We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must try here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You must try here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing stay at a beautiful hotel. Room was stunning. Attention to detail is what makes this place so special. Fresh milk available in a fridge on the landing which was wonderful instead of the usual long life stuff.
Food was really at a different level and we are not impressed easily. Staff were attentive but not pushy. We would really recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebird2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    90
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
125
507
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had stayed here a few times under the previous ownership and had no complaints but the new owners have transformed the hotel. Our visit was in early February. Our contact with James when planning our visit was first class. We were allocated Hawthorn, which is extremely nice. Whilst there were building works we did not find this a problem.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who offered to carry our luggage to our room. Throughout our 2 day stay we found all staff first class. Our room was serviced to the highest standard.

Food was excellent - drinks and wine not over expensive.

We also appreciated the fresh milk for our morning tea and coffee. What a pleasure.

The grounds have also been transformed making it a pleasure to take a stroll.

This is a lovely hotel which we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OAP-Mark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having moored at the bottom of the hotel's garden and thoroughly enjoyed a meal in the restaurant on our previous visit we were tempted to try an overnight stay at the Mead, which has been brought back to life superbly by James and Anna. We were not disappointed.
There was a warm welcome on arrival and clear directions on where to find everything.
We found the Rosehip room pleasant and well equipped, with an excellent walk-in shower and views over part of the garden.
Pre-dinner drinks could be enjoyed on the attractive garden terrace - lovely on a warm sunny evening - and, as on our first visit, the meal was excellent and great value at £32 for three courses, with a good choice on offer.
Although the restaurant was full, service was first class.
Breakfast was of the same high standard.
A lot of effort has clearly been made by the relatively new owners to revive this lovely old building set in superb grounds and if they maintain these standards they deserve to do well.

Room Tip: River views are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

stayed for i night very nice place with stunning grounds
beautiful rear gardens the food and service was fantastic
now the second time we had a meal there with friends and wont be the last
would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

James and Anna bought this rather dilapidated building and have turned it into an absolute gem, situated about 15 minutes north of Norwich. All the rooms have been decorated in their own individual style and have superb fittings and accessories. The welcome is warm and friendly, the location is calm and serene, and the food, presented by Executive Chef, Anna Duttson, is superb; much use is made of local produce and the presentation of the dishes is modern and exciting. If you want an hotel in the Norwich area, this is a must!

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the website and, if necessary, speak to the helpful reception staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We visited in June 2014 for a 2 night stay for our wedding anniversary. We were joined by friends for the second night.
We were greeted by friendly staff with a quick book in and show to our room which was on the top floor and called Sloe. Being 6ft 4 tall I am often concerned with head height in an attic room, but this really didn't present any issues. The room was beautifully decorated and dressed with many lovely touches (like the chocolate brownies to greet you!) and the bed was big and very comfortable.
Breakfasts were lovely, but my only comment would be that the toaster was a bit slow for the number of people, but the fresh bread and toasting was very nice. The hotel even managed to fit our friends in at 10am for a quick breakfast as they arrived, even though they had a wedding starting at 11am. It was excellent service indeed.
We ate in the hotel on the second evening and the food was absolutely superb. We all chose different options but were all equally delighted by the taste. Service by the young waitresses was also very good and attentive but not overly so.
All in all a lovely weekend in superb surroundings. Would highly recommend the hotel, and that's how I found it - by its very high previous recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cainyatclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, Surrey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently spent three very enjoyable days at The Norfolk Mead Hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was an absolute delight. I have to say the service was phenomenally good. Lots of nice little touches which made it extremely professional but not in your face.The dinner in the Restaurant was superb and the breakfast next morning was excellent. They have certainly got it right. We are even trying to find an excuse to plan our next visit. Fantastic service and attention to detail by the charming and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Strongly suggest that you book the Restaurant in advance as it is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing