We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay.....”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A fantastic stay in this lovely old building. A striking building situated on the market place in this historic town a wonderful setting. We had a nice quiet room which was tastefully decorated and well appointed. Staff were friendly, always smiley and most helpful. Food in the hotel was excellent and breakfast was to die for. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Andrew J

Thank you for posting a super review of our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you are considering staying with us again where we all look forward to see you.

Thank you once more.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    375
    154
    47
    44
See reviews for
119
561
28
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ely, Cambs
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked two nights through Groupon. What a bargain! We had strawberries and cream plus Pimms when we arrived. Plentiful and easy parking is at the rear of the hotel. The hotel overlooks the old market square. We booked the evening meal and both of us enjoyed the three course menu. The food was of a very good standard and the service was excellent; it was always polite and efficient. Clearly, a lot of money has been invested in this hotel. In particular, the restaurant is very smart and welcoming.
The room was clean and tidy. Breakfast is self-service and was reasonably good (minor issue: the scrambled egg when left out gets rather dry and it would be nice to have a choice such as fried or poached eggs, or fish, etc.). We visited the gaol museum and the town museum and both are reasonable priced and worth visiting. Overall, a super stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ApprenticeEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear ApprenticeEly

I was so pleased to read your review on Trip Advisor, and thank you for taking the time and trouble to post one.

I was really delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had made good use of our very popular Groupon offer. Be sure to keep an eye out for future deals and come and stay with us again.

Thank you once more.

Best wishes

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Overall we found the hotel very comfortable, of good value and enjoyed our stay. The service in the restaurant was very good. The vegetarian main course lacked imagination. Two consecutive nights it was penne pasta and on the third asparagus and poached egg. The management of the breakfast room on all three days was poor. No one seemed responsible for greeting and seating. Items on the buffet ran out every day. At times on 2 days there was no one in the room to provide service. The general staff in the breakfast room did their best but there was no leadership. One morning the bacon was filled up from a small plastic bucket and a similar container was used to replenish the mushrooms, so very off-putting for vegetarians. The bedroom was very good. However, it would have been preferable to have a non-slip surface in the bath (the showers were excellent). The curtain cords were not easy to use. One night there was noise from the water pipes. One day the carpet was not cleaned properly.

Room Tip: Ask for classic room as there are modern style rooms in large block at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear j0hnwalden

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review of our hotel on trip Advisor.

Whilst I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be comfortable and of good value, I was a little disappointed to see that you had experienced a few issues which perhaps did not make your stay as enjoyable as it should have been.

Since receiving your feedback, I have discussed them with the relevant members of staff and I can assure you that areas which did not step up to the plate will be addressed so that these niggles do not happen again in the future.

I sincerely hope that you will come and stay with us again where I am sure you will have a trouble free stay.

Yours sincerely

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for two nights, hotel has been refurbished and it showed! We were in a back room which was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. The hotel is on the large Market Square which is also a car park. The hotel offers free parking at the back which was excellent. Kings Lynn town was just a few steps away, left of the hotel. Breakfast was very tasty and plenty of it, staff was very friendly.

The town itself is so pretty, my husbands father was from there so we visited a few all haunts. What I liked about the town was all the major stores were mixed with other smaller shops on the high street, not in some outlet outside of town. Next to hotel was a pub, which served wonderful tasty meals at amazing prices, I think we paid about 7.99 or 8.99 for sirloin steak and all the trimmings.

Would highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherry322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Cherry322

Thank you for posting a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be of a high standard and more importantly spotless.

Please come and see us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the Hotel on 28th May '14 as a theatre stopover. The Hotel is recently refurbished and is mixture of old and new. The `old' is very attractive and has a lot of history. The `new' is not so attractive as it conflicts with the original building. Unfortunately, the car park leads you to the rear of the hotel which is very unattractive and not a good first impression. On walking round to the front of the building and into Tuesday Market, the appearance is quite different. It has an air of Old England and looks quite grand.

The room was in the `new' section of the hotel and was no better than a `Travel lodge' type room, with the usual accessories
.
As we were going to the theatre that evening, the hotel provides an early sitting for dinner which was convenient. As vegetarians, the mealtimes are always a good test, of customer service.
The menu was very disappointing as there was only one option (pasta) for vegetarians, which quite frankly is insulting! Pasta it was then - what more can you say?

Breakfast was much better, as the `full English' came with veggie sausages.

The standard of food on the whole was good, but with little choice. We have actually stayed here before, but ate elsewhere. That is what we will do next time we stay here.

Room Tip: Most elegant rooms are in the Old quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddhaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Buddhaman

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was please to read that on the whole you had enjoyed your stay.

The rooms in the new wing of the hotel are indeed very modern and different in style but are priced lower than our very popular Classic and Feature rooms located in the old part of the building, however, I am sure had you have requested one of these room types we would have been delighted to accommodate you in one of them with their stunning views over the Tuesday market place.

As for vegetarian choices on the menu, we do offer more choice on the weekends as we have a greater demand in our restaurant than we do midweek, however had you have mentioned this on the night my Chef would have been more than happy to have offered you alternative suggestions.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast which included veggie sausages.

I do hope that you will stay with us again, and if you don't see something on the menu that you like, then please feel free to ask and we will do our best to come up with a creative dish for you.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We're local to Norfolk, but haven't been to King'sLynn for years, so for a birthday and wedding anniversary we thought what better than a visit?

The hotel is fantastic, recently refurbished yet retaining its period charm. Positioned on the Tuesday market place we were local to the shops and historic parts if the town.

We booked a stay which included B&B and evening meals and we were not disappointed. The good was in the top 5 of any restaurants we have visited and the hotel room (12) the same.

The car park round the back was busy but we got a space both times.

Our only disappointment was when it was time to leave, time passed so quickly a few more days would have been great.

We will return soon and probably with family and/or friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the market square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Keith S

I was delighted to read on Trip Advisor that you had chosen us to celebrate both a birthday and an anniversary and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I too hope that you will come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will enjoy the hotel once more.

Thank you for your kind comments.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Room was lovely and clean and well kept. High standard of decor and a huge bed! The evening meal was very good value and an enjoyable experience in a charming restaurant. Breakfast was well organised and varied. Beautiful carved wood staircase. Would be a lovely backdrop for wedding photographs. Lots to see in Kings Lynn with the hotel overlooking the town square.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geriannUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear geriannUK

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you found the whole hotel to be of a very high standard, clean and moreover good value for money with friendly and attentive staff.

I hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Property: The Dukes Head Hotel
Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing