We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel and attended a wedding reception at the new building in the Walled Garden. We very much enjoyed the hotel, its surroundings and the reception. The service was immaculate and the staff were friendly and attentive. A minor inconvenience was the lack of a closet for our clothes in the room. There were hangers, but no closet. Other than that the room was very modern and cosy. We will come again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    90
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
125
507
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We spent the last couple of nights at the hotel as a short break away. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night but decided that would be extravagant two nights running.
Top things: noise level- very quiet, peaceful; excellent breakfast; great food in restaurant (a little bit pricey). Friendly and attentive staff. Clean and well furnished room with a beautiful river view.

Not so good: the sloping ceilings in the room- my husband is tall and kept hitting his head. I also hit my head in the bathroom a couple of times. The room was quite compact considering the price we were paying.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had our wedding reception here on 26th July and it was a fantastic day. All of our guests said what a lovely venue the Walled Garden was, and it is indeed beautiful as you walk into the gardens and inside the new building. However it was the service which made the day extra special. For example at the wedding breakfast a whole table was served at exactly the same time, and Emily was there when needed, although most things were fully under control! The food was delicious (as we had come to expect from dining at the hotel!) and my husband and I were sorry that we were so busy dancing that we didn’t get to enjoy the food in the evening. My husband was also pleased that there was a projector screen as it allowed him to set up a few nice surprises. We stayed overnight along with some of our guests and we all enjoyed a superb room and breakfast the next morning. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have just arrived back from the most amazing few days at this hotel. We were there to celebrate the wedding of my son and it was all we could have wished for. My lovely new daughter in law has said if she could have imagined her dream wedding this was how it would be. Where do I start. The service,the setting, the dining room, the staff, the amazing rooms and the wedding breakfast. Wow!! We loved it from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The wedding ceremony took place at the church next door so it wasn't far to walk afterwards for the reception. The newly built wedding reception venue at the rear of the hotel has been planned to the finest detail. Cannot recommend it highly enough. I must finally mention Mark. Mark you were the star of the show and gave us so many giggles. Such happy memories. Well done Norfolk Mead. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Samphire or Hawthorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The manager needs a lesson in customer service - we were asked a number of times to move closer to the table so they could service the table behind us. The manager the came along thinking he was helping us by moving the table - really!!! They should have set the tables correctly in the first place. I really do object to the manager thinking he was doing us a favour when in fact they should have got it right in the first place. The food was poor too. I won't be going back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallty, Owner at The Norfolk Mead Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for your review - its always nice to get some of the older members of the public reviewing for the first time!!

Again I would like to put a few facts straight so the public have a better understanding on the day itself.

Firstly - the tables were a little close together - granted (but mainly because the large party next to your table decided to spread out quite considerably!) What I don't understand by your comment is the poor customer service - I was told that a couple of your table had to keep pulling in as the waitress passed so I quickly attempted to resolve the situation by coming to your table to see what I could do - to which you rudely kept talking and totally ignored me (and at one point actually starred at me). I then repeatedly asked if I could move the table away from the other table to help the situation. We then moved the table about a foot and everyone seemed ok. I asked if that was ok for you - and your response was 'well I suppose so'. So if that is bad customer service then your obviously not in the industry - surely that's better than doing nothing at all...? What would you have suggested I did out of interest?

Finally I would like to point out that your final sentence suggests the food and perhaps the service was poor. Why do you;
a) Eat every last drop on all 3 courses
b) Tell the waiting staff at each course that everything is lovely
c) Tip £60.00 on a £240.00 bill for 6 people!

A lesson in manners, honesty, and fairness would be welcomed Kim D .......perhaps..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Accompanied by our dog we recently stayed at the hotel. Set in attractive grounds at the head of the navigable part of the river Bure, with grass down to the river and a private dock, this attractive house has pleasant lounge and bar with access to the delightful walled garden where a wedding annex is situated. The dining room is light and airy and the food really is excellent, though if staying more than 3 nights you may wish the complete menu was changed more often, a slight change was made daily but not enough. Garden needs more seating to enjoy ambience.

The room, Juniper, was the only dog friendly room available, a couple of bowls and packet of chews were provided. Trouble is Juniper is not people friendly, it is accessed from outside which is convenient when staying with a dog, but it is on ground and first floor; on the small ground floor 2 arm chairs, a TV and tea and coffee equipment but the bathroom is there (superb shower) and upstairs is the bedroom, very good bed, and a dressing table, BUT the only hanging space is downstairs under the stairs. In the end we kept all clothes etc downstairs. This room can be joined to another upstairs but heavy feet can cause a problem to Juniper, A bit of redesign needed. Juniper has a courtyard but not secure so dog has to be taken out on lead.

We can recommend Crab Apple a separate cottage, spacious light and airy, very attractive, the addition of a fireplace and stove would make it a wonderful dog friendly accommodation. A couple of extra cottages would be welcome plus fenced area around cottage.

Downside: the owners are very focused on Weddings and on our last night a Thursday a wedding was booked and the Dining Room taken over for the event, hotel residents were displaced to an other dining room which had little atmosphere, and service was exceptionally slow. No apologies were made and no response to a mild complaint - all it takes is a complimentary bottle of wine! Also evidence of an accountant somewhere in management, butter portions were miserable, and fruit salad on morning buffet table was enough for 3 people not 26!

However the hotel is well placed and from the village centre a pleasant walk can be made around the river and broad. Norwich is 15 minutes away and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeglegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just arrived back from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Norfolk Mead. In one word "Fabulous". If you are looking for a short break in a lovely part of the country, you will not go wrong with this hotel. Beautiful setting with a gorgeous walled garden . Food was a very high standard with lots of choices. Rooms were all tastefully decorated, we stayed in Sorrel. Staff were all friendly and helpful, especially David who made us feel very welcome. Will defiantly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing