We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular Getaway”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having been whisked away by my boyfriend in an attempt to get away from chaotic city life, I found myself in awe of the idyllic setting of Congham Hall. We stayed in one of the garden rooms located behind the main house and without a doubt I was transported to a world of utter bliss. If you are looking to indulge in pure relaxation I'd say look no further as Congham Hall has it down to the tee, from gorgeous grounds to divine dining. And if you really want to cleanse your aura I would thoroughly recommended dappling into the spa facilities where you'll find yourself melting away under gorgeous earthy oils. The staff on every front were unparalleled in catering to our needs making the stay all the more luxurious. All in all after three days I found myself completely rejuvenated, having not touched my phone for the entirety of our stay, (much to my boyfriends surprise)! I shall definitely be making another visit but till then go experience the beauty for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misskumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about your recent stay. We are of course delighted to hear that you had such a fabulous time with us and came away feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We very much hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    200
    57
    28
    11
See reviews for
131
436
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here in a garden room for four nights over Easter and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a beautiful property in delightful grounds with a brand new spa. The rooms are stylish and comfortable, the food is excellent, but the best bit is the friendly, efficient but relaxed service.
We had a nice surprise on Easter Sunday with our breakfast table furnished with easter eggs and a bunny for our little boy....what a lovely touch!
They have acquired the village pub which will be open later this year....yet another reason to make a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmyers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your recent stay with us at Easter. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and in particularly that you appreciated the friendly and efficient service given by the team here and of course the visit from the Easter Bunny. We look forward to welcoming you back to Congham before too long, when you’ll probably be able to take a stroll to our pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed one night for our wedding anniversary ,we had a very warm welcome, and were shown all of the public rooms on our way to our room. These rooms were very well furnished and impeccably clean, as was our garden room ,these are new rooms that have been added to the hotel and are as high a standard as the hotel, we did wonder if we would have to walk outside to get to the dining room,but everything is connected to the hotel. Our room had the most enormous bed both in width and height with lovely egyptian bedlinen. There was a very modern bathroom, with some !ovely bath products to use. There were patio doors leading to the courtyard with some pretty planting.we walked around the herb garden and will definitely go back later to see more of the grounds. The only down side with the room was that the wardrobe was one with two drawers underneath and as such didn't give enough length for my dresses or coat, this was okay for one night but l couldn't have put my clothes away anywhere so would have been difficult for a bit longer stay.
Our dinner was superb with very large portions of well cooked local produce and presented by very well trained staff.the breakfast was delicious also using local ingredients.
Our checkout was done in the same pleasant and efficient way that everything else had been dealt with during our stay. Even down to our car windows being complintmentarly cleaned for us ready for our journey.
A gem of a hotel that we recommend highly and will return to.


L

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent overnight stay with us. We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable time and are looking forward to a return visit. We are aware that a couple of the wardrobes in the garden rooms connected to the hotel won’t allow for any long length garments to be hung and we are trying to find a solution to this. We look forward to welcoming you back to Congham before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Negatives:

No tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom (even in an upgraded room!)
Toilet very difficult to flush
Decor in bedroom needs updating
Wifi connection astonishingly poor. Clearly a known problem as reception had to reboot a few times, even then connection was horrendous. A big negative for anyone wishing to work whilst staying at this hotel
Reception staff not as welcoming as the bar and dining staff
Entire building very warm, almost too warm to sleep comfortably

Positives:

Very comfy bed
Spa and leisure facilities good and very clean
Food excellent
Bar and dining staff very helpful
Beautiful location and setting, very peaceful - feel very relaxed very quickly

Room Tip: We upgraded and the echinacea room was disappointing - no drink facilities, plus the drinks brought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a detailed report of your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to see that you were disappointed with your room even though you had been upgraded. ‘Echinacea’ is a very pretty traditionally decorated room, as are all the bedrooms in the main house. If a more modern feel is what you prefer, then our Garden bedrooms would suit you better. We are pleased to say that the installation of the new room ‘larders’ is now well under way and that most of the Garden Bedrooms now have them fitted and the main house ones will follow shortly. Tea and coffee making are available, free of charge, for those rooms that don’t yet have their larders. WiFi is available in all our bedrooms and throughout the hotel, although we do have a pretty poor speed due to our countryside location. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I took my wife and mother for dinner. Absolutely superb. Great food and a very good wine list. The staff were attentive without being pushy. We live locally and this is by far the best food for miles around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDMxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to us for dinner. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A truly wonderful one night stay at Congham Hall has left us longing for the day we can once again shrug-off child-rearing commitments and escape to this haven in the Norfolk countryside.

Having arrived early and parched we were brought a pot of tea in the lounge (free of charge) and left to admire the beautiful decor. In the hall was a row of Dubarry boots ready to be borrowed by guests for long country walks. Next we retreated to the spa. This is a beautiful, relatively recent, addition to the hotel and it shows. Everything was like a new pin. My husband's back massage was so good he promptly booked another for the following day, claiming to be pain free after an excruciating previous week with a back injury.

We had a garden room. It is really worth investing in the best possible room you can afford here as the garden room we had was exceptionally spacious with an enormous bed, proper room larder and free-standing bath. It looked out onto a courtyard garden one side and herb garden the other and access was available both sides via the front and patio doors. We were able to bring the car up very close to within spitting distance of the room, but still out of sight. The room had its own small terrace and, as the day was warm people were enjoying sitting out on their terraces in the sun.

After a super breakfast the following morning we took a walk, using a short walk guide and map supplied by the hotel and then retreated again to the spa for our second lot of treatments. The pool is gloriously warm and the hot tub again did wonders for the bad back.

This is not a cheap hotel, but frankly, you get what you pay for. We thought the price we paid represented value for money and you wouldn't expect to pay a bargain basement price for this product. The owners seem to have overlooked nothing in establishing their brand, even down to proper leaf tea, some wonderful home-made (I think) cookies in the room larder and a proper carton of milk to make tea with in your room.

All staff were friendly and helpful and, whilst it is undoubtedly up-market, it never gave gave the impression of being too posh for ordinary customers such as us. So far as families are concerned, I don't think it markets itself for the young family market as such, but there were a few, unobtrusive children about, who seemed to be made as welcome as anyone else. I spotted a trampoline, pitch and putt, tennis court and apparently there was a giant jenga somewhere. The biggest downside for young children I think is that the spa limits the hours of use in the pool for them. This appeals to the adult market of course, so if your children love swimming for hours on end there may be other more appropriate hotels for you.

Well done Congham Hall.

Room Tip: Buy the best available, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such detailed review about your recent overnight stay with; it makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your stay as we genuinely do want our guests to have a great time with us. We were particularly delighted to see that you appreciated the new room larder, complete with homemade cookies and fresh milk. We look forward to welcoming you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Perfect country house hotel for striking out to visit the beauty of N Norfolk, especially some of the most gorgeous unspoiled beaches in the country. V pleasant restaurant with plenty of choice and generously proportioned private rooms for afternoon tea, with al fresco option. Superb spa with hot tub looking out onto rolling grounds. Some nice touches such as complimentary windscreen cleaning add to the charm. V good value for money, particularly off peak.

Room Tip: All rooms nicely proportioned. If weather prospects good, worth paying more for room with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us from which we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
868 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,043 reviews
13.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
796 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congham Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE32 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Congham Hall Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Congham Hall is a privately owned Georgian manor house situated 20 minutes' drive from the sandy beaches of the North Norfolk coast. A variety of market towns, nature reserves and the Queen's Sandringham Estate are also within a short drive. Each individually designed bedroom is very spacious offering extremely comfortable king sized beds and picturesque views across the estate. The team of award winning chefs create dishes using a wide variety of vegetables and herbs from the estate served in the Orangery restaurant overlooking manicured lawns and glorious parkland. For something a little more informal, indulgent afternoon teas are served in the lounge next to the cosy log fire. Set within 30 acres of wonderful parkland and extensive gardens, Congham Hall also boasts a croquet lawn and tennis courts. Congham Hall's luxurious Secret Garden Spa is where you'll find a stunning 12 metre pool, sauna, steam room, bio-sauna as well as an outside hot tub. You may also choose to unwind with one of the relaxing and rejuvenating beauty and massage treatments which will restore body and mind and leave you feeling completely revived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Congham Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congham Hall Country Hotel
Hotel Congham Hall Country
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing