We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”
Review of The King's Head

The King's Head
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Ate there 13th August, Food well presented and very tasty. Home made fresh bread and complimentary soup followed by a chicken main course was enjoyed by all 4 members of my party.
Well recommended

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    85
    34
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited the Kings Head on Friday 8th Aug and were absolutely delighted with the food and the service. As new visitors to the area we were not sure which restaurant to use. Our first two choices were booked and so The Kings Head was a third choice. When we arrived we thought we had made a huge mistake. The tables were not laid well, no tablecloths or placements and paper napkins, giving us a sense of foreboding. The staff were incredibly friendly however and the service fantastic. The food was absolutely amazing. There were 7 of us eating including 3 children and every single meal was a delight. The dining room appearance did not do the food justice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply the best,”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife & I have just celebrated our 39 wedding anniversary on the 19th July. We went to our favourite place to eat the Kings Head in Coltishall. What a superb meal it was too not only the starters & main course, we also were treated to some fine tasters in between courses. Not only is the food to die for but the staff are so friendly & helpful. One of my best places too eat, thanks to Kevin & Sue & their fine little helpers.
Neil & Madeline Thirtle

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Dining here is a must , as is a reservation. You will not be disappointed food was excellent as was the service. Good selection of starters to suit all palates , main course worth waiting for as all freshly cooked.
Setting for the restaurant is excellent too

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolbrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

my husband 8 year old daughter visited here on sat 26th july in the evening for dinner. Service was very good and food standard very high. We had scallops to start which were very tasty and well presented. main course for me was 2 types of lamb with potato rosti and vegetables. The lamb was gorgeous as were the veg not sure about potato rosti. My husband had the fillet with puff pastry..it was very good. Daughter had fresh fish fingers with chips and green beans..again very good. Desert was a shared Creme Brulee it was large and good although i thought slightly heavy and too cold at bottom of dish. Overall i would not hesitate to visit again if we were near the area as was by far superior to the Recruiting Sargeant in my opinion. Thanks for a very good meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King's Head also viewed

 

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing