We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Food Lovers Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night. The room (Hawthorn) had the wow factor and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. Everywhere was immaculate and the attention to detail was very much appreciated. The tea/coffee facilities in the room were of a very good quality - there was a small fridge at the top of the stairs which housed miniature bottles of fresh milk. We were suitably impressed! The staff and service were excellent. There was a very relaxed vibe everywhere. This is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. We had the most superb evening meal. My husband and I adore food and we could not fault a thing. Even the coffee afterwards was delicious! We were blessed with beautiful weather and drinking a glass of fizz on the balcony was a great start to our stay. We spent a lot of time talking about returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I booked a stay at the Norfolk Mead as a birthday treat for my wife in February. I took advantage of a special offer, having read the reviews and ratings of previous visitors. I can only say that I absolutely agree with the verdict of the majority who rated the hotel very highly.
The location is very convenient for visiting the fine city of Norwich, the Norfolk Broads or even the North Norfolk coast. You can wander through the meadow from the hotel down to the river or take a longer very picturesque walk by the water from the village of Coltishall just down the road.
The hotel itself we understand has been in the hands of the current owners for less than two years and they have transformed the interior décor and furnishings very tastefully. They are also clearly doing everything possible to make their guests feel comfortable and welcome. Every member of staff we met was friendly, our room was extremely comfortable, spacious and clean with a beautiful modern bathroom and the public rooms were relaxing places where you were happy to spend time.
Both the evening dinner and breakfast the following morning were thoughtfully planned, well cooked and served with a smile. Many of the ingredients were homemade or locally sourced with many a touch that made you feel you were staying in an individual hotel, not one of a chain with mass-produced food bought in bulk.
This really is a gem of a place which we would recommend to anyone seeking to escape to the country for a little self-indulgence, not that you need to feel cut off as there is free Wi-Fi throughout. We would certainly not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved this hotel, the whole vibe was warm, friendly and totally accommodating. The staff are fantastic and although quite young, each and every one is confident, professional yet, as stated, very warm and friendly. The breakfasts were amazing and full of locally sourced options. We dined here one evening and also had the Sunday lunch and everybody thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience. The wine list had plenty of options and we thought they were competitively priced. The only slight negative was that when we booked they had no deluxe rooms or suites available and we stayed in 'Damson' a standard room in the eaves. It was a lovely room with a lovely bathroom but would imagine if you were very tall you may have to take greater care in the room with its sloping ceilings. We did feel a little jealous of our fellow guests and their 'special' rooms but when we go back we will organise ourselves better and book early enough to grab one.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 21stcenturygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Located beside the river Bure down a quiet lane beside the local church this Georgian country house is in an ideal location for a quiet break
We went on a travel zoo offer of dinner, room and breakfast and without being nit picking could not find fault with anything

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travellater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hubby and I recently stayed at this hotel, unfortunately only for one night. The hotel and grounds are lovely. We were greeted very warmly and shown up to our room. It did unfortunately overlook the extractors from the kitchen together with some building works. Not sure if the building works were connected to the hotel but there was no noise at all from it over the weekend so didn't bother us. There is a fine mesh screen covering the window so you don't look directly onto the extractors. We did open our window and you could hear them but this wasn't too noisy. We could tell in the morning when the bacon started cooking but that just made us want to get up for breakfast! The room itself was very nice - roomy with a large wardrobe and desk together with tea and coffee making facilities. The shower room was of adequate size although was a little dark . Toiletries provided were nice and the shower was nice and powerful. The bed was huge with big pillows and cushions. We had a dinner bed and breakfast package which was very good value indeed and included a glass of bubbly on arrival which was a nice touch. The ambiance is very good throughout the hotel with nice soft music being played in the bar/lounge area with nice comfy chairs. The hyacinths in the loung and the pots of heather on the tables in the restaurant were probably nice touches when fresh but unfortunately were looking very tired when we were there which was a shame. On the whole we had a very nice luxurious stay - it smacked slightly of Read's Rooms in Faversham which is based on a very similar setup but is equally hospitable.

Room Tip: Perhaps try not to have a room that is overlooking the right hand side of the building when looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have just spent two nights in this lovely Hotel, we booked it through Secret Escapes. On arrival we were given Juniper room which is not actually in the Hotel itself it's to the side, it has it's own front door and is on 2 levels, bathroom and wardrobes downstairs and bedroom upstairs so not ideal for everyone. We asked if we could have a deluxe room in the main hotel, but was advised they were all booked out, we were then offered the honeymoon suite "Chanterelle" which we had to pay an additional fee for.. unlike the previous person's review who actually received a FREE upgrade!! ( disappointing ). But the room was lovely and the food was superb, all the staff are very helpful and friendly so all in all a very good mid week break .

Room Tip: Book room in Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for one night at this lovely hotel using a Grupon voucher from our son. The check in was welcoming and we were given a free upgrade to the Chanterelle suite which was a lovely surprise and much appreciated especially as the weather was good and we could enjoy a drink on the balcony while admiring the view. All the staff were friendly and the service was excellent. The food was delicious and the choice and presentation perfect. I hope we can visit again soon.

Room Tip: The Chanterelle Suite has the benefit of a balcony which is a real bonus if the weather is good. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpguerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
943 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,229 reviews
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,783 reviews
17.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range: £92 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing