We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakeney Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A short 3 night stay at this hotel surpassed our expectations. We had known the hotel through dining with people staying there and decided to become residents.

The hotel itself is a bit of a step back in time but that is not a negative for us, in fact it is a plus!! With a large lounge complete with board games and reading materials, provides plenty of space to sit and read in comfy armchairs and sofas.

The bar area, is not overpriced and carries good products (great draught beer!) even if not a vast range. It is a little on the dark side to my taste with seating aimed at those eating more than comfy drinking, but with the lounge just round the corner this is not an issue.

The rooms are ok, reasonably furnished, a little more attention to the bed and I would have made this a full five star location. I suspect that our bed was probably due to be replaced as it was very different to one in another room we used.

The restaurant was for both of us the highlight of our stay. We stayed on a deal basis which included breakfast and dinner. The set three course dinner had enough variation and choice to make selection from the al la Carte menu irrelevant. Dishes were beautifully conceived, cooked and served, accompanied by a generous serving of a variety of vegetables.

Breakfast menu was again broad and used good products.

Would we stay again? Certainly!! Looking at dates for Spring!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We just stayed at the Blakeney manor for two nights and were very pleased with the accommodation, staff and food. We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms and it was warm, quiet, clean and comfortable. Dated perhaps, but if you're looking for modern then maybe you should not be going to Blakeney. The evening meal, given that we were paying less than the price of a single dish in a pub ,for 3 courses, with silver service, in a proper dining room, was very good. The lounge was comfortable with big comfy arm-chairs and sofas, a haven from the autumn weather outside. We already looking foward to our next stay.

Room Tip: A courtyrad room will be quiter than one in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3nj1b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Returned recently from our fourth and yet another very enjoyable, 3 night - Blakeney Manor Break (since 2009). On this occasion stayed in room 17 - Estuary View. A very spacious and comfortable double room with plenty of hanging and drawer space, well stocked (replenished each day) with coffee, tea, milk and biscuits. With an en-suite bathroom at least twice the size expected from a corporate, stereo chain type hotel, having a full size bath and powerful shower.
The Blakeney Manor Hotel is exactly as advertised, a converted 17th Century Manor House and Outbuildings which is very much in tone with the surrounding area, a very rural coastal community. In our opinion this just adds to it's charm and ambiance.
Service received has always been efficient, Breakfast orders are taken and served directly to your table. The full 'Manor Breakfast' certainly sets you up for your day out and about North Norfolk's many and varied attractions. The Dinner menu is changed daily and the food served each evening has been plentiful most enjoyable. We will certainly be returning to the Blakeney Manor next time we visit North Norfolk.

Room Tip: Virtually all rooms are ground level and separate from Reception/Restaurant/Bar/Lounge (located in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Where to start!!!! Avoid this hotel.

We arrived on Friday and our room wasn’t ready. In the lounge area we could help ourselves to coffee which tasted as if it had been there for several hours.
Our room (number 6) was over the kitchen area (booked at last minute, only room left) and next to the staff accommodation. I decided to have a snooze after the long journey, and before going out for dinner. This proved to be impossible as the staff in the room next door decided to play loud music – very loud!! They did turn it down after if went to reception but was told if they did it again to “go and bang on the door”.
The toilet and bath need a good clean. Dirt, grim dust everywhere – manager agreed.
First night there was no sleep because of the constant humming from the kitchen plus the bed was extremely hard, worn and uncomfortable. The building is old and floors slope – fine but the bed had been wedged up at one end making it into a v shape in the middle. We got up feeling unrested and irritable, and went down to breakfast. No problem with food but the milk jug – let’s just say a health risk to use milk from the jug it was so dirty we sent it back (the waitress agreed it needed a good cleaning). The evening was saved by going to a Jools Holland event at the nearby Holkham House
Sunday morning we mentioned the bed problem at reception and asked if there was any way it could be levelled so we didn't have to lay in a dip. All smiles and yes they would look at it. Got back in the afternoon and got ready to meet friends for dinner (also staying at the hotel). While we were waiting I ordered a glass of wine. The glass had lipstick and other dirt on the glass. This was changed when I pointed it out but took 3 attempts to find a clean glass. The food was okay. Carrots over cooked, cauliflower undercooked, duck grey not pink. Tiramisu – horrid!! By this point we just wanted to get the last night over and to leave the hotel.
So back to the room and to bed but no, not to be. The bed hadn’t been levelled it had been changed to one so old and worn every spring could be felt and didn’t have any ‘spring’ left in them. So off to reception again. No manager only barstaff who agreed the bed was awful and called the duty manager. Duty manager finally turned up, took one look at the bed and agreed that it wasn’t fit for purpose and that we couldn’t sleep on it. In all fairness to the staff they did their best to rectify the situation and did find a different bed for us, which was an improvement but it did take an hour and we really wanted to get to bed and sleep.
Breakfast the next morning before our meeting with our manager was awful. The cutlery was dirty; no cups on the table, sugar had marks from where something had been standing in it and dirty milk jug again. Service very slow and a member of staff (young, tattoo and hole in ear) wiping his nose on his hand in the middle of the restaurant!
Manager came up to our room and went through everything and could only agree that the room was not fit for guest and was shocked by the dirt around the toilet, as well as the old residue from previous guest. We did get a refund – the weekend was paid in advance as a gift from a friend. The money went back to him. What should have been a relaxing weekend was ruined and we returned home in need of a rest.

There are other things not mentioned above – dogs on furniture, loose carpet exposing gripper rods and the loo roll holder made from a rough piece of wood and screws.
It’s such a shame; the hotel has so much potential but needs attention and a good deep clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I share many of the other comments - this Hotel looks drab and tired and really could do with the owners visiting somewhere like The Lodge at Old Hunstanton to see what can be achieved with a really old Hotel.

The carpets could all do with replacing / cleaning. Room 1 was so creaky and on the slope that it was almost unbelievable.

Breakfasts were of a high quality.

No-one at all hardly used the Bar.

A sad disappointment.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We left after only one night. The tiny room was not clean and smelt, The pillows were soft and very floppy, a huge stain on the carpet, the bath room had a cracked hand basin, stained bath. The milk in small portions for the early morning tea was solid and mouldy. we had to find waiting staff to get served for breakfast. They couldn't even get the morning paper correct(Mail instead of Times) I tripped over the flex of the hoover which was stretched over the entrance hall floor ,about 6 inches above the floor. Not one word of apology, it seemed to be our fault. We found a local B&B. We had planned to stay 4 nights. Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scruff432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent a weekend here recently with 10 other couples. Had a great time - good food and excellent staff. We were a bit noisy and demanding at times but they coped with us very well. Not sure if the other guests liked us very much but we certainly livened up their weekends.
Main hotel dining room and lounges are fine but the bedrooms do need a little updating and maybe de-chintzing, if there is such a word.
Overall a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
437 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
684 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
909 reviews
17.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
956 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney Manor Hotel

Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7ND, England (Formerly Manor Hotel, Blakeney)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blakeney Manor Hotel is a traditional, privately owned hotel based on a 17th century manor house with surrounding grounds and flint barns that have been converted into comfortable and attractive accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing