We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Norfolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We used to eat here quite often before it was sold to Adnams and it was always super. Unfortunately no more. Met friends for lunch and chose the 'special' of pan friend sea bass at £15.25. It was a very small piece of fish and very dry. It came with a few asparagus spears and some sauté potatoes. This was a very small meal for the price. The serving staff were lovely and I feel sorry for them having to serve up this sort of food at these prices. None of our party were impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    129
    48
    29
    21
See reviews for
53
250
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at The White Horse.We have stayed there several times .Admit we were a little concerned before we visited this time,having read some less than promising recent reviews;yes it does need a little TLC but a team of decorators were arriving when we left on Monday so it is being dealt with.Room clean,nice bedding,lovely towels in bathroom,staff very friendly and helpful,food delicious..we will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked 2nights on a Groupon voucher and at the time of booking the reviews were generally ok.
Couple of days before the trip read the more recent reviews and was seriously considering not going to The White Horse. Decided to telephone the hotel to understand what had happened to generate so many bad reviews. I spoke to a very polite young man who assured me that the reviews did not give a fair view of the hotel. Still with some trepidation decided to keep our reservation in place. On arrival was greeted by a helpful member of staff who showed us to our room. It is true to say the access to the rooms was dark and dreary and a bit grubby but to our surprise the bedroom was clean and spacious requiring just a bit of TLC . The beds were comfortable and the bath room was quite acceptable with a great shower and good quality towels. Nowhere as bad as previous reviews had led us to believe.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights we stayed, the food was superb and the service and surroundings were perfect.
Breakfast was also very good with a good selection on the menu.
We were so glad we decided to ignore the bad reviews.
We understand the bedrooms are shortly to be refurbished and this will make this a perfect place to stay when visiting Blakeney.
Thanks to all of the staff who made our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you have never visited The White Horse Hotel you are missing out on a perfect location for that special break. The hotel has recently been acquired by Adnams and have has been refurbished to a high standard. The food, breakfast and dinner, was wonderful, served by warm, friendly and efficient staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. I can thoroughly recommend staying in Room 1, overlooking the sea and marshes. A delightful spacious room, king size bed and en-suite bathroom. Blakeney itself has had its share of difficulties (as have many locations along the coast) with the floods, storms and extremely high tides, but the good folk of Blakeney are resilient and everything is almost back to normal with only a couple of buildings and the flood banks needing remedial work. Do visit - you won't be disappointed - and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: For a special room with a fabulous view - choose Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed one night on a Groupon voucher which my wife had received as a birthday present. Having read reviews considered cancelling and wished we had.
Some positives: excellent location; friendly and welcoming staff on arrival; good traditional English breakfast and decent choice of other cooked breakfasts but not so good if you want a modern style continental buffet. We had eaten well at lunchtime so didn't try dinner and can't comment on that.
Now the negatives: overall appearance, particularly away from the main public areas, is scruffy and looks unloved. Our bedroom (no..6), reached by an awkward and dingy staircase and corridors, was a strange L-shape, cluttered and in need of a deep clean. It looked as though someone had started a makeover and lost interest half way through. Tiles over the bath looked new as did the shower, but paint was peeling off the wall over the bathroom door and there was mould near the ceiling. Step up to the bathroom is so as high as to be a safety hazard particularly for anyone with reduced mobility. Bedroom itself had attractive pictures on the wall but peeling paint and grime on the rotting window frames and an evil-smelling cupboard in the corner to serve as a wardrobe. Had we not had a three and a half hour journey to get home we would have checked out immediately.
We stayed the previous night in budget hotel (one of a national chain): it was clean, functional and very comfortable. If the White Horse cannot at least match that standard, and currently it falls well short, then it is time to shut down and just focus on food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartM1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have visited the White Horse for dinner on several occasions, and I would thoroughly recommend it, the food has always been superb and we have always enjoyed eating in the main restaurant and bar. Just don't stay the night!

We were given a 'standard double' which not only reeked of stale smoke, but was barely large enough to swing a cat. There was no cupboard, only a few wire coat hangers thrown on a shelf, and the shower kept overflowing. The carpet was grubby and the whole room was dark and dingy, resembling more of a scene out of 'Rising Damp' than a smart bijou gastro pub. For £100 per night, It is just not acceptable in this day and age. When we got home, our clothes stank of smoke.

Downstairs is a different picture with a smart dining room and bar. The pub has just been taken over by the chain Adnams, but having revamped the bar area, they are apparently not prepared to spend any money on the bedrooms. One of the main seating areas was being let out as a 'gallery' so we no longer had access to any comfortable seating.

The White Horse is not cheap, and how they have the audacity to charge for such terrible bedrooms beats me! We will be going back for dinner, but certainly not to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleurmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

As regular visitors to Blakeney over the last 30 years we have used the White Horse on many occasions but have never stayed there. We made an impromptu stop during February half term and were 'lucky' enough to find a room available at £140 for bed and breakfast. Described as a 'grand' room on the telephone we arrived to find a tired, shabby room which had seen better days. The view however was good and as this was a short one night stopover we were reasonably content. Not for long. The room is situated over the bar and so whilst we expected some noise until quite late on, when locals were still making lots of noise at quarter to midnight, so much so that it was impossible to sleep, we decided to approach the staff and ask that it could be quietened down as the guest information book clearly says that the bar is open only until 11,00pm. My wife was met by a very obstructive young woman who informed her that the White Horse was 'a pub first and a hotel second' and that there was nothing she could do. I made a second approach to the same member of staff who was accompanied by a colleague to express my concern at the response only to be met by a complete lack of understanding and a repetition that this was a bar first and a hotel second. Oddly the staff concerned were taking plastic glasses to the customers in order that they could vacate the premises. Having been told that there was a 24 hour licence in force I found it strange that they should feel the need to do this if they were acting within their remit. At this point the staff then accused me of being bullying and aggressive and told me to 'go to bed'. When I repeated my request for a contact for a manager I was told that the pub was run by Adnams and that is as far as I could get. Needless to say we packed our bags and departed in a tired and agitated stay at midnight. I contacted Adnams with regard to this and whilst they were sympathetic on the phone I have since heard nothing from them. The manner in which my wife and I, both headteachers used to dealing with difficult situations calmly and sensitively, was disgraceful. As an aside, the website is wholly misleading in terms of the quality and condition of the accommodation we saw. If you want a relaxing break with reasonable food and polite, friendly, helpful staff avoid this at all costs. This is my first review and the first time in many years of staying in hotels, pubs etc that I have felt the need to write so disparagingly about a place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 4 High Street, Blakeney NR25 7TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Blakeney Quay on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, The White Horse is a cosy and welcoming pub with characterful accommodation. Ideally situated for walking the North Norfolk Coastal Path and for exploring the coast and surrounding villages. Three rooms, numbers 1, 8 and 9, enjoy views of the coastal marshes and sea beyond. Rooms 2, 3, 6 and 10 look out on to Blakeney's quiet narrow High Street. Room 10, our suite, can sleep up to six people and has a separate living room and its own on-street entrance. Rooms 5 and 7 overlook the courtyard. In your room you'll find tea and coffee-making facilities and a hairdryer as well as fresh towels and toiletries. All of our rooms feature en-suite bathrooms with either a shower and / or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
The White Horse Blakeney, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing