We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"sucessfull restoration"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Reviewed 15 March 2013

New owners, complete restoration, Good restaurant. Well the last time we stayed their ( 20 years ago) The owner of my company said it would be his last. BUT hey he wanted to try it again. Now he says " THIS IS THE PLACE FOR ME " every time I come to kings lynn this where I want to stay and this is where I want to eat! Talk about a turn round in attitude?
The rooms were fresh from redecoration very comfatable bed, good en-suite.
The bar and lounge facilities were spacious and comftable, But here is the only quibble that the bar man struggled with the english language.
The A-La-Carte menu was varied and the quality of the food was GOOD,Nice seletion of wines ( That went down very well)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevewilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a lovely review on Trip Advisor of our hotel. We too are very pleased and proud of the refurbishment, and it is always nice to read that our guests think so too.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future where I am sure you will continue to enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

we stay there as a party on an army reunoin.The rooms were big and airier and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food and service were of a high degree and we are all going back this year

Room Tip: just book a room all ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 819TICH819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and I will be sure to pass on this feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Held our annual marketing meeting at the Dukes Head this year and have been so impressed with the service from start to finish.

Booking was easy, food was delicious and service friendly - looking forward to our board meeting later this month.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your great review, it is pleasing to hear your event with us was such a success and that you have booked another one with us!

I will be sure to pass this feedback onto the team and look forward to meeting you during your next visit.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

i had a works do here over the xmas period,the drinks were very over priced, the food was very disapointing,cold and not much of it when we complained they did not do anything just said they were very bussy,will not go back again i would rather go to weatherspoon across the market place, at least you get a better service at a price that you can say is good value, would not recomed this place for a night out/ works do at xmas

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank rockyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us during your works Christmas party. We served over 5000 customers during this period and the majority of feedback has been very good. I am sure you can also see from our recent reviews that food and service is something we have be working very hard on over the course of the last few months and will continue to do so moving forward.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Eight of us went to this hotel to spend a weekend together and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was very clean, welcoming and warm. On this, the coldest day of the year, I was slightly apprehensive, but no, it was toasty warm! The staff are very hardworking in this hotel and it seemed as if they were full to the brim. Well done and thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfishwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you had wonderful time with us and i will be sure to pass on these comments to all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January to celebrate my husbands birthday and had such a good time that we retuned for valentines day/night and again had a lovely room very enjoyable meal and most filling cooked breakfast the following morning.
The staff as last time were very attentive.
Thanks again for a very enjoyable, comfortable stay.
Mr & Mrs Sharp

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hil2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your recent postive review regarding you stay. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself and i will ensure the team are made aware of you wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Excellent weekend at this well managed hotel, well presented comfortable clean room and bathroom, the public areas are cosy and comfortable , friendly happy staff, breakfast choice and quality very good, evening dinner in the restaurant was supurb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for leaving such nice comments, we strive to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful time with us and i will ensure these comments are passed on.

We look forward to seeing you very soon in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
283 reviews
14.3 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
855 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Address: The Duke's Head 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £51 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing