village and the hotel provides a relaxing, even romantic place to refresh onself. We know will be returning to the Blakeney with our parents.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERGM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Had three splendid days in a delightful location. In our early 50s but the youngest there; seems to be a winter thing because there are young families in the summer. The Staff were excellent and so was the food! Building work did not bother us much but we got a B room for a C tarriff and 10% to cover the inconvenience. Faded elegance but some refurbishment ongoing. Steam, sauna, swim & gym a good feature. Marsh, walking & the bird watching brilliant. Will certainly return for another off-peak break but a tad pricey in the summer. Warning: if you park your car under the trees, request a cover from reception; the birds make a right mess.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardhatharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Property: The Blakeney Hotel
Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing