We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“simply superb”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

From the second we walked into the hotel we could tell that it was a great choice. The staff are obviously well trained and even though the lady who welcomed us had only been there for 3 days, her service was excellent and it was a lovely friendly welcome. Our room was immaculately presented, incredibly clean and the bed was enormous and very comfortable. We were lucky enough to eat in the restaurant as well. My pigeon starter, game platter and my wifes lemon sole were fantastic. Again the service was superb. I cannot fault this hotel and would recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    97
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
142
546
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Outstanding. You must stay in this hotel. You'll be pleased you did. It oozes charm and beauty. Staff and food couldn't be better. Lake and boat add to the charm. All situated in cute little village. Cant wait to book again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I found The Norfolk Mead Hotel via Secret Escapes and the deal was very good value. 1 nights stay, 1 glass of bubbles each, 2 course dinner and breakfast each. I would recommend you call the hotel direct to ask about any special offers they have.

Our stay from start to finish was lovely. We were there for my Dad's 60th and my partners birthday. We had Crab Apple, Juniper and Mulberry rooms, which we were all very pleased with. The rooms, all unique, have a home from home feel, but have a special touch of luxury and class. The beds get a special note for being very comfortable, with quality sheets. Cleanliness is a given at this hotel.

We wanted a family stay, which included our 2 Yorkshire Terriers and the hotel is pet friendly. There was a charge of £15 for them, but we were happy to pay this, to have the opportunity to have them with us. One point we would like to mention as a recommendation, is it would have been better for us, and our dogs, if the outside area by the room was closed off, so they could have a walk around without us having to keep them on a lead.

It's the little things that I tend to notice in hotels and in the rooms there are a few of these. Such as the fridge with the little glass bottle of proper milk and The White Company toiletries in the bathroom. There was a gift wrapped brownie, which went down well. We also had board games in our room (Crab Tree) and thoroughly enjoyed a game of Twister after dinner :)
If I'm being picky, the paintwork on the skirting board in the bathroom needs a little attention, nothing major, but when the room is so nice, you notice these things.

We had afternoon tea in the lounge in front of the fire, which was delicious. We had a 2 course dinner each and we couldn't recommend the steak, lamb, scallops and pigeon enough. Breakfast, again, was delicious. The food is first class and we loved every morsel, our highest compliments go to Anna.

We stayed on the 30th Dec and we have already booked to go back in April for a longer stay. We are really looking forward to going back to this gem of a boutique hotel. If you're considering staying at The Norfolk Mead, do it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nat8391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

An excellent venue and food, one of the best I've been to on my travels. Good value but I recommend bottles of wine rather than single glasses. Will definitely be visiting again towards the latter of the new year.

Should also mention the service; first class through the whole evening, very attentive and polite.

Everyone should try this place as I'm sure it's one of the best evenings to be had in the county of Norfolk, the menus is definitely large enough for a number of visits and I'm looking forward to trying them all at some stage.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ryansanderson172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at this lovely hotel with family to celebrate hubby 's 60th birthday. The staff were friendly, very accommodating, the rooms were comfortable, very clean and the food was excellent! We will definitely return again:-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shar568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had an extremely relaxing stay, aided by a superb bed and fantastic dining experience. The menu selection was just right - even for my fussy partner!
The staff were highly attentive, polite, funny (thank you, Jarda) and unpretentious which always lifts spirits.
The one gripe we did have was that the room (second floor) was quite chilly but we were provided with a heater which remedied that issue immediately.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Don't go for the second floor if it's mid-winter, you feel the cold and prefer a more spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our 2 night stay was everything the website advertised - and more! I booked the hotel as a surprise weekend away with my husband to celebrate his 40th birthday and I wanted something decadent, relaxed and luxurious - The Norfolk Mead hit the spot completely! The staff were welcoming and attentive throughout our stay ( the blonde lady on reception in particular - as in another review), the hotel and our room was spotless and extremely comfortable, the atmosphere was relaxing and unpretentious, and the real fires were so cosy! We would love to find an excuse to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, ours faced the front with huge sash windows, we looked in other rooms - all ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar_jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
870 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,132 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
738 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing