We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a amazing stay cannot wait to return, the staff were so friendly, we had afternoon tea which was lovely, we decided to have dinner also at the hotel the staff was so friendly and helpful , our room was so clean and had everything u need Even a fan for the hot weather. We booked the hotel as it had good trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed

Room Tip: Can't remember the name it has a living room downstairs and own front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANNYHORSLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    91
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
130
518
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Took my mother to The Norfolk Mead today for a birthday lunch accompanied by my husband,son and brother.I had requested a window position which we were given.The service,(albeit there was no one to direct us where to go when we arrived so found our own way) was excellent,and,it was lovely to sit outside to have our drinks on arrival.The food was also excellent.My roast beef was very tender.A very relaxing and enjoyable time was had..........

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gillcevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second two night break at the Norfolk Mead and we were equally delighted as we were last year. We stayed in the Chanterelle suite again as it is such a superb room. The bed is large and very comfortable and the standard of furnishing and attention to detail is wonderful. Most importantly, the staff make the hotel. They are warm, friendly and charming and make you feel so relaxed and at ease. Nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely care about the service they provide. At breakfast we asked for some ice cream to use to administer our daughter's cancer treatment drugs and they couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. Sarah even remembered to ask us the next morning if we needed it again. Brilliant. We're had dinner there during both our stays and it is no understatement to say it is first class. Overall, an exceptional hotel and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Row123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've just enjoyed a thoroughly wonderful one night stay at this beautiful hotel set in glorious grounds stretching down to the river Bure and the boats moored there. We were upgraded to a suite - very comfortable and roomy with a large well equipped bathroom and views over the grounds. Both dinner and breakfast was outstanding. The only slight criticism is that the hotel sign on the road could be more prominent - easy to drive past (we found).

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a poor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger-5177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This Hotel was recommended by someone who has recently visited for an evening meal. When I rang to book a table reservation I asked what the dress code was I.e long trousers for gentlemen etc, I was a bit surprised when the receptionist said there wasn't one, so I asked if shorts for gentlemen was acceptable, she replied 'well we don't mind'. As it was going to be our last evening in Norfolk we thought we'd visit the Hotel the day before. We arrived to a stunning property and we immediately thought restaurant dining cannot possibly allow men to wear shorts for dinner! Anyway we had a lovely waiter Jarda who was extremely friendly and helpful, we had drinks and coffee and cakes - gorgeous. Jarda informed us he he was leaving that day. The next evening we made our way to the Hotel. On arrival we were shown to the bar area for pre dinner drinks and to look at the menu. The Dinner Menu has a fixed priced dinner, which is good value, the wine we ordered was very good value too, water was overpriced (we should have had tap water). The starters were good but not a lot of it. The main courses were very good and cooked and presented very well. Up until this point there was only us and one other table in the restaurant, then It filled up, this unfortunately is where the Hotel let itself down. We ordered desserts, after waiting 15 minutes (the other tables now getting all the attention) we asked the waitress about our desserts, she said they were coming, another 10/15 minutes passed and we asked again, this time to chase them up, she came back to say they were on the way. About 5 minutes later two desserts arrived but the other two were a few minutes behind. All the other tables were being attended to constantly. We felt that these other tables were regulars as we overhear them saying about how the last few times they had been there and eaten and it was clear that the waitresses knew them well. Whilst everyone has their favourite restaurant etc it is down to staff to also give their other clients the same level of service. No Management apology was forthcoming, which for a Hotel of this standard was poor. My Husband mentioned this to James whilst paying the bill. Although we enjoyed the surroundings and the food it is this lack of service which spoils the hardwork. I would recommend this establishment but suggest that Norfolk Mead sorts these things out, it has to be consistent to get the five star award.

Room Tip: My review is based on restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dimcCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our daughter had her wedding at the norfolk mead on 21 June 2014 what a fab day we had,,everything perfect,lovely venue,excellent food and beautiful weather,and then to stay overnight in a lovely room with tasty breakfast in morning.Thankyou James and Anna for making Lindsey and Bens day so special.

Room Tip: We stayed in hawthorn.It was a lovely room everything you need and a balcony overlooking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happisburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Took my elderly mum, neighbour and cousin for afternoon tea following boat trip on the Broads.
As the weather was warm and sunny we had tea in the beautiful garden.
The sandwiches, scones and cakes were yummy, the staff were attentive and the Golden Girls were made to feel very special.
A lovely end to a wonderful day.
As I live locally I will be back with my hubby for dinner!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
12.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing