We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Fantastic place, excellent service with great food. A very nice, cosy and relaxing hotel. We would definitely visit again.
The only downside is that there is no where else to go close by for food or drink, should you so wish. The only local pub is closed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your recent stay with us; we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the excellent service and food we provide at Congham. We are excited to say that we have recently purchased the currently closed ‘local pub’ and hope to open it later this year. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    193
    53
    27
    11
See reviews for
127
422
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas 2013 and it was the most relaxing and enjoyable break we've had for a long time. From the moment we arrived to heading home, the service, food, spa, entertainment and general ambience was first class. I had never been away for Christmas before but Congham Hall made me want to book for 2014 as soon as I got home. This was very much down to the Iittle added extras throughout our stay. For example, buying a new Monopoly set for us to play when we mentioned we would like a game (as theirs was old and missing pieces). Gorgeous presents and stocking for us outside our door on Christmas Day. Washing our windscreen before we left for our journey home. The list goes on.

This beautiful independent hotel and spa has nailed customer service and has raised the bar on what we expect from hotels going forward. Massive thanks to the staff there for making our Christmas really special. We can't recommend Congham Hall highly enough.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurabuller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us at Christmas, we are of course delighted to hear that it was the most relaxing and enjoyable break you have had in a long time. As we’ve mentioned before to other reviewers, we genuinely do want our guests to have a great time and we are so pleased that you appreciated the added extras and attention to detail. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to Congham before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had very relaxing weekend stay with my husband at Congham Hall. The hotel has a lovely private country house feel, the staff are welcoming yet discreet and the food was very good. Our room faced the gardens and was a short walk to the spa, which we didn't use on this occasion but looked very inviting. In a good position, and managed to see quite a lot of the area. We would definitely stay again if in or around Kings Lynn, and have passed the details on to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing weekend with us and that you were very well looked after by the team here. We hope that next time you stay you’ll find time to use the Spa and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved Congham Hall. My friends and I are frequent spa visitors but this was our first trip here. We thoroughly enjoyed it & had some lovely treatments in the spa. The food was also amazing & the rooms comfortable & spotless! Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee190286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your recent stay here with friends. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particularly the Spa and the treatments we offer. We hope to welcome you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just returned from an excellent new year break at CH. Our second time, and just as good as the first. We could not fault it, staying in one of the older rooms which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. One aspect which makes staying at CH a joy is the staff attitude. I jokingly said to one of them that I hoped they were well paid for working until 2 a.m. and back to work again later as normal. The reply was ‘we like it and Nicolas (the owner) is such a nice man to work for’. That attitude was reflected in their care and attention to the guests.
Quite apart from that, the food was excellent – well balanced and well presented and the NYE dinner-dance the icing on the cake. The dance floor is bigger then the usual postage stamp we have had in other hotels and the duo – MollyG – ensured that there was rarely less than about six couples up dancing for the whole evening. The only DJs in sight were those worn by all the gentlemen. So if you do not like discos with self indulgent DJs playing their favourites and ignoring what is happening in front of them, then CH is the place for next NYE.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxyyyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your return visit for New Year’s Eve, we are delighted to hear that it was just as good as your previous stay with us. As we’ve mentioned before, we genuinely do want our guests to have a great time staying with us and I think the same can be said for ‘MollyG’ as they too want guests to have a great time and are looking forward to returning again this New Year. We hope to welcome you back again then if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just had a very relaxing break at Congham Hall in between Christmas and New Year. Our room, Tansy, was beautifully furnished and welcoming, with great views of the garden. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The spa and pool area were well equipped although my only criticism was that there weren't enough loungers for everyone - being the time of year most guests just wanted to read and doze by the pool! I had an excellent massage from Harriet who did her best to un-knot my stressed, tight shoulders - I wished I'd booked one for each day I stayed! The food was excellent too - the menu changed everyday and the chef obviously took a lot of pride in his job. Many dishes were locally sourced - my favourites were the chestnut gnocchi starter and the Loch Duart salmon which were delicious. The breakfasts were also 5 star with plenty of choices. The poached eggs were beautifully cooked and extremely tasty. I would definitely stay again, maybe in the warmer months as the surrounding countryside and coast was very pretty with many choices for local walks and abundant opportunities to spot rare wildlife and birdlife. Thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V30jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your break, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us recently.

We all take a great deal of pride in what we do here and genuinely do want our guests to have a great time and so we really appreciate your very kind comments about the staff, food and service you received. We hope that next time you stay you will have longer to explore the local area and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

other half received a gift voucher for afternoon tea for a birthday present.
We visited during early December. We were greeted at reception by a very pleasant young lady.
who took our voucher and directed us to the lounge. We sat by a very beautifully and tastefully decorated Christmas tree. After about ten minutes another young lady came and took our order. Again very pleasant and friendly. Ten minutes later our afternoon tea arrived. Wow very very impressive display of finger sandwiches and beautifully home crafted cakes. My wife commented that the smoked salmon was the best she had had in many years. Our visit lasted approximately 2 hours.
The house is elegantly decorated in the style of a typical country house as you would expect, all the public areas were spotlessly clean and tidy. This was 2 hours of pure joy. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable afternoon with us. We genuinely do want guests to have a great time and thank you for your kind comments about the staff and service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congham Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE32 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Congham Hall Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Congham Hall is a privately owned Georgian manor house situated 20 minutes' drive from the sandy beaches of the North Norfolk coast. A variety of market towns, nature reserves and the Queen's Sandringham Estate are also within a short drive. Each individually designed bedroom is very spacious offering extremely comfortable king sized beds and picturesque views across the estate. The team of award winning chefs create dishes using a wide variety of vegetables and herbs from the estate served in the Orangery restaurant overlooking manicured lawns and glorious parkland. For something a little more informal, indulgent afternoon teas are served in the lounge next to the cosy log fire. Set within 30 acres of wonderful parkland and extensive gardens, Congham Hall also boasts a croquet lawn and tennis courts. Congham Hall's luxurious Secret Garden Spa is where you'll find a stunning 12 metre pool, sauna, steam room, bio-sauna as well as an outside hot tub. You may also choose to unwind with one of the relaxing and rejuvenating beauty and massage treatments which will restore body and mind and leave you feeling completely revived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Congham Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congham Hall Country Hotel
Hotel Congham Hall Country
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing