We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, comfy room, excellent staff - well done!”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in Room 10, which is a suite with a bedroom and separate sitting room. The bedroom has a nice big double bed, and bunk beds for the children, whilst the sitting room is a good size with two sofas, a TV and big coffee table to spread the papers out on.

The bathroom has a decent size bath with a very good shower above it, and has 'White Horse' branded shampoo and shower gel which is a nice touch.

My only criticism is that the floor of the room above has very very creaky floorboards, which really took the shine off the whole stay. The people in the room above had 2 babies and were up a few times in the night, and they woke us up each time because their floor, our ceiling, made a real racket when they moved about. Not just a few little creaks - a real racket. If the hotel owner reads this review - please have the floor sorted, it spoilt an otherwise perfect stay.

The pub and hotel (there isn't much hotel to be honest, its more like a pub with rooms), are lovely - great food, great beer, delicious Suffolk Cider, nice wine, and best of all the staff are very friendly and there are lots of them! We stayed with 2 young children and a between us we have a couple of food intolerances (i.e. gluten-free, that kind of thing); the staff were very understanding, discrete and helpful, which makes staying away from home so much easier - well done and thank you!

Blakeney is a wonderful little village; the north coast is a bit overpriced in places, thanks to the demand from 'down south', but the White Horse is good value for money (it's not cheap mind you, but the excellent service and friendly staff meant I was happy to spend my money). Breakfast was delicious, having the time to read the morning paper a real luxury, evening meals wonderful, bed comfortable, children happy and well fed (the children's meals were excellent - proper food, well done the chef), so all in all a very relaxing break. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I meet - the friendly and helpful staff (and owner) make it really special, I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nearly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The room was comfortable, small (room 2) but as we were out and about all day we didn't need that much space. Staff friendly and attentive, not overbearing.

Room Tip: Excellent base for birdwatching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I stayed in a lovely, beamed twin bedded room (room 6). Pure cotton bed-linen and feather duvets and pillows made sleep blissful. The bathroom was clean and the towels large and spotlessly white. There was only one disadvantage, this room had a high step up into the bathroom (not so easy for my artritic hip!).
The staff were all friendly and helpful whilst remaining unobtrusive.
We were lucky enough to enjoy three excellent meals here during our stay - I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pf442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Everything was just right for a one night stay - friendly service, clean and great food both evening meal and breakfast. My room (8) was small but comfortable and everything worked just fine. Free WiFi (why don't all hotels offer this?). Paid £65 for double room bed & breakfast which was good value. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Room (2) cramped and nothing special given the price - primrose paint and a few prints does not equal "boutique". Other rooms may be better. Array of broken and bent hangers in the ramshackle wardrobe would shame the average student. Strange smell in the hallway..... Shower was broken (Ok - these things happen) but toiletries provided were cheap and not replenished for the second night. Meals (Evening and Breakfast) were excellent and the staff very friendly. Agree with comments about the Breakfast times - 8:30 to 9:30 at the weekend! Overall: Restaurant 5 Hotel 2

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanSaffronWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This hotel offers very comfortable accommodation and excellent service. If you want a relaxing, away from it all, place to stay then this hotel fits the bill. Our room (3) was very comfortable with a large bed and bath. A walk to Cley next the Sea starts from the village quay and the Blakeney Point seal population can be visited by boat from the next village. Cley Marshes are also a must if you want to sea rare birds, such as the avocet. My only slight negative is that the bar/restaurant in the evenings is very quiet (even if full of people) and lacks a little atmosphere. The food and ale , however are very good; break fast was first class with kippers and haddock a great alternative to "the full English". Try the Kings Arms for a livelier evening and conversation with fellow travellers/locals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glawsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed there with my girlfriend just for 2 nights and it was the perfect getaway. The staff are very friendly and the room was lovely. Not too large but big enough, well designed and a really comfy bed. We then ate at the bar in the evening and it was honestly the best meal of my life. The portions were big and absolutely amazing! Couldn't reccommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimRR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
672 reviews
7.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
239 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,372 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
787 reviews
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: 4 High Street, Blakeney NR25 7TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range: £97 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Blakeney Quay on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, The White Horse is a cosy and welcoming pub with characterful accommodation. Ideally situated for walking the North Norfolk Coastal Path and for exploring the coast and surrounding villages. Three rooms, numbers 1, 8 and 9, enjoy views of the coastal marshes and sea beyond. Rooms 2, 3, 6 and 10 look out on to Blakeney's quiet narrow High Street. Room 10, our suite, can sleep up to six people and has a separate living room and its own on-street entrance. Rooms 5 and 7 overlook the courtyard. In your room you'll find tea and coffee-making facilities and a hairdryer as well as fresh towels and toiletries. All of our rooms feature en-suite bathrooms with either a shower and / or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
The White Horse Blakeney, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing