We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Coltishall
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Rising Sun is a friendly traditional Norfolk Broad's pub that overlooks the beautiful River Bure at Coltishall. Dog Friendly and free 24 hour moorings.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Although we live nearby, we havw always avoided the Sun as we perceived it to be tourist based and all Brake Bros food. We were wrong. The food is mainly home made, the service good, the beer well kept. The place is spotless, tables cleared regularly, floors swept to remove cigarette butts. The owner was present and came round to check on standards ant to talk to one and all. The prices are reasonable. It is not the Ritz, but for a good value meal in very pleasant surroundings this is hard to beat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    116
    60
    22
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for Gluten Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

On a recent boating holiday on the Norfolk Broads we stopped at this lovely pub overlooking the broads in the beautiful village of Coltishall. We sat in the extensive beer garden by the river and had a drink, with our dog sitting under the table, the pub had very thoughtfully provided a range of drinking bowls for canine customers. We decided to eat in the pub, especially when we found out they had an area where dogs were welcome, but my 11 year old daughter has recently been diagnosed with a wheat and gluten intolerance, which can make eating out a bit tricky. Not only did the standard menu have a small selection of dishes listed under a Gluten Free heading, but when I went to order and mentioned one of these dishes, I was given a menu that the chef has gone through by hand and marked all the dishes they could guarantee were gluten free, the staff were really helpful, the kids and dog made very welcome and the food was great, not to mention the wonderful setting! I would highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fihicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not has bad as I thought”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Have wanted to visit this pub for a while but had been put off by some of the reviews I had read. But decided to give it a go. One of my friends who was visiting us had a trace allergy to fish so I phoned first to check if they cooked the chips seperately from fish, they where very help full and assured me that they did. We had a very nice meal the only negative things where my, bubble and squeak was burnt on the outside and the toffee sauce was to much on my waffle would have been better if it was a lot thinner instead of a big lump. The staff where very helpful and friendly. Bit pricey.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
378mh, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit on this occasion. Regarding your comment about the bubble and squeak, traditionally this dish is slightly burnt on the outside. If this is not to your taste, please feel free to notify the staff when ordering and we will try our upmost to fulfil your wishes.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you, The Rising Sun Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will not return....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Having had many happy memories of this place as a child took my best friend sister and son here today for tea after a bit of kayaking on the broads, the barman was abrupt and rude to my sister when ordering, she questioned how hot the chili was ? His reply .... 'Its in the name' she then wanted to replace an item on the menu and was told at first she couldn't do this .... Salad and coleslaw for chips ... Was then told it would be an added charge on top of the 75p you have to pay for any changes to the menu! Do not visit here if u have any food intolerances. She then made an ordering error but was still at the bar getting drinks when she realised her mistake and asked them to change it ... They refused and so she had to add the right order and pay for the extra meal even though no one would eat it she even tried to ask them to cancel the jacket that she had offered herself so she could eat the mistake but was told ' you've paid for it now u might as well have it! Disgusting , there is no way the jacket potato was cooked from scratch in the 10 mins it took to come out , even when I complained at the end to the young manageress there was no offer of my money back for the extra meal or even the jacket she forced us to have and take with us in a takeaway box... How kind:/
Will not return unless staff change or just popping in for a drink
Very disappointing! What a shame

Helpful?
4 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
378mh, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciated all feedback.

We try our upmost to provide a friendly and efficient service and are shocked to hear of your disappointment. We have discussed and taken the appropriate steps.

Unfortunately we were unaware of any food intolerance at the time, please do inform the staff so that we can do our upmost to fulfil your wishes.

We try our hardest to cook every meal as quickly as possible, on this occasion the order had been started and the staff simply explained that the food had already started cooking and immediately the other meal was ordered and paid for with no complaint of the refund of any meals.
As far as we were aware, you were happy to have all five meals and were unaware of any dissatisfaction at the time.

We would like to ensure you that this is not a reflection on the majority of our customers and we hope that this will not prevent you from returning in the future.

Thank you, The Rising Sun Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a great lunch time meal here looking out on to the river. It was extremely busy but the staff still managed to remain friendly and welcoming advising of us of the wait time (40 mins spot on). Food was great and service good. Would recommend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
378mh, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you, The Rising Sun Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

Coltishall, Norfolk
Coltishall, Norfolk
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing