We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We arrived on a cold damp January afternoon. We were met by a most attentive young man who showed us to our room (number 9) where I was pleasantly surprised by the homely comfort. The bathroom had been fairly recently refurbished and had an awesome shower and lovely towel rail with gorgeous fluffy towels. The bed was sooooooo comfy and there were tea and coffee making facilities with charming pretty mugs.
The bar area was modern and tasteful serving some good wine but most importantly - Adnams Broadside! Yum! The food was really excellent and not overly costly. The same attentive young man served us at dinner and was very charming and helpful and coped very well single handedly!
We had a lovely breakfast taken from a fabulous selection of goodies!
The hotel has obviously had some refurbishment since Adnams took it over 3 years ago. From what I could see the only area left to tidy up is the stairs and corridors leading to the rooms, aside from that - all very lovely. Well done! Would absolutely stay there again. Happy Lady.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippablackhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    134
    51
    31
    22
See reviews for
59
264
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

An excellent location in beautiful Blakeney. The dinner was outstandingly good and very reasonably priced. The staff were great - and blimey what a breakfast. It's not a 5 star hotel and that is why we love it. Yes it has the odd shabby bit here and there but for us that adds to the character, relaxed and homely atmosphere. Spotlessly clean and well run.
The only reason we didn't give it a "5" was no wireless and no mobile signal... but do you know what.. is that a bad thing really? People actually talked to each other.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a nice view of the Blakeney Marshes... shower's good too!! Wonderfully comfortable b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Viognier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on the day that Adnams were taking over full ownership. Yes the hotel does require some tlc by Adnams, but at the end of the day it's an old coaching inn, with quirky rooms and creeping floor boards. Our bedroom, 5, was fine and very acceptable and just required some tlc in the ensuite bathroom. The food at the hotel is excellent and the restaurant was nearly full on a cold mid week in January. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and we had a very relaxing break in the fantastic location of Blakeney.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkmayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you can see past the peeling paint and shabby carpets in the communal corridors, you'll find this a comfortable hotel for a really quiet, relaxing break. Unfortunately, first impressions do count and will put many off. I'm sure the owners know the decor needs freshening and will do it when resources permit.
We were very pleased with our room (5) which was large, charming with roof beams. It had a 3 seater sofa making a pleasant living area. Ample tea, coffee, bottled water and good biscuits were provided. The bed linen and towels were very good quality and we slept well.
We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but the food looked great. It is categorically not the case that the cheapest bottle of wine is £22, as stated in another review. I think it was £15. We did have a couple of drinks at the bar and the staff were very courteous. Young, yes but helpful is all that matters.
Breakfast was excellent, we were very happy with it.
No wifi in the room, and limited mobile signal, but this is North Norfolk. There is wifi signal at the bar.
Blakeney itself was quite bleak in the winter, more so because of the effects of the floods. The coastal paths are badly affected, which put paid to the walk we had planned. We did walk by road to Cley and enjoyed a good pub lunch. We also recommend the boat trips to see the seals at Blakeney point.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our son booked this hotel knowing we loved Blakeney. Arrived early knowing we were unable to occupy our room until 2pm, presuming it was being cleaned, there lies a clue to our opinion of this hotel. We had a lovely walk to Cley and back, returning around 2:15pm.The previous review is correct, dirty carpets, not even vacuumed. Dirty bathroom. Tea spillages, could go on but it's depressing as we even booked a second night to extend our break. Had a word with the bar staff/management, no explanation as to why our room was not fit for guests, only apologies. We demanded a full refund which was given. Not in mood to hunt for other accommodation so drove home which luckily is only 1:75hrs away. Needless to say, never again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gullivercook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had an overnight stay here and in all honesty was disappointed, The bar area and dinning areas are both okay but the room that we stayed in was in need of a sort out. Dirty carpet, missing light bulbs and a TV propted up by magazines did not leave a very good impression.

Staff were very courteous and helpful. There were very few people in the bar while we were there. The breakfast next morning was a full English and was very good.

Car parking is fairly limited especially if the pub is busy.

Think the hotel is perhaps relying on its past reputation and the reputation of Blakeney itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We took some friends here for a meal last weekend and were slightly disappointed with the food
and service. The staff were friendly enough, but didn't pay enough attention to detail, and when we asked for Gin and Tonics we were told they'd run out of Gin!!!!

How can a Hotel run out of Gin??

I don't know whether this hostelry has changed hands recently, but it certainly wasn't on par with previous visits!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 103ChrisK103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
613 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,326 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
814 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 4 High Street, Blakeney NR25 7TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Blakeney Quay on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, The White Horse is a cosy and welcoming pub with characterful accommodation. Ideally situated for walking the North Norfolk Coastal Path and for exploring the coast and surrounding villages. Three rooms, numbers 1, 8 and 9, enjoy views of the coastal marshes and sea beyond. Rooms 2, 3, 6 and 10 look out on to Blakeney's quiet narrow High Street. Room 10, our suite, can sleep up to six people and has a separate living room and its own on-street entrance. Rooms 5 and 7 overlook the courtyard. In your room you'll find tea and coffee-making facilities and a hairdryer as well as fresh towels and toiletries. All of our rooms feature en-suite bathrooms with either a shower and / or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
The White Horse Blakeney, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing