We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Ffolkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ffolkes Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have stayed here twice now and cant complain at all. Nice clean rooms possible a bit dated but not a problem, nice clean bathrooms. I like staying in the detached block, plenty of parking spaces and in my opinion the breakfast is good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrvranas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear mrvranas,

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Many Thanks,

Ffolkes Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    52
    40
    21
    25
See reviews for
56
61
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner and i live in this area and decided to go for a Sunday carvery . We arrived at 1-45 had starters which was ok but the carvery was horrid . The roast potatoes were soggy as was the veg and the Yorkshire pudding . The mash tasted like smash . My wife had two mouthfuls of hers and left it . We didn't have a table check so we did not complain . Defo won't eat here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Anthony S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is much appreciated. I'm saddened that you and your partner did not enjoy your experience. We did over 60 covers on the carvery on Sunday with not a single complaint, so to hear this comes as a surprise. I will look into why your were not meal checked as this it not our usual form of practice, the restaurant manager was on duty that day and was in the restaurant all day. He would have happily of helped should you have needed him.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback,

Kind Regards,
Ffolkes Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these King's Lynn hotels

in the sticks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a ground floor room, clean, basic, great shower with lots of hot water and towels.
The main road is very noisy from early morning making sleep impossible if you have the window open.
Ideal for a short stay we were attending a wedding so it was great to find somewhere that would accomodate a large party. The garden was lovely shame it rained !
Staff extremely helpful and wecoming.
Breakfast great as were the bar meals, typical pub food.
Only complaint dirty cups and wine glasses lipstick stains are not acceptable !
Sandringham up the road , ideally based for touring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you twitto for your review.

Our establishment is very popular for weddings I do hope it was a lovely day.

Unfortunately being quite close to the road sometimes the noise level isn't quite as low as you'd like it if you like to sleep in, this isn't the case every day just occasionally.

I apologise for the slight let-downs on the cups and wine glasses, I will certainly try to find out why to ensure this is avoided in the future.

We hope you will revisit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Easy to find and a warm welcome was a good start to my stay. I was surprised how lovely the restaurant and bar was and although I didn't have an evening meal the menu looked extensive and fairly-priced. The room I was allocated (212) was actually in a separate building and although it looked a little outdated and 'tired' from the outside the inside of the room was very well appointed and very clean. Parking is plentiful and convenient for any room you are allocated. The history of this place is very interesting. It was apparently acquired in 1678 by the Ffolkes family and used to be the stop-off point for the mail route between the Midlands and Norwich and some of the rooms were used as jails overnight for prisoners in transit. It is also said that the place is haunted by a young nanny who threw herself out of an attic bedroom and fell on some iron railings that used to run along the front of the inn. Things have got a lot better since then though!. The hotel staff were very pleasant and most helpful. Breakfast was very good and amazingly quick to arrive following my order. I would have liked to have explored the place a little more than my time allowed but would definitely stay again. Very good value at £50 for the night including breakfast (via 'laterooms').

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have been refurbished so I doubt you'd get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAJCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you KAJCornwall for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! A great piece on the history of our hotel, thank you for that. I'm very pleased to hear we met your exceptions and look forward to doing so again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good Value for money accommodation. Clean Room. Large bathroom and shower. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast nice. Bar meals were lovely and lots of it. Only negative may be the noise from other residents on metal stairways and road noise but a pair of ear plugs can solve this (and they offer those at the reception area if you're a light sleeper!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you Amanda H for you lovely review. I do apologise about the noise of the other residents on the metal stairway, this is something we are aware of and are looking in to at great depth. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Family room - late booking for a Norfolk trip. We got a b & b deal which was good value. The faulty shower was attended to quickly, and although not fixed straight away we were given keys to another room so that we could use that shower. Staff very friendly, and made us feel welcome. The complimentary breakfast was good, and full English set us up for the day. The evening meals seemed a bit pricey, we didn't do the special meal deals on offer, but when the plates arrived they were full , generous proportions and fresh veg (seen being delivered both days) explained the price. We found this a convenient touring base, and we would return, the main building is an old coaching inn (I think) and the accommodation block is a more recent addition, rooms clean and adequate ,
there is a busy road within earshot, so may not be the choice for some.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind review - we pride our selves on cooking home made meals and giving hearty portions! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a comfortable relaxed stay here. The room was quite small though and the furniture in the room looked like it had been taken from the 1970s. The food was very good and generous portions. Some staff could perhaps have made more effort to be friendly. On balance we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FfolkesArmsHotel, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and I can only apologise for this. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and I will be addressing the staff regarding their customer service. With regards to the décor of our rooms, I guess you can put it down to taste. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
7.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ffolkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ffolkes Hotel

Property: The Ffolkes Hotel
Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE31 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ffolkes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ffolkes has been lovingly refitted and refurbished with a £2m investment. Think Poldark, think pewter, copper, Hessian, leather, soft velvet, and rustic wood. We have taken down barriers and let in the light to create a comfortable open space with nooks and crannies to suit even the most discerning of travellers. We currently have 6 double bedrooms available to book, with a further 18 bedrooms due late July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ffolkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ffolkes Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing