We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regained its sparkle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Regained its sparkle”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Have stay a number of times at the norfolk mead hotel over the years. Last few years although always pleasant the decor was beginning to get rather dated and worn. We stayed here on Tuesday on a groupon offer and wow what a change. Well done new owners Anna & James. Beautifully redecorated staff fantastic and I might add attentive,offering honey and lemon to drink when I arrived at breakfast will a severe bout of laryngitis! The food superb.Have already rebooked another stay in April. Pls note it doesn't have a fitness centre but I caught the rating for this category and couldn't remove it

Room Tip: Juniper room is at the side of the hotel. Wouldn't be suitable for disabled as it has downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    91
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
130
517
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mildenhall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I booked our stay with secret escapes .we were welcomed by 2 very cheerful and helpful young ladies . we received an upgrade to samphire suite which was amazing . there was a great view of the lawn in front of the hotel my favourite feature was the bath in the bedroom .we had afternoon tea in front of the fire which was lit for us . the tea was excellent . we had a 2 course dinner included in our deal . the dining room was busy but we got cheerful efficient service and the food was very tasty . the duck was cooked just as I asked .breakfast in the morning was good with several cooked options. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel .the staff were lovely and being a small place it was easy to get talking to other guests . we will definitely stay again

Room Tip: we were upgraded to samphire suite which was lovely especially the bath but I think any of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A faultless visit. Staff, Room, Food everything was superb. Can't wait to go back.
Our room had a superb double rain shower. There were chocolates in the room with an excellent selection of teas & caffettiere coffee. The choice for the evening meal was excellent & the breakfast was the best we have ever experienced. Staff so smart, helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room, but I think the standard of any room would be excellent. Grounds are beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Norfolk Mead Hotel booked through Secret Escapes and everything about it was superb! We couldn't have asked for anymore and didn't find fault with anything.

We would definately return and have already recommended the hotel to others.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacon3626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed on the Saturday for a valentine getaway! We were welcomed as soon as we stepped in the gorgeous building. Our room (samphire) was so relaxing. Dinner was fantastic, food presented and cooked to perfection! Well done to the catering staff! The owners have made this a really special place to visit and unwind .All the staff are a credit to them.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

From our arrival, slightly late, a little wet and wind blown, we were made to feel comfortable and welcome at this delightful, intimate retreat.
Our room 'Sorrel' was well appointed, warm and tastefully decorated. Great drench shower and an incredibly comfy bed!
We stayed this valentines night and had the set menu for dinner. Served in a beautifully decorated lounge, the rabbit was rich and creamy and the deep fried black pudding yummy, according to my wife! Despite the romantic occasion we had our 5 yr old daughter in tow and chef rustled up the best chicken goujons and chips I have tasted (couldn't keep my folk out of my daughters plate between mouthfuls of guinea fowl!)
We retired to a cosy snug near the bar area and played board games and drank a very pleasant Malbec while our 5 yr old pestered the waitresses.
The staff make or break a hotel and all we encountered were polite, friendly, attentive and importantly, fun!
A thoroughly enjoyable stay which next time will be longer so that we can take in the stunning surroundings and use the hotel boat for a meander along the Bure.

Room Tip: The sorrel didn't have particularly good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had one night at the Norfolk Mead booked through Secret Escapes. Our huge suite (we were in the summer house) was beautifully decorated, with a very comfortable bed and luxury bathroom. The complimentary brownies and prosecco were lovely.

We had a delightful dinner in the restaurant with good, friendly service from the staff. The food (we had duck and venison for mains) was beautifully cooked by Sam the Sous Chef. Some of the best food I have eaten in Norfolk. Breakfast was also excellent.

Only tiny issue we had was with the electric heaters in the suite which weren't quite an adequate replacement for central heating in the middle of winter. It was tricky to control the overall temp of the suite with four separate electric heaters.

We would highly recommend this excellent boutique hotel for a luxury getaway. Hope to be back to support this fantastic small business in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
782 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
680 reviews
12.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing