We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Boat trip to see the seals.

Boat trip on 15th April 2021. Myself and my parter had a fabulous time. The trip was great and well... read more

Reviewed yesterday
abigaillily01
,
Crawley, United Kingdom
via mobile
A Great Trip, followed by a lovely walk to Blakeney

We took a trip with Bishop's on a nice sunny September morning to see the seals and had a fantastic... read more

Reviewed 5 December 2020
simsu66
,
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Read all 221 reviews
  
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
164
37
7
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
37
7
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blakeney quay great trip blakeney point car park recommend this trip other companies open boat collect tickets boat crew boat trip to see their natural habitat visit norfolk national trust lovely walk morston seals company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2020

.Although we have been to this area on holiday several times, we have never taken a boat trip to see the seals. But on a glorious, sunny September afternoon we did. The lady I spoke to on the phone....at 8am on a Sunday morning couldn’t have been more helpful and welcoming, thank you, and we booked in for a 3 pm trip later that same day.
We decided to park at Morston and walk along the Coast Path to Blakeney to collect our tickets. It was a good decision because it was a lovely walk, and we had left enough time to take a walk round Blakeney before walking back.
We had plenty of room on our boat....thanks to safe spacing, it does have its benefits sometimes!!! We were welcomed aboard, , given some basic info re boat safety, and then off we went.
We had our Fox Terrier with us, and I was grateful he was able to come on board too.
The commentary was what made it so interesting and personal, considering he must do this same trip over and over , he talked to us in such an informative but chatty way, this didn’t feel scripted one little bit. It was like he was just a good friend chatting and with a whole world of knowledge , about seals, fish, passing boats, tides, history etc. It was so interesting.
We saw loads of seals, and I just loved the ones in the water , close to the boat, bobbing about , popping their heads up to check us out.
Both sides of the boat had equal opportunities to get great views/ pics as we kept circling and changing angles, so it didn’t matter where you sat.
The time of the trip was about right, we didn’t feel rushed or short changed at all.
So to conclude my review, I’m so glad we used Bishops Boats, I loved the trip, it was well worth the money, I don’t know what the pre Covid price was, and I’m sure they have had to increase seat prices to cover the cost of having to run at half their seating capacity. But I would have willingly paid the £13 even if the boat was full in normal times. It was a superb trip, well worth every penny, and I can highly recommend it. Thank you guys, we loved every minute of our trip yesterday.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour31341911029, Owner at Bishop's Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to give such detailed and fantastic review. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020

We had the choice of several boat trips, really glad we chose this company. They were really good right from booking to the trip itself. Boat crew were friendly and knowledgable. A good hour long trip, well worth the money. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank JennieG185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishopsboats, Owner at Bishop's Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2020

Thanks for the great review and Im glad the whole process was good too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip which we took a couple of weeks ago (my partner, myself and our two youngest – aged 17 and 11). It cost £13 each for an hour and was well worth it. The boats are not running at full capacity – in order to try and maintain distancing on board and you are required to wear a mask (although one family on board – a mother, father and child didn’t). The crew are really knowledgeable, giving commentary along the way and also answering questions. We got really close to loads of seals (both basking on land and splashing around our boat) We all really loved it. TIPS: – you MUST book in advance (and they get booked up quickly – so give them a call) – it was fairly muddy on the walk to the boat so don’t wear good shoes! – if you have a good camera bring it (my mobile phone could not zoom in far enough to get decent shots).

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank Sellest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour31341911029, Owner at Bishop's Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thanks for great review, sorry about the mud, sometimes its the tide covering the path, sometimes its just rain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020

Lovely afternoon sail out to see the seals. Our boat was evenly spaced out which was great during Covid times. The crew were fantastic with their knowledge and we got to do 3-4 loops of seeing the seals. Would definitely recommend and you need to book in advance as can be very popular.

Date of experience: August 2020
2  Thank Chester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishopsboats, Owner at Bishop's Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thanks for a great review. And yes, spacing is because of Covid -19 which is why as you suggest, please book in advance because of limited capaicty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

The boat ride goes from Morston Quay and I bought our tickets from Blakeney at the Quay. Booking essential in the summer months as it fills up quickly and can book several days ahead.
We decided to walk along the National Trust North Norfolk path between Blakeney and Moorston Quay. It was easy walking and took about half an hour. It was a good way of acclimatising to the surroundings.
We had a sunny morning so it was a pleasure to be out on the water. It was a little choppy and we were advised to not sit right at the front of the boat but decided to anyway. Got a bit splashed about two or three times but it was part of the fun.
It’s an open boat so check the weather and bring a waterproof just in case.
The crew of two take you right out to the end of Blakeney Point and within about ten metres of the seals. They were on the sandbank and also bobbing about near the boats.
The guide was helpful and explained the numbers and the species, and answered questions.
It was £13 per person (cash) and well worth it.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank redjim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishopsboats, Owner at Bishop's Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thanks for realy nice and detailed review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews