We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Fell in love with this place from the moment we pulled into the drive. An idyllic, peaceful hotel with a classy and relaxed atmosphere. As if this wasn't enough, every little detail has been thought of. From delicious locally sourced produce served in the restaurant, to home made brownies left in our room.
We stayed here on a groupon deal, which usually means you receive a basic service in other hotels. However at the Norfolk Mead this was far from the case! Staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating to our needs. I would highly recommend a stay here and feel that the price reflects the level of luxury and personal touches provided. We will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwhiting23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    91
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
130
518
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the room disconnected from the main hotel. We arrived fresh from our wedding reception at about 7pm ready for our dinner reservation at about 7.45. We went into the reception and we're shown to our room by a very outspoken man who showed us around, all looked fine at this point. We changed and went to the bar for a pre dinner drink, and waited to be called through to dinner. We were finally allowed to go through to have our dinner at 8.45, an entire hour after we were due to dine. No apology or offer of drink to pass the time.
We sat in the corner and ordered steaks, mine came in a sauce that was so extremely salty that I had to send it back. We chose not to have 3 courses as the day had been tiring and we felt deflated. On waking the next morning, I went to make a coffee, however there was no fridge and therefore no milk, not even any uht. Then. Went to use the bathroom sink and there was no way we could see to allow the water to drain, no instructions either. Then I used the shower and after 10 minutes the hot water ran out. So we had to shower in ice cold water. Breakfast was nice however but I felt I had to address the points with the front of house,due to not only the £275 I had paid for our stay, but the fact that we weren't looked after. I did not create a massive issue about anything however mentioned my points. I got about £40 off my bill however I felt really let down by my experience at the Mead, and whilst I appreciate that it's been almost a year since out stay, I've written this as I'm currently searching for a hotel for our anniversary stay and found myself on TA.
Note: I also feel the toiletries are not reflective of a hotel of this price. My recommendation for a lovely yet slightly more casual stay is the pigs at Edgefield, or for something the same price but much nicer, Titchwell Manor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend last summer. The hotel is lovely, excellent service, good rooms and lovely gardens, even had a stroll down to the river. It is quiet and peaceful, very tranquil for a perfect escape. The food is amazing, excellent evening meal, the best food we have had in a long time, and not too over priced. Breakfasts good choice of hot or cold and all cooked to order. I have recommend this hotel to many people and I will definitely like to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglia-crs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potters ba
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Saw an offer for night at this Hotel to include Evening Meal and breakfast the following day and what a superb time we had.
The hotel is delightful, full of charm but with a modern twist , the setting is peaceful with the river just a short stroll over the gardens and the food is some of the best I have experienced.
Staff couldn't have done more to welcome us and the added benefit for those with dogs is that there are allocated rooms available at a small charge -fabulous place.

Room Tip: Our room was to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had Mother's Day lunch here and the food was fantastic. The staff are lovely, friendly and really attentive. Could findno fault at all in anything. Now thinking of coming here for our wedding anniversary in July with an overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here March 22nd for one evening as a bolt hole in Norfolk and romantic getaway. It was perfect. We stayed in the Damson room which was lovely. Bed was really lovely, pillows and linen all top notch. There are at least three pubs in easy walking distance so we ventured out for a stroll and then enjoyed an amazing meal back at the Norfolk Mead. Would definitely return for a battery recharge. Quiet, peaceful and great service. The staff were all lovely, can't find fault.

PS I left my phone charger behind, if you could have a look for it that would be great. Damson 22nd March. Thanks

Room Tip: Damson was on 2nd floor and doesn't have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linso1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night last weekend on a Secret Escapes deal of DBB and after we had booked, the hotel emailed asking if we would like to upgrade for £25, if you get this option DO IT! We upgraded to the Mulberry and it was one of the best rooms we have stayed in, it was huge and the bathroom was great. The shower was exceptional. They have paid much attention to detail and added some lovely little touches such as a small fridge on the landing with little bottles of fresh milk so that you can enjoy a decent cup of tea or coffee in your room. (by the way the selection is also good) and a collection of Wellington Boots available for walking in the lovely grounds incase you have forgotten to bring your own and some great quizz type games in the bar and lounge areas for when the weather is grim. The restaurant is definitely worthy of its AA star rating, the dinner menu was not vast but would cater for every taste and the meals we had were superb. Breakfast was also tip top. I must also mention the lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back as soon as possible. Thank you Norfolk Mead for a great stay!

Room Tip: Can recommend The Mullberry
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineloversUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
12.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing