We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in the old town of Kings Lynn”
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful old building in the old part of Kings Lynn. Our room was at the top of the house and had great views. The hotel is lovely and quirky in layout. Our bedroom was really comfortable with old beams in the roof and a large, very comfortable bed. The staff were always friendly and helpful and willing to sort out any problem. The breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. They have a lovely bar and a restaurant (which can get very busy, though we were there on a bank holiday). We ate in the restaurant twice, having a really good meal the first time - not as good the second (although to be fair we hadn't booked that time, they were packed out and still managed to fit us in). I would certainly recommend this excellent hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christine526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Bank House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The beds were one of the best parts - soft and cozy and gave me a great night's sleep. The room and bathroom were enormous (it was a "larger double" I think) and very clean, the decorations rather sumptuous in a shabby-chic manner. The hotel's location couldn't have been more convenient. The only two drawbacks were that my room was above the bar/restaurant so I heard the music (not all that loudly but still disturbing) until it shut down around 11, and parking was difficult to find. Fortunately the staff did their utmost to help in every way and it all worked out. I didn't ask to change rooms but did ask upon check-out which quieter room I could request on my next visit. Overall, I highly recommend - just maybe request a quiet room for yourself when you book!

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, be sure to request it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJHND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had booked a table and on arrival found the restaurant very busy and quite noisy. Seated at our table the menus were presented. A fairly good choice from burgers to fish but nothing really took my fancy. In all I thought the food to be just OK, nothing special. However, the staff were friendly and efficient. The view from the dining room was lovely and we enjoyed watching the sun go down over the river. Unfortunately the LOUD diners on an adjacent table and the LOUD background music meant we were shouting at each other across our table.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hungry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Called in for a drink and decided to stay for a meal. Lovely bar area nicely decorated with a lovely ambience. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We only had a main course and a bottle of wine, reasonable price, well presented and very good.
Would definately return, live locally so have not stayed here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Definitely not a routine hotel, with the all the benefits and some of the quirky disadvantages that go with that (awkward passages ; no lift etc). The hotel is ideally located for a wander around the stunning centre of King's Lynn. We stayed in the Custom House room, which is spacious and attractive although the lighting in the bathroom is dire for females. Reception isn't always manned, which can be frustrating, but they give you a key to the front door Food is decidedly good. The antipasto at dinner for two to share was outstanding and the mushrooms at breakfast tasted of the fields. Park on the Quay as near as you can to the flood gates, which is free, but be aware the at flood tides it can get wet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a Short little weekend stay here,Lovely Hotel with Loads of History, In Room 11 ,overlooking the River Ouse, cosy room, just enough if you are not bothered ! Tried the Afternoon Tea as well, spot on! Simple and Filling.
Had dined in the restaurant before on a different occasion so I can also recommend it, its pretty good in town if not the Best :)

Will definitely stay again, as I come to visit Lynn every couple of Months, Hats off to the staff good service,great breakfast, housekeepers very attentive as well, and the manager who holds it all together, Michael B.

Thank You.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPeter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My friend and I had a twin-beddded room ("Custom House") for Saturday night. It was excellent - large, with comfy beds, big wardrobe, all the facilities you would expect, and with an enormous en suite.

When we arrived at the hotel at 12.30pm we were given a very warm welcome, and that warmth, courtesy and efficiency continued to be shown to us by all the hotel staff throughout our stay.

Dinner was very good brasserie fare, and breakfast was very good indeed. Service at both meals was excellent.

For bed, breakfast, pre-dinner bar drinks , and dinner with a bottle of wine, we paid £87 each, which we thought was a bargain. Oh, and our Sunday newspapers (we both had copies of The Observer, which cost £2.70 each) were thrown in for free!

An excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Our twin-bedded room , "Custom House" was very quiet and it even gives you a view of the w...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avril p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.2 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
760 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
277 reviews
6.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Address: Bank House, King's Staithe Square, King's Lynn PE30 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#6 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £114 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relaxed atmosphere, contemporary style" Bank House is a unique Grade II * listed 11 bedroom Georgian town house hotel, set on the quay side in the heart of the historic and business areas of King’s Lynn, and a step away from the renowned Corn Exchange theatre and Arts Centre. Recently renovated to bring an eclectic flourish to the building’s Georgian grandeur, Bank House is now King’s Lynn’s most exciting and inviting place to eat, drink and stay. Our stunning bedrooms are each individually decorated and immensely comfortable. We love food at Bank House! Our menu offers modern brasserie food, using top quality fresh ingredients and taking full advantage of the wonderful produce of the area in season. Our elegant Bar, once the bank manager's office, is open all day. Teas, coffees and delicious home made cakes are available throughout the day, with the Bank House tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes served during the afternoon. We have a number of private rooms available for meetings and conferences, private dinners, parties and weddings, large or small, and can tailor our catering to suit your exact requirements and budget. Wi-fi internet is available throughout. Why not visit our older sister, The Rose & Crown, Snettisham? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Kings Lynn
Bank House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing