We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and this place continually improves”
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Back again and this place continually improves”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our 5th or 6th visit here and stayed in our favourite room - the Bath Room - which is private and quiet, with its bath in the bedroom and the bucolic views across the river.

The relaxed ambience, coupled with the lovely decor and historic building, make for an extremely pleasant stay. However, what really makes this place special are the staff - all are absolutely brilliant, friendly and helpful, particularly the manager. We loved the changes currently being made including some fresh new decor and increasing the amount of tables for dining.

Whilst we didn't dine in the hotel on this occasion - we had other plans this time - the cooked breakfast was probably the best we have had at the Bank House, certainly the chef knows what he is doing.

If the Bank House management keep doing what they are doing, we will be back over and over again. We love this place.

Please can you put bathrobes in the Bath Room? :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jben40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    67
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
114
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Management and staff were very friendly and helpful, attentive without being intrusive. We got great advice about scenic routes (driving) and felt very well looked after. The windows were quite drafty but with heavy curtains and a heater in the room it warmed up very quickly. This room is simple in décor but not without charm, the view is out onto the small courtyard in front of the hotel. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided. The walls are quite thin so we could hear people out on the corridor but tired after the day we slept through the night undisturbed. Bathroom was clean with good quality cosmetics, lots of hot water and a power-shower. The breakfast was lovely, two warm options with a self service cold buffet. If the more grandiose rooms had been available I would have gone for them but as was – a very pleasant stay.

NB Prices are higher than the tripadvisor estimates.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was a late booking so tried a bit of negotiation and got (I think) one of the top rooms - The Captain's Room for £140 dinner bed and breakfast. Room was absolutely enormous and the bathroom enormous too (probably could be 2 double and one single room) - fantastic. The bathroom had a great big tub with a great big shower at the end, two armchairs, two sinks and a lovely slate floor - brilliant!

The bedroom was nicely decorated, clean, tea making and free bottled water. A bit quirky too (we like that) as it was built in 18th century. Nice view out on to the quay and river.

Having installed ourselves we went out for the pre-prandial de rigeur beer and stepped into the night in King's Lynn. Old KL (where the hotel is) is very nice indeed and the square (5 minutes away) is good too although the pubs were shall we say not our choice. After a quick beer back to the safety of the hotel and the bar was throbbing with poshed up people dining - great atmosphere.

The hotel appears to have an endless supply of dining rooms and we had a nice table next to the bar. Dinner was great, my only criticism was the steak might have been presented a bit better (it was atop a mound of fries) but the wine (Chilean) was excellent.

Breakfast next day was very good too, nice bacon and sausage and lots of fruity choice too.

Staff clearly trained properly, very helpful, friendly and polite. By the way the location is very peaceful too.

The only real issue I have (and I won't knock a star off) is having my credit card details (inclduing security code) written down on a piece of paper - a bit uneasy about that, hope it does not come back to bite me.

Completely recommend this hotel if staying King's Lynn, splash out and get the Captain's Room you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Try to see if you can get one of the superior rooms, Captain's Room was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C4LWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Bank House is perfect small hotel - nicely designed interiors mixture Georgian architecture and contemporary taste. Our second visit. Nice staff who were quick to help when we needed. Lovely Aubergine coloured dinning room for supper and breakfast.
Fabulous views from Captain's Room and lots of space to add 2 camp beds for the chidlren. No hairy eyeballs at children either.
Very reasonable for this rather posh style of hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie111111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stay at the Bank House every xmas, they have a very nice room called Neil with the river view. Last year they left the room heater off and it was very cold. But so far is a very good hotel, the breakfast is very good.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mika_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a comfortable and very friendly hotel in an excellent location for anyone wanting to spend time in historic King's Lynn. The room was beautifully designed and spotlessly clean with a nice big bathroom and the food and drinks were very good too. I'm surprised that another reviewer has criticised the staff - I thought they were excellent, both friendly and efficient. I definitely hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: They do very reasonable single occupancy rates for their double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozymandias72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

On the river front, near the medieval centre, a short walk. Fine rooms, with all necessary comforts; a range of dining rooms, offering a good dinner and a first class breakfast. Staff friendly; still wondering quite why the Irish edition of Debrett's was there, but then, so many things come by their places by accident or for reasons long lost. An excellent base for exploring north west Norfolk.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
0.2 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,043 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
807 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
278 reviews
12.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Property: Bank House Hotel
Address: Bank House, King's Staithe Square, King's Lynn PE30 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#6 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relaxed atmosphere, contemporary style" Bank House is a unique Grade II * listed 11 bedroom Georgian town house hotel, set on the quay side in the heart of the historic and business areas of King’s Lynn, and a step away from the renowned Corn Exchange theatre and Arts Centre. Recently renovated to bring an eclectic flourish to the building’s Georgian grandeur, Bank House is now King’s Lynn’s most exciting and inviting place to eat, drink and stay. Our stunning bedrooms are each individually decorated and immensely comfortable. We love food at Bank House! Our menu offers modern brasserie food, using top quality fresh ingredients and taking full advantage of the wonderful produce of the area in season. Our elegant Bar, once the bank manager's office, is open all day. Teas, coffees and delicious home made cakes are available throughout the day, with the Bank House tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes served during the afternoon. We have a number of private rooms available for meetings and conferences, private dinners, parties and weddings, large or small, and can tailor our catering to suit your exact requirements and budget. Wi-fi internet is available throughout. Why not visit our older sister, The Rose & Crown, Snettisham? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Kings Lynn
Bank House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing