We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must book if you want to eat here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We failed to book for lunch so only discovered on arrival that 'lunch ends at 1.45pm' - and this on a Sunday! So make sure you call them and confirm your arrival time. Disappointed with lack of lunch we walked round the associated herb gardens - a delight and well maintained, but curiously very little for sale, and what was for sale not top quality. A strange place, as others have noted, with some weaknesses.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank 295horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Front Office Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit. I am sorry you find it “strange” that by mid-afternoon when you arrived, we were unable to accommodate you for lunch. Whilst the time for last orders is a guideline rather than set in stone, it helps us greatly if people make a reservation and certainly avoids disappointment especially when people want to eat either particularly early or late. I do hope to welcome you back to Congham in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently visited Congham hall, since its new owners and refurbishment. We stayed in one of the newly decorated rooms with views over the herb garden, the most beautiful setting. We had dinner one evening and I had a massage, both were faultless. The meal was outstanding with the most amazing flavours and my massage was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful and left you alone to relax at your own leisure. The setting is so tranquil and relaxing that you forget where you are, it feels like being in your own home, it is so informal. I can't recommend Congham Hall highly enough if you are looking to escape and relax. It is perfectly located for visiting the coast, with the stunning Brancaster just over 30mins away.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are modern with their own patio. The rooms in the house are traditional in décor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Front Office Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us in July. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and that the best parts of your stay were the Food and Spa.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Congham soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Arriving at the hotel is a beautiful site and the grounds and hotel are extremely good. Checking in is slightly strange as its quite hard to see the reception desk (i think this could be in a more prominent position).

The website gives the impression it is quite a modern hotel and to a degree this is correct as they have modernised the ground floor and the new spa area. However my room was quite dated and traditional - there are some modern rooms and you need to request this when booking (a good tip!)

They have some good staff and some very new staff who dont know whats going on at present. I stood waiting for breakfast and 2 staff walked straight by without saying anything - a bit strange - a little acknowledgement would be good i think.

The biggest let down was the food though - all sounds very good but nothing tasted of anything - very bland - best meal was breakfast by far.

The new spa area is great new addition to the hotel - and very organised.

Finally on check out i was charged for tea and coffee delivered in the morning as I was asked whether I wanted this on check in. As they don't do tea and coffee in the room I thought this was part of the package. It is not apparently. and to make matters worse if you ask for tea and coffee during the day to your room this is free of charge. the receptionist response was that it is fresh on a morning - surely its fresh when ever you have it..!

With all the small niggles I do think this hotel can be very good (staff can quickly get the hang of things if well trained) - however the food side of things needs to change and this could take longer.

Room Tip: Request traditional or modern when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fallty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a report about your recent stay with us. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with the food during your stay – something that we usually receive favourable comments about. We do indeed have different styles of bedrooms, those in the main house are traditionally decorated and the new garden bedrooms have a more modern feel, as do the newly refurbished public areas which are contemporary but still classic. We do rely a great deal, on young, inexperienced yet enthusiastic waiting staff but indeed if we are to succeed it is essential that we help them to be more attentive. We are yet to provide tea and coffee making facilities as standard but they are available on request. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife had received a present of an afternoon tea for two, which we booked for whilst we were on holiday in Norfolk. We were immediately impressed by Congham Hall, which is a privately owned hotel, and was presumably once a very large family home.

The hotel is very nicely decorated, in tasteful colours, with a relaxed but "up-market" feel. There are extensive countryside views from the back of the hotel, where the restaurant and spa are situated.

The afternoon tea was wonderful! Plenty of freshly cut sandwiches, cakes, scones with fresh cream and jam, and a nice lemon based dessert with fresh raspberries. We could have the tea where we wanted, and we chose a quiet lounge, with a view across the grounds. We could happily have sat there all afternoon and evening, but alas had to leave to get back to where we were staying, which was some distance away.

All the staff were very friendly and attentive.

We can thoroughly recommend Congham Hall for the afternoon tea, and feel it would be a great venue for a wedding reception (not sure whether they are licensed to perform the ceremony!). We would also love to return, perhaps for a long weekend, in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit for afternoon tea, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable afternoon. I’m pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and attentive; we genuinely do want guests to have a great time. We are indeed licensed for wedding ceremonies and keep an eye out for our autumn breaks which will be published on our website very soon – we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I booked an anniversary weekend visit and chose a room in the main house. It was on the small side, but had a pleasant view to the front. Bathroom was fine, but could have done with more rails for towels. I had to request a tray with kettle etc and it took a bit of time to arrive after prompting. I'm not sure why they couldn't have placed one in the room as most people would want to make use of it sometime.

Breakfast was delicious though coffee could have been better - perhaps use a cafetiere?

We dined at Congham for three nights running - it was hot and we didn't want to drive elsewhere. The menu didn't change much, but we were generally pleased with our choices. The portions were rather small though, and inconsistent, so we never knew whether we should order extra vegetables. We liked the use of herbs in the dishes.

The spa facilities were very good (we didn't have any treatments).

Although a wedding reception was going on when we arrived, this did not affect us as there seemed to be plenty of room. In fact there are lots of pleasant sitting rooms and a good range of books to browse through. The gardens are lovely - we even bought some herbs to take home. The tennis court looked very inviting but we didn't get round to using it. We did however have a good walk from the grounds into the surrounding countryside (map supplied by hotel).

Staff were welcoming and friendly.

We would be happy to visit again - it's a good place for staying put and relaxing, but also a convenient base for visiting north Norfolk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterfly500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I’m sorry that your tea making tray took a while to arrive; we are exploring the options of having facilities in the rooms as standard rather than being on request. I’m pleased to see that you liked the use of the herbs from our garden in the dishes on the menu and that you also bought some to take home; I’m sorry to see that you felt the portion size was inconsistent though. We hope to welcome you back again soon and perhaps you’ll find time for a game of tennis then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is possibly our first review, but having read some other comments, we felt it appropriate to leave a comment or two for others. We stayed in a garden room, which was excellent. The bathroom is modern with a great shower. Ours didn't flood, but even if it had done, we would have thrown down a towel.
The gardens are lovely for a pre dinner drink and, has been mentioned several times, the food highly imaginative and delicious. The pork was really good.
We used the spa the second day we were there and it was lovely and quiet, with only one other couple using it at the time. A nice, relaxing way to finish the day! We would have used the well maintained tennis court too had we stayed an extra day, so maybe next time!
The hotel is in a lovely, quiet location, and a great spot for exploring Sandringham or some of the nearby beaches (less than 10 miles).
We went on from Congham to the Victoria Arms at Holkam. Comparing the two , Congham is better value for money, with larger rooms, the spa, better breakfast, more imaginative dinners, and not forgetting the lovely touch of having our windscreen cleaned each day! Tea and coffee in room would be good. We had tea delivered each day for £6 for two which is a little steep.
Yes, we'll go back! Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in one of our new garden bedrooms and delighted that you felt your stay was ‘value for money’ The Spa is a great addition to the hotel as is the newly refurbished tennis court, which we hope you will get time to use next time and we look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for a number of years now, we have seen many changes over the this time we thought that the could not get better but it has. The recent refurbishments are fist class after it changed into private hands some refurbishments had been completed which turned the hotel from good hotel into an excellent hotel. The latest alterations have been completed to a very high standard. We have just spent three wonderful days at Conham the service and food where exemplary. The staff are all friendly form the Manager to the Housekeeper. If anyone would like a pampered break Conham Hall is the place for you.
Thank you to all.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank SuffolkCountryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent return visit. We are delighted to see that you like the recent improvements. We genuinely do want guests to have a great time and thank you for your kind comments about the staff and service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
4.3 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
946 reviews
10.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
918 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,370 reviews
13.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
892 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congham Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE32 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £133 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Congham Hall Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Congham Hall is a privately owned Georgian manor house situated 20 minutes' drive from the sandy beaches of the North Norfolk coast. A variety of market towns, nature reserves and the Queen's Sandringham Estate are also within a short drive. Each individually designed bedroom is very spacious offering extremely comfortable king sized beds and picturesque views across the estate. The team of award winning chefs create dishes using a wide variety of vegetables and herbs from the estate served in the Orangery restaurant overlooking manicured lawns and glorious parkland. For something a little more informal, indulgent afternoon teas are served in the lounge next to the cosy log fire. Set within 30 acres of wonderful parkland and extensive gardens, Congham Hall also boasts a croquet lawn and tennis courts. Congham Hall's luxurious Secret Garden Spa is where you'll find a stunning 12 metre pool, sauna, steam room, bio-sauna as well as an outside hot tub. You may also choose to unwind with one of the relaxing and rejuvenating beauty and massage treatments which will restore body and mind and leave you feeling completely revived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Congham Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congham Hall Country Hotel
Hotel Congham Hall Country
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing