We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous meal”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

had a lovely evening meal here, the starter of fresh scallops was one of the best I've had. service was excellent and the mains and desserts did not disappoint. It's a little on the expensive side but you do get what you pay for and the surroundings are very chic

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    129
    48
    29
    21
See reviews for
53
250
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a 3 day break at the White horse Hotel in Blakeney which was great. The food was brilliant ( breakfast is yummy with loads of choice) and the staff could not do enough for you. The location is central with a car park and not even a 60 second walk to the water and the quay. Given the rooms and hotel need a spruce up (especially the garden) everything else made up for it.
They are due a refurb in November and I look forward to seeing them next year for another lovely break.

Room Tip: room 6 twin has a massive bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We take it in turns with the eateries in North Norfolk every weekend! They are the best around and we have had fantastic meals in this restaurant...but alas our last one was disappointing!
It was as if the menu had been adapted for holiday makers and the choices reduced!
Some of the staff were obviously shipped in for the Summer, not many smiled....and appeared cautious! It was a shame and not worth the money this time....but i will put that visit down as a one off...and try again another time!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just enjoyed a lovely weekend at this hotel.We stayed in a superior kingsize room which was very clean with a large bathroom.The shower was interesting to operate but there was plenty of hot water.Breakfast was freshly cooked with lots of choice.We ate here in the evening and both meals were cooked well and staff provided a good service.This hotel is very well situated to enjoy Blakeney Quay and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MedwayCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at The White Horse in Blakeney. I was worried after reading a previous review as we had booked room 3 and I don't like mechanical noise. However, I asked the staff member about the noise of the central heating pump and he assured me it would go off soon - and it did. We did not hear anything from the fan below. It is a lovely room decorated in blue panelling and cream walls with a fabulous bathroom. The staff were all brilliant and so kind and helpful. We ate in the bar restaurant on both nights (very good food; not an extensive menu but fine for 2 nights - the caesar salad is delicious and very generous) and we had some Monkfish saved for us on the Saturday night as we went out to see the seals with Bean's Boats from Morston (highly recommended!) and they found us a bar table rather than in the conservatory which is a fine for breakfast but a bit echoey for the evening. The lady who serves breakfast (very tasty especially the fruit compote) is a really happy and friendly face in the mornings. We went up to the Blakeney Manor Hotel for an evening drink at the outside tables facing the creek. The only thing missing is a bar area just for a drink. Most of the tables are taken up for eating. There was another room but it has a large table in the middle (maybe it is used for functions). An area with a few easy chairs and low tables for a pre or post dinner drink would make this the perfect North Norfolk place to stay. We will be back as the welcome was lovely, food great, room excellent and even the sun shone on us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rose c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenham
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I had a very good overnight stay at the White Horse Hotel with a lovely dinner and very original and tasty breakfast. Off-street parking a bonus and there is a very pleasant garden for al fresco dinning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimboLenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Room 3 very noisy,air con unit and heating pumps.slept about 3 hours all night,complained next morning and was eventually offerd another room,no 9.
This was quieter but as the other room and rest of pub needs a makeover!
We had two evening meals there which where ok but nothing special and no veg or salad supplied.
When we left I thought at the very least they could have offered one free dinner but no.
Very disappointed I have been going to blakeney for over 40 years and stayed at the white horse before,but it was much better then.
We will never be going back there,when I complained I was told they had never had complaints if noise before,I find that very hard to believe!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zzzz111111zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 4 High Street, Blakeney NR25 7TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Blakeney Quay on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, The White Horse is a cosy and welcoming pub with characterful accommodation. Ideally situated for walking the North Norfolk Coastal Path and for exploring the coast and surrounding villages. Three rooms, numbers 1, 8 and 9, enjoy views of the coastal marshes and sea beyond. Rooms 2, 3, 6 and 10 look out on to Blakeney's quiet narrow High Street. Room 10, our suite, can sleep up to six people and has a separate living room and its own on-street entrance. Rooms 5 and 7 overlook the courtyard. In your room you'll find tea and coffee-making facilities and a hairdryer as well as fresh towels and toiletries. All of our rooms feature en-suite bathrooms with either a shower and / or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
The White Horse Blakeney, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing