We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning peaceful location, wonderful wedding venue, and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Norfolk Mead Hotel last weekend as we wanted to consider the venue for our wedding next year, and had been told that the new venue would be opened that weekend so we booked from Friday night to Sunday to get a feel of the place and we were both really impressed and have decided this is the place for our wedding.
The food each evening was delectable, the room we stayed in was stunning with a private patio overlooking the wedding venue, and finished to a really high standard, but what impressed us most was the staff. All were so friendly, helpful and enthusiastic, and the owners deserve credit for both the new venue and the whole now finished project they have taken on, and I look forward to seeing them all next year for my wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for one night in the Sloe room. The room was nicely furnished and the bed was so comfy we didnt want to get up. The meal in the restaurant was superb served by very friendly and attentive staff. The hotel is set in lovely grounds that lead down to the river where there is a row boat available to hotel guests. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We visited just before Easter and the hotel was fully booked and very busy at evening meal times....a good sign.
Our room was "Mulberry" which was very comfortable with views towards the river and a very large refitted bathroom with very nice features.
Breakfast was extremely good, with well cooked quality ingredients.The dinner menu provided a reasonably good choice of food. My favourites were the Cromer crab toasties for starters and the roasted Guinea fowl for main course. All food was very professionally presented and was piping hot.
The bar area was really nice, opening out onto a walled courtyard, complete with a large new function suite, purpose built for wedding parties i believe,
The surrounding area is beautiful and the riverside area in Coltishall is a real picture postcard.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden views towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having heard good things about this place I made a spontaneous enquiry over the bank holiday weekend to see if there was any same day availability for afternoon tea (two people). After being asked what kind of time I would prefer, I was booked in for a few hours later. Fast forward to arriving, the hotel is easy to find and is located in picturesque grounds. It's nicely furnished throughout, and all the staff encountered seemed pleasant and welcoming.

Once we took our seats in the lounge our orders for tea or coffee were taken and brought over promptly, both of which tasted excellent (after finishing my first cafetiere I was happy to accept the offer of another). As far as the afternoon tea goes, it all tasted delicious. The smoked salmon, beef and egg sandwiches all had good quality ingredients, the scones were fresh and still warm and the cakes a perfect size.

At a cost of £13.50pp I would consider this offering to be good value. My only slight criticism is that the reception desk was unoccupied upon arrival and when ready to settle the bill. I didn't see a little bell or similar to use which would have been useful (I'm not deducting any points for this as someone did arrive within a couple of minutes).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTallOrder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay here recently. Our room 'Damson' wasn't huge but it was very nicely done and had a great window seat with a view down to the river. We had an evening meal here which was absolutely delicious, as was breakfast the next morning in the sunny dining room.
Before dinner we wandered down to a local pub for a drink next to the river - there are several nice pubs within walking distance.

Room Tip: The window seat in 'Damson' has a lovely view down to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Pros: good standard of furnishings, bed, bathroom etc. female owner very friendly, most staff were friendly, food was decent, building was charming
Cons: male owner tried to tell us when to eat and got sarcastic, combatative, and rude when we didn't agree with the time he allocated to us. We ended up feeling unwelcome and awkward for wanting to eat to our own schedule. The bedroom had a fire exit door that actually led to another guests bathroom, when we went to bed we heard that guest going to the toilet (as in heard all details) and then having a chat with his (we assume) wife as she went to the shower, so sound proofing was poor.
Minor con: The grounds and dock are not really that big or as pleasant as they seem in the photos

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Katherine44h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Wow! My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here in the 'Chanterelle' Suite for a relaxing Easter weekend away from life's hustle and bustle.

We were absolutely delighted with our stay. The incredibly spacious room with luxuriously comfortable bed was exactly what we needed to ensure we relaxed to the maximum.

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and the whole place has a wonderful atmosphere which instantly makes you feel relaxed.

Where do you even begin when describing the food? It really is top notch. Perfection describes my wife and my meals. Breakfast is also just right, a great full English and fresh bread and pastries to boot. It set us up perfectly for the day.

We also had the pleasure of attending a function in the new events centre. WOW! The owners have thought of everything, what a great place to host an event. If we weren't already married, it would definitely be our first choice.

To summarise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was simply faultless.
You will love this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
934 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,766 reviews
17.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range: £92 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing