We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting and good hotel in Kings Lynn.”
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
southshields
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An interesting and good hotel in Kings Lynn.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Kings Lynn and this hotel was contributed a lot to our enjoyment.
The room was good and the meals were all tasty and well cooked - I enjoyed the mixed sweet pepper side dish and the risotto especially.
The hotel is an old building with lots of interesting features and patios for sitting out in to enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: A room looking out over the Great Ouse river would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uptheshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette G, Front Office Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to King's Lynn and your stay in Bank House. The staff work hard to ensure a high quality of service and delicious food at all times and it is lovely to get such positive feedback. We hope you get the opportunity to visit King's Lynn and Bank House Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    67
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
114
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went with family members who have not been before. I have eaten there on many occasions. They were really impressed as I was, with the lovely tasty seasonal food. Service was great. Was able to sit outside after the meal with drinks to take advantage of the warm weather. Can't wait until we eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette G, Front Office Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
We are so pleased you were able to bring family to eat here and that the meal lived up to expectations. The staff work hard to ensure excellent service and great food at all times and really appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What can I say, I was absolutely bowled over with this venue. All the staff were kind and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. I booked 5 days in advance for a family birthday for a terminally ill relative. I was looking for the perfect venue with wheelchair access and a tempting vegetarian menu and I found it. We started with Prosecco Twinkle which was a real treat. There was nine in our group so ordered both lamb and pork roast and they were served to the table with golden roast potatoes on each carving board along with a stack of nine warmed dinner plates. Two of the men in our group were proud carvers and really enjoyed the family experience of carving and serving ourselves at the table. The lovely selection of vegetables was well presented in several serving bowls as was the gravy boats - three of each so we didn't have to wait for vegetables and gravy to be passed up and down the table. Everything was cooked to perfection and everyone agreed that the gravy was delicious, when asked Michael told us it was made the traditional way at the hotel. I had bought in a home made fresh cream birthday cake which they happily stored and served after our dinner. The waitress was collecting our side plates which we hadn't used, I said that they would be okay for our cake but she insisted on bringing another set for our birthday cake. Alongside the cake, we had superb coffee with biscotti served in three cafetieres so within easy reach for top-ups. There was smiles and warmth around the family table, it was such a special day for all of us building wonderful memories. The occasion was enjoyed by all with plenty of photographs taken of the day and the staff offered to take photos for us. Thank you Michael and your wonderful team for making our visit just a perfect day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a beautiful old building in the old part of Kings Lynn. Our room was at the top of the house and had great views. The hotel is lovely and quirky in layout. Our bedroom was really comfortable with old beams in the roof and a large, very comfortable bed. The staff were always friendly and helpful and willing to sort out any problem. The breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. They have a lovely bar and a restaurant (which can get very busy, though we were there on a bank holiday). We ate in the restaurant twice, having a really good meal the first time - not as good the second (although to be fair we hadn't booked that time, they were packed out and still managed to fit us in). I would certainly recommend this excellent hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christine526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The beds were one of the best parts - soft and cozy and gave me a great night's sleep. The room and bathroom were enormous (it was a "larger double" I think) and very clean, the decorations rather sumptuous in a shabby-chic manner. The hotel's location couldn't have been more convenient. The only two drawbacks were that my room was above the bar/restaurant so I heard the music (not all that loudly but still disturbing) until it shut down around 11, and parking was difficult to find. Fortunately the staff did their utmost to help in every way and it all worked out. I didn't ask to change rooms but did ask upon check-out which quieter room I could request on my next visit. Overall, I highly recommend - just maybe request a quiet room for yourself when you book!

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, be sure to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had booked a table and on arrival found the restaurant very busy and quite noisy. Seated at our table the menus were presented. A fairly good choice from burgers to fish but nothing really took my fancy. In all I thought the food to be just OK, nothing special. However, the staff were friendly and efficient. The view from the dining room was lovely and we enjoyed watching the sun go down over the river. Unfortunately the LOUD diners on an adjacent table and the LOUD background music meant we were shouting at each other across our table.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Called in for a drink and decided to stay for a meal. Lovely bar area nicely decorated with a lovely ambience. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We only had a main course and a bottle of wine, reasonable price, well presented and very good.
Would definately return, live locally so have not stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
0.2 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,060 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
287 reviews
14.3 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Property: Bank House Hotel
Address: Bank House, King's Staithe Square, King's Lynn PE30 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#6 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relaxed atmosphere, contemporary style" Bank House is a unique Grade II * listed 11 bedroom Georgian town house hotel, set on the quay side in the heart of the historic and business areas of King’s Lynn, and a step away from the renowned Corn Exchange theatre and Arts Centre. Recently renovated to bring an eclectic flourish to the building’s Georgian grandeur, Bank House is now King’s Lynn’s most exciting and inviting place to eat, drink and stay. Our stunning bedrooms are each individually decorated and immensely comfortable. We love food at Bank House! Our menu offers modern brasserie food, using top quality fresh ingredients and taking full advantage of the wonderful produce of the area in season. Our elegant Bar, once the bank manager's office, is open all day. Teas, coffees and delicious home made cakes are available throughout the day, with the Bank House tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes served during the afternoon. We have a number of private rooms available for meetings and conferences, private dinners, parties and weddings, large or small, and can tailor our catering to suit your exact requirements and budget. Wi-fi internet is available throughout. Why not visit our older sister, The Rose & Crown, Snettisham? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Kings Lynn
Bank House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing