We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Bridge House B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridge House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Coltishall B&B and Inns
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Bridge House for the second time as we were visiting friends in the area. On this occasion we were in the main house instead of the detached rooms in the garden. The room was well furnished and very clean and had most things you would require. The wi-fi didn't reach there very well though, it was intermittent at times, however, going downstairs to the reception area improved this.
My only problem with the room was its proximity to the road, it was hot and we needed the windows open and the road noise was quite loud. There's nothing anyone can do about this but it did make for restless nights. We were also not keen on having to choose breakfast the day before, I understand the reason for this and it is common practice in many B&Bs but you don't always know what you are going to want the next day. A minor gripe though.

Room Tip: The detached rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Lovely quiet location, the accommodation is out of the main house in lovely big wooden purpose built rooms, all en suite and over looking the immaculately lawned garden. Breakfast is served in the main house, owner is lovely and very polite. Breakfast has to be decided the day before so that they have the right food ready for you, breakfast was good quality local food and well cooked to our liking. Such a beautiful quiet area, perfect for exploring the norfolk broads. Local pubs near by not too expensive and one right by the river with plenty of outside seating. We would love to stay again.

Room Tip: We saw 3 rooms and all were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bridge House B&B. Chris & Colin made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent. We stayed in chalet which was along side the main house. This was modern and spotlessly clean, we enjoyed sitting out on our own private patio area during our stay. We would recommend to friends and would certainly return if we were looking to stay in the area.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently booked this establishment for a 3 night stay for a family occasion, on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor. You will not be disappointed!

Chris and Colin welcomed us personally on our arrival at The Bridge House and shown to our accomodation which was of a high decorative standard and immaculately clean. The comfortable bed ensured we had a good nights sleep, waking to the complimentary tea/coffee making facilities.
The breakfast choice was plentiful, however the full english cooked breakfast was done to perfection, with probably the best tasting bacon & sausages I have had in a long while.

The hosts were only too pleased to help and advise us on the pubs, travel and amenities in Coltishall. The village of Coltishall itself is ideally located with Wroxham, Norwich and Great Yarmouth, all within easy reach.

Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer.
Thanks David & Denise

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CogglesNorfolk, Owner at Bridge House B & B, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us. It would be lovely to see you again should you make the journey south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife, son, granddaughter, and I had a wonderful experience at the Bridge House. The accommodations were lovely and comfortable and the breakfast is top notch. The location is quiet yet within easy reach of the beautiful Norfolk Broads and enchanting English villages throughout the area, as well as a stone's throw and easy bus ride to Norwich. Adding greatly to the pleasure of the stay are the wonderful hosts, Chris and Colin. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CogglesNorfolk, Owner at Bridge House B & B, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We really enjoyed your stay and had a lot of fun with you all. We are so glad that you enjoyed your short stay in the UK and thank you for taking the time and trouble to review Bridge House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I tried to book "on line" for a 5 day stay
for next week . Being in my 70`s and not IT literate, I got it wrong. After several abortive attempts I phoned Bridge House direct. The proprietor (Mr. Colin Piesse) very quickly and patiently identified my difficulty and resolved the problem. Very good first impression. ( Hope the weather has improved for when we arrive!)
NOTE I can`t send this without rating the areas marked in RED on this Tripadviser e-form, so instead , I`m forced to rate the property which I haven`t yet seen?

C Hayward. Gosport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Thank you Colin & Chris for making our stay so memorable and giving us such a warm welcome.
We stayed two nights in the family room on the ground floor which was very large, with two sofas but cosy, warm and immaculately decorated. The bed was very extremely comfortable. The room had tea & coffee making facilities, a lovely ensuite with toiletries provided. Great breakfast in a delightful setting. Loved the porridge, but plenty of other choices. Cosy snug with wood burner and lots of brochures provided on things to do. Bridge House has a large, beautifully maintained garden and off street parking. Colitshall has some great pubs and restaurants, all within walking distance from Bridge House, which makes it the perfect location. Colin & Chris are the perfect hosts, always smiling and are only too happy to do anything for you. We would certainly recommend this delightful B&B to family and friends. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Thank you again for our home away from home.
John & Dianne

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CogglesNorfolk, Owner at Bridge House B & B, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hello John & Dianne

How lovely to hear from you and so glad that you both enjoyed your stay. We loved having you here even though it was for a short time and we hope that the rest of your European holiday was as enjoyable and that your journey back to Melbourne was not too arduous. Perhaps we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
0.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
13.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House B & B

Property: Bridge House B & B
Address: 1 High Street, Coltishall NR12 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bridge House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge House B & B Norfolk/Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing