We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel with high quality service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were here for one night only and were just using the hotel as a base but we were impressed at the quality of our double room. Very clean and well appointed room with a good quality bathroom. Without exception all of the staff we met were polite and friendly. We enjoyed a three course meal and wine in the restaurant and were very impressed at the quality of the food and presentation. The hotel is well located for the town and local attractions. There is sparking which was limited due to a wedding but overnight parking in the public square is only £1.00. Hard to fault although a gym would have been nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear P C

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read your comments regarding our staff as it is they who make the real difference to our guest enjoyment. It was also lovely to read your comments about the food, as our Head Chef Shane and his team are always creating new dishes and experimenting with local ingredients to make innovative dishes.

I hope you will visit us again soon at the Dukes Head Hotel.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting a family wedding. I was arriving early so pre-arranged an early check-in, which was possible because the room was available.

I had a small double room with a comfy bed which was clean and modern. The bathroom was meticulously cleaned - the housekeepers do a very good job here, the toiletries were nice, but the shower pressure could be a bit stronger for my liking (minor point).

The staff throughout the stay, from reception, to the wedding, right the way through to breakfast were professional and helpful.

At the wedding the food was of a good standard. I would have liked a slightly larger variety of beers (eg some IPA's), but I guess it's not a 'traditional bar', and there were other drinks to be had.

Breakfast was excellent - there was a good choice of cooked breakfast items, and cereals - they don't scrimp on quality, and the sausages were very nice.

All in all, I had a very pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellernick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear travellernick121

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us when attending a wedding, and that you found the hotel, its staff and facilities to be of a very high standard.

I hope that you will come and stay with us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for 2 great nights on a spring break in Kings Lynn. Excellent value which included 2 nights, Bed and Breakfast and 2 evening 3 course meals and a bottle of wine. Also a15 percent discount on the next break.
An ideal location, a ten minute walk from the station and easy walking distance of all attractions. very convienient. A lovely hotel, quick efficient check in. A modern, reasonable size ,clean room,with shower, nice white towels and plenty of tea/ coffee supplies.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were excellent .Really good restaurant, food was presented ready well.
One of the reasons we came to Kings Lynn was to see 'SeaHenge' and it was well worth the visit. Several interesting museums to explore.
I can highly recommend this hotel.
Just a few personal problems, I am just under 5 foot, and when sitting at the mirror could not see myself so had to stand to do my hair and make up. Also could not reach coat hangars and if I had been on my own would not have been able to hang up my clothes. The hair dryer is in the bathroom and again I had to stand to dry my hair.
Otherwise an enjoyable long weekend.




'

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1147GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear VisitorGG

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be of excellent value and standard.

I have noted your comments regarding the positioning of furnishings and equipment, and I will discuss this with our property department to see what can be done.

I hope that when you visit Kings Lynn again that you will stay with us once more at the Dukes Head Hotel.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is centrally placed on the side of the magnificent Tuesday Market Place and has been completely renovated inside and out. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and we upgraded to an even larger room and bathroom that did not disappoint, reached by a magnificent
stairway. Afternoon tea, dinner ,and breakfast were served very efficiently and pleasantly and reception helpful , Certain allergies were dealt with pleasantly and a minor misunderstanding cleared up, ( my fault) , without fuss. (a nearby nightclub stopped at midnight so no overall sleep problem)

Room Tip: At weekends ask for a quiet room away from the nearby music (although stopped at midnight),
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear tom l

Thank you for posting a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you were delighted with the refurbishment and the services we provided.

I hope that you will come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable stay.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The room was clean. The bed and linen ok. Coffe, tea and biscuits are offered. The towels are quit old. My stay was for work, and in the reception we were asked to pay our stay during the check-in, which is unusual and abnormal. Additionnally, the welcome was cold.
I stayed 3 days, and durind the breakfasts there was always someting missing, sometimes hot food sometimes juce and I had always to ask for coffe; I think the ladies were surpassed by the number of customers.
If there were not these negative points (welcome & breakfast service) I would rate it 4.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeCh_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear SeCh_81

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, and thank you also for choosing our hotel for your stay.

I was sorry to read your comments about your welcome and breakfast, but would like to reassure you that the issues raised will be dealt with by the departmental heads responsible.

I am pleased to announce, though, that a new breakfast standard will be introduced over the next few weeks, and I am sure that if you stay with us again you will have a completely different experience.

Again my sincerest gratitude.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On 6th April 2014, my wife and myself were celebrating 40 years of officially becoming a couple.

We first met in December 1973 when I was working as a 17 year old waiter in the Dukes Head, as she came to stay as a guest with her family. And got engaged in the Dukes Head restaurant which will now always be a very special place for us.

We did visit a few years ago and were both saddened to see the iconic building had fallen into disrepair and inhabited mainly by the homeless. But to see the hotel restored to it's former glory is very heart lifting.

Anyone staying here will most certainly feel very important and the staff are a credit to the building and it's reputation. We are both proud to have an association with the Dukes Head Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Tuesday Market Place. Then you can watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Stephen A

What a lovely romantic story to see on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you and your partner had returned to stay with us after meeting 40 years ago when you worked here as a waiter and your partner was a guest.

I was also delighted to read your comments regarding the current staff as it is they who make the difference to all of our visitors.

Best regards from all of us here at the Dukes Head Hotel.

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed overnight with a group of friends from the moment we arrived everything went well from booking in afternoon tea , a first class meal in the evening with excellent service , and breakfast next morning was equally as good this hotel is in a very good location . And we all would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Maybe a room not overtop of music room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleyfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Lesleyfarmers

I was delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor and to learn that you and your friends had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments are most welcomed and I will be sure to share them with the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
283 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
132 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Address: The Duke's Head 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £50 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing